We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Successful wedding organized with Hotel Dario”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dario
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Successful wedding organized with Hotel Dario”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I have just organized a very successful and unique 3 day wedding in Grenada. This grand and very personalized celebration would not have been possible without the help of the wedding organizer of Hotel Dario which helped us tremendously in seeing that our every wish be taken care of, often going out of his way to offer newer and better options to us.

The wedding meal (lobster with curry, lobster with coconut sauce, filet mignon, shrimp skewer, thai salad) were very tasty, served warm and very well presented. The Chef also took into consideration our feedback.

The hotel staff was very serviceable and attentive to our guests´ needs, up to the Hotel Director, who often requested our input and even had new seat covers made for us upon our request.

What could be improved? I would have liked that the noise from the very busy and animated Calzada street not permeate so much into the "Suites" where we were located (possibly better windows could help?) though I must admit that I am particularly sensitive to noise and was still able to sleep.

To conclude, we fully recommend this hotel and wedding organizer for weddings and "normal" stays. It is gorgeous, food is high quality, and staff really knows the meaning of service. Thanks Hotel Dario team!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreHParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    106
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
80
131
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

located in the centre of action. You leave the hotel and there are bars and resteaunts both directions, short walk to the park in the centre.
Nice colonial hotel with bubbling fountain in middle. Dont get street view room, very noisy. Good beds and air.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restleswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We really wanted to review the restaurant at the Hotel Dario as we did not stay there but attended their Friday night Traditional Dance event along with dinner. On Friday nights the hotel's restaurant features a live band and traditional dance program which was both interesting and excellent.in terms of showing us tradition Nicaraguan dance. In addition to the entertainment, the lobster dish was excellent. If you plan on being in Granada on a Friday, don't miss this..

Room Tip: Even if you don't stay there, don't miss their Friday night event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I only stayed at the Dario one night, but it was the best hotel room that I had in all of Nicaragua. The location in the middle of Granada is perfect. Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street. But expect some street noise, no matter what room. The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom was clean and beautifully updated, with plenty of hot water and nice amenities. Towels and linens were great. The front desk agent was so friendly and very efficient with checkin. When I go back to Granada, this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The best fascia in town on busy Calle La Calzada with a spectacular courtyard. However, attention to detail could be better: a light in the bedroom didn’t work, towels had not been put out when we arrived mid pm; a handle had been broken on a recliner: there was a surly reception on our initial enquiry, and poor service at breakfast.
One felt the management didn’t care, so we changed our plans to eat in the retsaurant and went across the street to O’Hara’s Irish Pub, where Dario could learn from the owner’s attention to each of his clients, and his well trained staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Dario for 7 great nights. This place is a gem. Has a great location and what was especialy good was the staff. They were friendly and helpful. The street in front of the hotel was wild at night, but the room in the back were very quiet. The only problem was that the airconditioner was noisey and we had to turn it off at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Cozy, romantic, no-frills. The rooms were clean and comfortable and look like they were recently redone. We stayed in a room a bit back from the street (and near the pool). We were there over Dec 24 so we heard the fireworks all night and they lit up our room from the bathroom skylights. We did see one couple using the pool so it will do in a pinch but it is by no means a resort-style pool. Getting hot water for a shower was a bit frustrating - but not impossible. We loved the central location of the hotel. The nicaraguan-style breakfasts were perfect and the little cafe. After just a night (we stayed for three), the hotel felt like our pretty home. The entire staff was kind and professional.

Room Tip: Some floors have windows that open to the walkway. So passers by could see into your room when your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancySFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dario

Property: Hotel Dario
Address: Calle La Calzada | De la Catedral 1 1/2 cuadra al lago, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL DARIO is UNIQUE FIVE STAR HOTEL IN GRANADA situated in the historical center of Granada, on the famous La Calzada Street, and only 100 meters away from the central park, Hotel Dario is an elegant neoclassic building from the 19th century. The hotel offers guests a tranquil and private environment, we are a gay friendly. The grounds include beautiful gardens, swimming pool with Jacuzzi, gym and business center. For dining on the premises, guests can choose from the El Tranvia Restaurant or from the Chocolate Coffee Shop. El Tranvia Restaurant is a small but charming dining room located within the main hall of Hotel Dario. The restaurant has been refurbished but remains true to the style of the colonial mansion. The specialties of the restaurant, where food is served with four to seven pieces of cutlery, include meats, seafood, international gourmet food and authentic Nicaraguan dishes. Beyond the elegant cuisine, guests can also expect a variety of wines (including local, Spanish and Chilean offerings), as well as professional and attentive service. The Chocolate Coffee Shop is the in-house cafe at Hotel Dario. Visitors to the shop can enjoy the best coffee in the city of Granada, as well as a variety of other exotic drinks containing coffee and chocolate. Fresh fruit juices, smoothies, milkshakes, cocktails, and a wide selection of the best national and international beverages are also offered at the Chocolate Coffee Shop, in addition to casual bites including sandwiches, snacks, salads, light meals, and fine deserts. All our rooms have A/C, International TV-cable, direct access tel., Private bathroom, safe deposit box and hair dryer. We also offer our "Tranvia" restaurant with International Gourmet Cuisine and our coffee shop "Chocolate" with fine pastries. The facilities include our swimming pool - jacuzzi, gym, internet + (WIFI), laundry & room service, concierge and 24hrs. Reception + security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dario Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing