We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all about their restaurant...”
Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dario
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
295 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“all about their restaurant...”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

the five star hotel Dario has an equally wonderful restaurant! our group had dinner: the red snapper prepared on the grill was moist and not 'fishy'; I didn't have alcohol but substituted one of the fruit drinks -- melon -- instead: light and full of flavor -- not a smoothie, so not to worry about skipping dessert!! the flan is creamy and not overly sweet. even if you're not staying overnight, check them out...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    108
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
83
135
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Service is pretty good and the rooms are ok. The colonial style building is beautiful too. Didnt go to the restaurant but was full when passed through. Beware of noise in the ground level and the rooms facing the first patio. Street can get pretty folkloric.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Usuario7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Called here on a P and O organised trip and it was so nice to have lunch in such a beautiful setting in the town of Granada. Lunch was a buffet but well presented and organised for a larg number of people. Nicaragua is a beautiful country emerging as a natural tourist destination. Go now before it gets spoilt!

Room Tip: We didn't stay-just visited for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I have just organized a very successful and unique 3 day wedding in Grenada. This grand and very personalized celebration would not have been possible without the help of the wedding organizer of Hotel Dario which helped us tremendously in seeing that our every wish be taken care of, often going out of his way to offer newer and better options to us.

The wedding meal (lobster with curry, lobster with coconut sauce, filet mignon, shrimp skewer, thai salad) were very tasty, served warm and very well presented. The Chef also took into consideration our feedback.

The hotel staff was very serviceable and attentive to our guests´ needs, up to the Hotel Director, who often requested our input and even had new seat covers made for us upon our request.

What could be improved? I would have liked that the noise from the very busy and animated Calzada street not permeate so much into the "Suites" where we were located (possibly better windows could help?) though I must admit that I am particularly sensitive to noise and was still able to sleep.

To conclude, we fully recommend this hotel and wedding organizer for weddings and "normal" stays. It is gorgeous, food is high quality, and staff really knows the meaning of service. Thanks Hotel Dario team!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreHParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

located in the centre of action. You leave the hotel and there are bars and resteaunts both directions, short walk to the park in the centre.
Nice colonial hotel with bubbling fountain in middle. Dont get street view room, very noisy. Good beds and air.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restleswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We really wanted to review the restaurant at the Hotel Dario as we did not stay there but attended their Friday night Traditional Dance event along with dinner. On Friday nights the hotel's restaurant features a live band and traditional dance program which was both interesting and excellent.in terms of showing us tradition Nicaraguan dance. In addition to the entertainment, the lobster dish was excellent. If you plan on being in Granada on a Friday, don't miss this..

Room Tip: Even if you don't stay there, don't miss their Friday night event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I only stayed at the Dario one night, but it was the best hotel room that I had in all of Nicaragua. The location in the middle of Granada is perfect. Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street. But expect some street noise, no matter what room. The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom was clean and beautifully updated, with plenty of hot water and nice amenities. Towels and linens were great. The front desk agent was so friendly and very efficient with checkin. When I go back to Granada, this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Property: Hotel Dario
Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing