We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming guest house, wonderful owners!”
Review of Gintherhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gintherhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Reutte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Gintherhof is an amazing farmhouse B&B run with love and care by Annalies and her family. Ehenbichl is a charming hamlet where all you'll hear is birds, the wind and maybe a pig from time to time - yet its 20-30 minutes away from Zugspitze, Neuschwanstein and the other tourist delights of southern Bavaria.

The farmhouse is close to 800 years old - about the same age as the castle ruins high on the mountain. Yet everything is impeccably clean and well kept. The cows (3+ 1 impossibly cute calf) live in the barn/basement where you can greet them through the windows. Every morning they go out to the meadows and every night, they come home to sleep.

Our room was very large with a sitting nook, king bed, private bath/shower, balcony overlooking the mountains/castle and walk in closet. We were told that the wood used in paneling the walls + ceiling is from special trees high in the Alps. The wood oils are good for your heart and ensure a restful sleep.

Breakfast is included in your stay and it's a mighty spread!!! Cheese (made from local milk) cold cuts, freshly baked breads (5-7 types!), local eggs, homemade jam, wildflower honey and homemade yogurt too! You'll be encouraged to make sandwiches for lunch. And you'll be greeted with homemade schnapps, homemade cake, and a genuine welcome fom the family.

You won't find better or more authentic hospitality anywhere else. The prices are extremely reasonable too. Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip for sure!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

First, Annelies Paulweber is just the sweetest lady you will ever meet! She and her Father work very hard to make sure every need is met. I have traveled the world and have never had better or kinder service. Her home is over 800 years old, at least a small part of it but the rest is just beautifully built with lots of wood and very well maintained. We had a room on the 2nd floor that comprised a master bedroom and walkin closet, a small table and chair, a nice sized bathroom, and an entry room with a couch that also turned into a bed. It also had its own balcony. Of all of our travels to Europe, it had the best breakfast with the best variety AND, she always suggested that we make sandwiches to take with us everyday we were there. She even supplied baggies for the sandwiches. I can't say enough about our experience there. The location is definitely one where you need to have your own car. It is only about 25 min or so away from the famous German Castles of King Ludwig and there are other sites very near that are also very enjoyable. If you are going to this area, don't miss this amazing place and the wonderful family who run it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Annelies and her family.We had a suite on the second floor. The room was lovely and very clean. There is also free WIFI. She wrote us a lovely welcome note and left us a gift of her homemade snapps.

The breakfast was very good. She offered several types of cheeses, meats, eggs and breads. She told us to make sandwiches to take for our lunch. Every afternoon she would offer tea and a homemade treat.


Annelies is a wonderful hostess. She makes you feel so welcomed and offers great advice on where to eat and explore the area.We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smokie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arived late afternoon after driving from Neuenstein castle and having trouble finding the place. Note: if using GPS the town is Ehenbichi. No sign on house just the # 7.
We were greated on the road out front and taken in to see the room even though we said we would take it sight unseen (we were just so tired) they insistef we see the room before accepting it.
They were great hosts even though English was not well spoken. The bed was very comfotable with nice big fluffy spreads. Breakfast was great with a selection of breads, jams, yogurt, sliced meats, cheeses and eggs. As we were finishing breakfast they asked if we had made a lunch yet and were told to use the buns and make sandwiches to take.
FREE parking and WIFI.
It is a fantastic place to stay especially if you were going to be in the area for a few days. Great hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

From the minute we checked in, my wife and I felt like we were at a family members home! Annelies and her family were SO KIND and offered a wonderful large top floor room with a spectacular view of the picture-perfect mountains and scenery. Annelies offered great advice on local attractions, even giving us a map and hints on roads/trails. The breakfast in the mornings were so filling! There were fresh-baked breads daily and were still warm when we ate! The meats and other foods made it a hearty-meal to start a day of hiking and seeing the beautiful Reutte and Germany areas. There are even castle ruins on the top of the mountain above the little town and is a short hike to the top with wonderful views. There is even fresh baked cake with coffee or tea every afternoon. We were sad to leave and would HIGHLY recommend this location to anyone. We would stay here again without any question!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay here could not have been more perfect! Our top floor room was large, clean, comfortable, and lovely! It included a balcony with a view of the nearby castle ruins, which were lit up at night. The restaurant within walking distance was fantastic! Our friendly host provided advice on things to do, made a great and filling breakfast and offered to let us make sandwiches for the road, and gave us free passes to take the cable car up the nearby mountain with a great view! I could not be more happy with my decision to stay here, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had the most wonderful time at Gintherhof. My husband, 12 year old daughter, 10 month old son and I enjoyed every second! Ms. Annelies and her sweet mother took the time to make my daughter a delicious bavarian cream birthday cake, that on top of the fantastic breakfasts and afternoon coffee and cake made our stay feel very homey. Reutte is such a charming town, our 5 day stay did not seem like enough time to fully take advantage of this area's beauty. We are already planning our next trip to Austria and a return stay at Gintherhof!

Room Tip: We had the upstairs apartment with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyCappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reutte hotels
1.1 mi away
Naturhotel LechLife
Naturhotel LechLife
#1 of 3 in Wangle
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tannenhof
Hotel Tannenhof
#6 of 12 in Reutte
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Romantik - Krone
Hotel Romantik - Krone
#1 of 1 in Lechaschau
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Landhaus Panorama
Landhaus Panorama
#1 of 2 in Lechaschau
73 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof zum Schwanen
1.5 mi away
Hotel Moserhof
Hotel Moserhof
#2 of 5 in Breitenwang
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gintherhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gintherhof

Address: Unterried 7, Reutte 6600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reutte
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Reutte
Price Range: $87 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gintherhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing