We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gulash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great gulash”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were only in the restaurant for a dinner. Both types of gulash we had were great, with home made specle. My "Hirschgulash von Rind" was served also with a small salad. But after finnishing the main dish, nobody paid attention to us any more. We wanted something sweet to close our dinner, but in the end we just paid. However, the food that we saw on other tables looked good as well (For example the "wiener schnitzel" was just huge :D ).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sip0sip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are not too many hotels in the center of Reutte and when we first stopped to check the hotel out, it was closed and we were told it opened in a little while. After checking out another hotel, we returned, the owner was in, we looked at a couple rooms, and took them. We were told the hotel is 400 years old. I don't know about that, but there are photographs of it around 1900 in the 1st floor lounge area. The hotel has that historic look at feel about it which is kind of nice. The rooms were nothing special and could use some updating. The television was small and not a flat panel like most hotels these days. The owner was a little eccentric, but nice in his own way. He had a take it, or leave attitude. There is free WiFi and an included breakfast. Breakfast was fine and typically European. The evening we stayed, we got the distinct impression from the owner that much of the hotel's business comes from tour groups as one was arriving later in the evening. Had that group not been arriving, I'm not so certain the hotel would have been open at all. We only stopped in Reutte because it is close to Neuswanstein Castle. It is not a tourist town and does not cater to tourists, so some of the attitudes are different than you'd find in tourist towns. There isn't much to the town and everything closes early. The only open restaurant we found open was a Donar Kabob, but the food was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Check in was confused, although almost all rooms were empty. Dinner was ok and the waiter was nice. Internet went on and off.
But, the owner of the place made it look like a cow-house!
After some time trying to connect through Skype I discovered that WiFi worked only at the lobby!
After telling me that my voice was too loud and my complain that I couldn't call from my room, he raised his voice, pointed his finger and refused to engage in a decent conversation, only being VERY rude... "I don't want to talk to you!" he said.
The next day, he wanted to talk to me about my bill... to which I had only one answer... I don't want to talk to you!
... oh yes, room was cigarette stinky and there was a power blackout in the morning when I turned on the lights in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reutte hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This was nice, a little outdated. The owner was very pleasant, the food in the restaurant was okay. Breakfast was okay, but they could use some fresh fruit instead of fruit out of a can. Again this hotel allows smoking in the rooms. What's with that!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just went to this hotel for dinner on Steves recommendation. Service and food were excellent. Enjoyed our dishes and they accomodated my glunten free, vegitarian, and diabetic diet family. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Rick Steves had recommended this place, and we had intended to spend two nights. However, the proprietor's daughter at the front desk seemed rude and unhelpful, and we decided to limit our stay to one night. The room was fine, and in the morning the proprietor was enjoyable to talk to, and helpful. But we had already made a reservation elsewhere, and we checked out.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We went to the Hotel Goldener Hirsch only for dinner. As Reutte is a small city, you don't have many options, and hotel restaurants are generally your best bet for a good meal. And Hotel Goldener Hirsch offers a fine restaurant. We enjoyed very much.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reutte hotels
1.8 mi away
Naturhotel LechLife
Naturhotel LechLife
#1 of 3 in Wangle
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#5 of 12 in Reutte
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tannenhof
Hotel Tannenhof
#8 of 12 in Reutte
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#1 of 12 in Reutte
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Mohren
Hotel Zum Mohren
#9 of 12 in Reutte
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Das Beck
Hotel Das Beck
#7 of 12 in Reutte
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Address: Muehler Strasse 1, Reutte 6600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Reutte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing