We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

La Pergola is a nice little hotel just one block from Granada's main drag, but far enough away to be quite. Nice rooms for the money you pay. Beautiful shady courtyard with WiFi and nice rocking chairs to lounge in. The included "continental" breakfast is skimpy, but for only 2 extra USD you can get a very nice breakfast oprions, especially the Nicaraguan breakfast. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Secure parking is available - great if you have a rental car. Noticed that not all rooms have the same beds/mattresses, which may explain the divergent views on trip advisor about the mattress quality. We were happy with ours (room 2).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
46
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The rooms at Hotel La Pergola are simple and basic but you get all you could ask for: clean, AC, ceiling fan, free WIFI, TV, private bathroom, & continental breakfast for a good price (we paid $40/night for a double bed). You can get more to eat at breakfast but of course, you must pay a little more.

You can't beat the location - just one block from La Calzada where all the restaurants and bars are. The only thing is that local bums hang out across the street which can't be helped. They are harmless and there is security in front of the hotel at night. The receptionists are nice and accommodating. Not sure if they speak English.

The courtyard is pretty. Unfortunately there is no pool to soak in after a hot day which is the only thing missing. If you don't need all the frills, this place is for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaViajera59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I´ve been at Hotel La Pergola twice. In 2011 and again in June 2012. We had a double room with 2 beds, a small desk and tv, Nothing fancy, but it was clean - and cheap. We paid $36/night which included breakfast, but that wasn't much. Just a cup of coffee and a slice of bread. If you pay extra, you can have a real breakfast. They don't serve lunch or dinner and eating is prohibited in the rooms. But there are plenty of restaurants in Granada, so no problem.
The staff is helpful. Reception gave us some good advises of tours on the lake which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellArent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Staff is cheerful and extremely helpful. At Hotel La Pergola, guests find a quiet place close to the action of Calle Calzada. Rooms are small and basic, but well-equipped.

Safe, comfortable and good value.

tip: go to the Chinese restaurant and enjoy a really "Granada dinner".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itofini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

At Hotel La Pergola, guests find a quiet retreat close to the action of Calle Calzada. The rooftop pergola is a lovely spot to sit with a cold drink. Staff is cheerful and extremely helpful. Rooms are small and I would have said basic, but they were in fact well-equipped with fan, AC and TV. Hot water? This is Nicaragua!

Not fancy, but safe, comfortable and good value.

tip: The breakfasts from the menu gave a better start to a busy day than the free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our family of five stayed in the quin room for two nights over Christmas and I must say it was very delightful.We enjoyed the staff and the location was great,walking distance to everything we wanted to visit.The room and bathroom was very clean and we slept well. We enjoyed the courtyard and the terrace was great at night.We will definately recommend your hotel to other Peace Corps parents and friends!! The staff brought smiles to faces .

Room Tip: Best value and customer service.....where else has a room for five?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniep407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a decent mid-range place ($35) to stay in Granada. The hotel is located only one block south of Calle La Calzada (the main tourist street) so it is safe, secure and in a good location. The room w private bath was small, but very clean and well-equipped with a/c, ceiling fan, cable tv, wifi and a decent private bathroom. Outside of the room is a very nice garden area with trees and hanging chairs to relax in. A continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#32 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoba Granada
Hotel Cordoba Granada
#41 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.9 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Calle el Caimito, de la Alcaldia Municipal, 3 cuadras al Lago, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Pergola is located in the Historic Center of Granada, known as the "Gran Sultana", an easy three block walk to the "Parque Central" and only four blocks from the "Gran Lago". The street La Calzada, which features the most popular bars and restaurants by our guests, is also just one block away. Hotel La Pergola offers 26 comfortable rooms in a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Our guests enjoy exclusive attention and quality service. The hotel was formally built as a 19th century colonial home, we have two beautiful patios, one with a tropical garden and another one with a nice pool. We offer the terrace or "Pergola", where you can enjoy the views of the Granada Cathedral and the Mombacho Volcano. Join us for relaxing moonlit nights and fresh breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing