We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gutshof zum Schluxen
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were astounded by the customer service we received here. The staff went to enormous lengths to help us out: they gave us directions for the best local hikes, chilled beer and wines that we had bought elsewhere, provided ice packs for my Mom's swollen knee, and when we accidentally left a packet containing our itinerary and passports they immediately emailed us, called our home back in the States, and packaged them up to send to our next hotel. We really could not have asked for a more competent and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    63
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights & were happy with the clean pleasant rooms. Enjoyed their free breakfasts & a dinner there. Food was good & so was service. The location with the nearby Alps is picture perfect. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Rooms: very nice, agreeable rooms.
Area is very quiet, no traffic, no plane noise, horses around.
Kitchen: we ate 7 dinners with 5-7 corses, good selection of solid Austro-German dishes. Good variety apart for the 2 buffets, but still good.
Personell: reserved, quiet people.
Watch out: the owners have bought a new hotel in Reutte, future quality has to be confirmed by new owner starting from summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hermann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although the rooms are quite simple, there is no need to spend much time in it when there is so much to do! We chose this hotel as we were traveling during the height of the tourist season, and didn't want to deal with the crowds of Fussen or Schwangau, but still wanted to visit Neuschwanstein and the touristy areas. This place is the perfect compromise. A 30 minute bike ride through the woods, over the border into Austria is this beautiful little village of Pinswang. Really an ideal starting point for Reutte, a trip to Zugspitze, or the sights of Schwangau.
Food in the dining room was superb, (although you must be prepared for many flies during the summer) the service was good, and the views were tremendous!
Only downside would be no access to public transportation, would recommend a car!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmkoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Some in this forum complained of flies...the Gausthaus is a horse farm, so the averag person should know that horses attract flies...especially in the heart of summer. At all other times, there are no flies and the property is really nice. Locals seemed to come from all over the region to eat in the restaurant on the three nights we were there. The hiking trail to Newschwantein Castle took us 1 hour going and about 45 minutes on the return..neatest part is passing an old border hut were there are German and Austrian border signs.

I really like this place as far as Gausthaus' go....nice room, good bathroom, great food in the restaurant at reasonable 14-20 euro prices. I would highly recommend to anyone as it has a beautiful rural setting with horses running everywhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JKL0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Gusthof zum Schluxen. The location is the best if touring King Ludwig's castles - only moments away and at the foot of the Alps. Very friendly front desk staff, very good food in the restaurant (clearly very popular with the locals) and comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet is generous and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

An amazing hotel located in beautiful East Tyrol close to the attractions of South Bavaria (Neushcwanstein Castle, Zugschpitze etc). You can leave children in the playground while enjoying food and beer in the restaurant serving local food. The only problem in the hotel are flies, so nets on rooms' windows could be helpful. Despite this, its a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reutte hotels
4.9 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 12 in Reutte
201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tannenhof
Hotel Tannenhof
#8 of 12 in Reutte
58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#6 of 12 in Reutte
94 reviews
4.3 mi away
Naturhotel LechLife
Naturhotel LechLife
#1 of 3 in Wangle
81 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Das Beck
Hotel Das Beck
#7 of 12 in Reutte
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gutshof zum Schluxen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gutshof zum Schluxen

Property: Gutshof zum Schluxen
Address: Unterpinswang 24 | 6600 Reutte, Reutte 6600, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gutshof zum Schluxen 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gutshof zum Schluxen - a house with a big history. Situated directly at the "Furstenstrasse". In the past King Ludwig II of Bavaria liked to stay here on his travels from Castle "Neuschwanstein" to castle "Linderhof". The romantic Gasthof ensures you will enjoy a pleasant stay with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and the picturesque landscape. The familiar atmosphere and the lovely romms will help you to find rest and relaxation. Our chef de cusine sees to your wellbeing with tyrolian and internatonal meals, made from regional products. Yours Family Muxel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gutshof zum Schluxen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutshof Zum Schluxen Reutte
Gutshof Zum Schluxen Hotel Reutte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing