We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Helenenburg Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 44 Bad Gastein B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great service - you are made to feel right at home straight away, fantastic views of the Alps, plenty of good food (it was fun trying all the local specialities) and spacious, clean and functional rooms. The ski bus stops right outside the hotel and takes five minutes to Stubnerkogel. The drawback is that the bus back only goes once an hour in the afternoon and not at all in the evenings, so if you don't have your own car you are pretty stuck in the evenings. Taxi "downtown" costs about 10 Euros one way.
The ski system "Graukogel" which is right next door is pretty small (although nice) and only fills a couple of hours of skiing.
We missed the typical rustic Alpine-style decor. The hotel is not at all "cosy" in that sense and although there are a few rooms to lounge around in, they are small and not very inviting. The dining room is also pretty sterile and not nice to hang around in after dinner. I might also add that the beds are stone hard, so prepare your backs!
There is a small sauna area which fills its function, but not much more.
All in all, good value for money and the service puts a smile on your face.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danalapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Helenenburg Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staying here for the 4th time during winter season, since 2001. Everything is nice and clean, Always homie. The staff is friendly, food superb, specially the breakfast buffet. View from the hotel fantastic, Graukogel ski area in the backyard. Skibus will take you to the main ski-lifts Nice sauna. For reasonable price you will get **** service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Styrkar_Hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a second time during winter season. Remarkable valley view from the room made our evenings and mornings very special. Room was nice and clean here and cute common spaces are impressive. A lot of amazing ski areas near here. Relax in hotel sauna afterwards. You have to try their cuisine, really tasty. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would say for reasonable price you will get really special treatment.

Room Tip: try it you ll be satisfied..
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janka72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Only some rooms were renewed, we had one of the old ones. It was OK but I would expect all rooms to be renovated in this kind of hotel. Food was just excellent and the price for dinner was very low compared to the quality and amount. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor were not renovated.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very good staff very helpful and always available to help.Nice View of the mountains from balcony.Ski bus stops while standing in front of the hotel.Hotel has a sauna and thermal.Breakfest is gread-me four courses dinner.My family like this hotel,we will come back.Ski Amade its top 10 location in Austria.Personal spik Slovak,Czech,Englis,Deutch,500m have a biger thermal centrum.
Adios family Hornak

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Helenburg for a weekend in September with our 2 small children.
We were really impressed with the location of the hotel and spent a wonderful weekend exploring the national park. Highlights for our children were the nearby animal park (minipigs, goats etc) and the cablecar to the top of the Stubnerkogel with indoor play centre at the top station - all a few minutes by car.
In the hotel, we were particularly impressed with the service and the friendliness of the staff. Most spoke good English and were very helpful. Our waitress had been working at the hotel for many years and was able to tell us a lot about the history of the hotel and the many famous guests that had stayed there in the past.
The food was great (we had breakfast and evening meal)- and I was very pleased with the vegetarian choices.
Another big bonus was the hotel car park at the side of the hotel (I later realised when driving through the town that this is not something every hotel in Bad Gastein has) which was great for us with pushchair, children, luggage etc!
Our room was very clean, with a balcony and plenty of space for the extra bed and travel cot. As mentioned by some other reviewers, the decor was somewhat dated, but in a way, it was part of the charm!
All in all we were very impressed with this hotel and felt that it was excellent value for money. We would definitely stay here again and are actually planning another trip in late Spring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlett713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms and the hotel are perhaps a bit dated however it's very clean and there are many lovely rooms where you can sit and enjoy yourself. The set up in the room was nice and spacious and the views from the balcony were outstanding. We stayed an extra night and would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
#16 of 36 in Bad Gastein
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helenenburg Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helenenburg Hotel & Spa

Address: Koetschachtaler Strasse 18, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helenenburg Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Helenenburg Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing