We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel renovated with ambience to top class.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Booked one-week packages through STS, from Stockholm Sweden.You can read more about the hotel on their website, or on the hotels own website.
The beds are excellent, the water drinkable, and the half board (breakfast and dinner) are extensive and lavish. All the hotel staff was very helpful and service minded, our cleaning lady was a charm.

The hotel was fully booked during our stay, but it never felt crowded. They have two different spas with pool and saunas. I was alone in one of the spas for one hour in the afternoon, witch felt very nice after a days hiking in the Alps. You have to realise that Bad Gastein is built on a hillside, so you have to struggle up hill and down dale wherever you go. But the hotel is situated near the “Banhof”, bus station and cable care. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerrSvensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 436 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked through STS Alpresor as a package holiday for a family of 4 (2 fifth graders). The hotel must have gone through a series of extension and updates, reflected by the different types of room doors and locks. A good sign the hotel is the subject of new investment.. The hotel was busy but never felt crowded. Upon the first dinner at the main dinning room, the family was allocated a table, which was ours for the rest of our stay, a nice touch and saved us table hunting everytime, breakfast and dinner. The food was French style and it was excellent, no complaints from the kids, that was a good sign.

The 2 adjoining rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Both rooms were North facing, which was perfect, facing away from the main road and the hot summer sun.

This was an active holiday, so the family also made much use of the fitness centre to relax and swim after a hard day's hiking. I particually liked the Sensory shower which can go from tropic warm to ice cold rain in less then 10 seconds.

A wonderful hotel base for a fantastic family vacation in June.

Room Tip: Any room facing North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eraedcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A group stayed in early March 2012 so we had fantastic skiing. The hotel was good in 2011, but even better this year with some excellent improvements in accessiblity and a greater choice of dine around restaurants. Service was excellent, full marks to Walter in the dining Room and Sandra in the bar. Wine is expensive as seems to be the norm in Austria, but the house white and red in litres proved best value for money. The rest of the bar was good value and so much less expensive than France or Switzerland.
Located about ten minutes from the main ski lift and a couple of minutes from the bus stops to Sportgastein, bad Hofgastein and Dorfgastein, it is in a great location albeit perched just short of the top of a very steep hill.
The food was excellent, again an improvement on last year, make sure that you get in early for the post skiing buffet as tables are at a demand and the helpings are plentiful.

Would we go back again - definitely. The amenities for non skiers take all the pressure off us skiers and free the conscience - plenty of walking, The felsentherme Spa, and excellent spa and wellness facilities in the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for an outward facing room. The hotel is made up of two hotels with a skyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank billpex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for one week in February. The hotel is really nice with a lot of old style charm. We stayed in the "new" building and our room was really spacious (the bathroom was huge) with a nice balcony (which we didn't use because it was -20C). The hotel is located a few minutes walk to the nearest ski lift and a couple of minutes from the ski bus.

We had all inclusive programme, and one of my two negative comment to this hotel is that we didn't feel that the dinner (a 5 course meal) did live up to the "5 star service" they claim. The food was a bit too bland, nothing exceptional and to be honest quite boring. Everything else was really nice, the room itself, the common areas, the spa area (not very crowded either). We had a massage which was really nice too. We had to make reservations several days in advance so you better plan in advance. My other negative comment was that upon check in we weren't informed of the "rules", we weren't informed about the after ski buffet, the wifi (which worked a bit spotty in our room), the whereabouts of the spa areas (remember this hotel is enormous) or the fact that you could once a week (on a set day) have dinner at another hotel. We had to find out ourselves, but it's not a big deal. We really enjoyed our stay and the atmosphere in this hotel is really relaxed and nice.

I would definitively also recommend a visit to restaurant Bellevue Alm (food ok, the thing is the old lift up to the restaurant and the hilarious toboggan ride back home) and the Felsen therme.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed here in May 2011, for a hiking holiday arranged through Swedish STS Alpresor.

This hotel is a really pretty one, in the middle of Bad Gastein. We stayed in a suite that had no less than 4 balconies, so we enjoyed wonderful views! Very comfy bed and huge, spacious room with sofas and chairs and a writing desk. Bathroom could have used a bit more space though.

The food (ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel) was amazingly good and the staff was very curteous and friendly. The bartenders made some great cocktails. :)

Loved this place!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silvernight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Visited winter 2011 during high season.

Hotel is very stylish and full of "old time charm", but unfortunately it's turned into all-inclusive resort. Rooms are spacious but without decent views one would expect for the price paid. Food is so-so. Wi-fi connection was pure joke for the price paid on my floor, check signal strength before buying.

Overall - stylish hotel that should be boutique instead of resort. Hotel is owned by STS Alpresor (Swedish ski-travel company) which has probably turned hotel into what it is. It's a shame.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sten_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is a ok hotel - close to the slopes and lifts. The hotel and the indoor materials is old, and could use an update.
Everthing is made in dark wood.
Be aware there is noise both from the outdoor and from the indoor, so if you have problems sleeping this is the wrong hotel. Even the cleaning lady's goes around yelling to each other, starting at 08.00-08.30 - NO Sleep quality
We stayed in at suite - the best the hotel have to offer, I would rate it 2-3 star, compared to other we have been to, it needs an update desperately.
The food is ok.
The food to afternoon dinner is low standard, while dinner is high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank getsemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#4 of 36 in Bad Gastein
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salzburger Hof

Address: Grillparzerstrasse 1, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $241 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Salzburger Hof was built between 1889 and 1907. Now, you are welcomed into a hotel with charming traditions and modern comforts. The central location in Bad Gastein with glorious panoramic views, in the immediate vicinity of the ski lift and the thermal spa, as well as the tasteful furnishings and the stylish ambiance create the perfect conditions for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday in the Gastein valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing