We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best deal but it is ok for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kekoldi Granada
Ranked #9 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not the best deal but it is ok for the area”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's a little hard to find option online when trying to book a hotel in Granada, this hotel was one we found, and we gave it a chance, the room was extremely small, there was just enough space for you to walk around the bed and that was it, there were bad smells coming from the bathroom sink and the water was not actually warm. It's has a good location and it seemed to be pretty safe though, breakfast is included and it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alenscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerofKekoldis, Propietario at Hotel Kekoldi Granada, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
I really don´t know what did upset you so much to write two negative reviews. When you reserved I sent you an email and told you that it was our last room with one Queen bed and you answered that it was ok. You stayed during Semana Santa and no decent hotel has any rooms available as we were booked out too. Right, the room is small, has A/C, TV, is right in the garden and has all the amenities like the other rooms. There are no funny smells, I checked and I can assure you that this is not true. If you found another hotel during your stay which offered you breakfast and swimming pool, please let me know which one and what their asking price was and I will gladly refund you the difference to the $47 you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    68
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
48
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not that anything is really that expensive here but Hotel Kekoldi is a quiet refuge near the city center. I would agree with the observations of the fellow reviewers here. The facility and rooms are well maintained and clean. The breakfast is limited, but save your Cordobas and appetite for lunch and dinner. Free WiFi is solid with 1.16 down and 0.75 up (Mb/s).

The rooms are set back from the street so road noise is not a issue. The hotel only has 12 rooms of which I believe only 3 others were occupied during our 3 day stay here. If there was going to be a noise issue then it would be from fellow guests being inconsiderate coming or going as the tile floors and concrete walls would throw the noise into the rooms off the main central corridor. As it was I had the best night sleep here in quite awhile. The firm beds and clean sheets complemented the quiet tranquility of this oasis.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This small hotel is a comfortable home away from home while in Granada. Set in a lovely old home just a few blocks from the center of town, the hotel offers comfortable rooms, "instant" hot water, and everything is spotless clean.
Breakfast is the norm, no complaints there. Beautiful covered areas with rocking chairs in which to relax, allowing the sounds from the large fountain to cleanse the mind after a hard day of enjoying the sites of Granada.

Very good value for the price. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumbsup45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The only point I'll drive on Hotel Kekoldi de Granada is that you get what you pay for. It's not that this was a bad place at all, we stayed here for 9 days in Feb 2012 and really enjoyed it, but don't expect anything high end. It had all the essentials that we were looking for:

- Clean Rooms (w/ AC & hot water), Quiet and Safe Atmosphere
- Great Service from Staff (very helpful)
- Close proximity to everything in Granada (walking distance)
- Arranging tours and transportation on our behalf
- Breakfast was included, but very bland and the options were limited

We used this place as a home base while we took day tours each day in around the area... I would recommend Kekoldi to the budget-wise traveller...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel Kekoldi is a quaint hotel with clean rooms and hot water. They have very comfortable rocking chairs in the lobby to sit and unwind in. Their internet works quite well, although it needs to be accessed outside of the rooms. A breakfast of cereal, toast, gallo pinto, plantain, coffee and orange juice is included. For eggs there is a small extra charge.
A bonus is that they are 3 blocks straight down from central park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The power went off one evening in Granada but the hotel had a back up generator so there were lights when we returned from having dinner. Over all this is a resonably priced hotel, well placed and we would definately stay here again.
The city of Granada is our favorite in Nicaragua. Easy to get around, cleaner than Leon and would be a great jump off point to other parts of southern Nicaragua.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel gives you the comfort of hot water and air conditioning and the style of a typical hotel or hostel in Nicaragua, with several open courtyards, tile floors, fountains, etc. Convenient location, quiet. Definitely a good value.

Room Tip: Kids activities and swimming pool should be n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This small hotel is conveniently located about three blocks from the center of town, so it is within walking distance of the limited attractions Granada has to offer. Granada is promoted as the oldest city in the Americas -- but it was repeatedly burnt to the ground by pirates, lastly by American William Walker in 1856, so there is not much to see from the early days. The hotel, however, is quite pleasant and although the rooms are small and basic, there is plenty of open-air common space with tables, chairs, and hammocks that helped us feel much less cramped for space. It also meant we had more contact with other guests for sharing travel tips and highlights. Each room features a large tiled artwork; the series is based on local Indigenous stories (it would have been interesting to have access to a guide to the stories and artworks). We were in a room near the back, and could not access WiFi from our room, but the signal was strong in the common areas closer to the front of the hotel. Staff were always attentive and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast consisted of a fruit bowl, and self-serve toast, cereal, gallo pinto (rice and beans), juice, tea and coffee. Guests could also order eggs made a number of ways for under 30 limperas (about $1.50).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kekoldi Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kekoldi Granada

Property: Hotel Kekoldi Granada
Address: Calle El Consulado No. 315 | 350 meters west of Central Park, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kekoldi Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kekoldi of Granada is a luminous,well ventilated and modern hotel, located in the heart of the oldest city of the American Continent, which provides its costumers with an atmosphere of a fusion between the traditional Grenadian elements with the art of our natives, resulting in an architecture with colonial shades and an esthetic design developed by the renowned nicaraguan artist Robert Barberena de la Rocha, who has unified the grenadian colonial elements with the art of indigenous people of Central America, which can be easily seen in the mosaics, scenary and other details present in the decoration of rooms and the rest areas of the hotel. Kekoldi will indulge you with the excepcional Nicaraguan hospitality & invite you to enjoy the delicious buffet style breakfast. Enjoy our Gorgeous Sunsets in our exotic garden or next to our outdoor pool, which is an ideal relaxation venue to take cover from our granada tropical weather. We make available to you, our sixteen rooms which include private bathrooms, hot water, queens beds, cable TV, Personal Safe, Air Conditioned,hair dryer, Wireless Internet Thru the entire Hotel Grounds & a capacity to Lodge up to fifty people in rooms that are single, doubles, triples & quadruple sharing queen beds, all of the rooms are design to provide you with cozy and restful atmosphere and adorn with harmonious decorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kekoldi Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing