We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever!!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Hotel Ever!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week. We had an amazing time. The hotel itself is the nicest in the city of Grenada hands down, amazinglying mainatined- only about 20 some rooms and there are 5 people cleaning the hotel at all times so it is always clean and in tip top shape. The rooms themselves are like an oasis when you come back from exploring the city or a long day of hiking, they have quite air conditioners and comfromtable beds. Then every morning you wake up to breakfast by the pool which is severed with a smile a every day a different fresh fruit juice. The best [part of the hotel though is the staff who are amazingly friendly and helpful. They arranged priavte tours for us almost everyday to do extacly what we wanted to do and made helpful suggestions of what to do. We always had great tour guides from them and they really made an effort to make our stay special. I can not wait to get a chance to go back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamonster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    158
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
253
426
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel is pretty and superbly maintained. My room was comfortable in size, beautiful furniture, and everything was in working conditions. Not a big hotel ambiance but a guest house. Nice small pool to cool off after walking around town. No noise observed during my night stay. Upper rooms are probably better in terms of noise control. Hotel staff very helpful but they lack of knowledge to set up tours. You are better off walking across the park next to the cathedral to set your own tours with agencies. Overall, great location, friendly staff, superb rooms and great experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquelina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Beautifully restored colonial hotel in the heart of Granada. Great location across from central plaza - yet a peaceful oasis in the midst of the bustling town center. Very clean, spacious and well equipped rooms with nice outdoor common areas. The staff was exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Subject: Hotel Plaza Colon
Location: Granada, Nicaragua, Central America
Title: Beautiful & Charming Hotel
ID#: 68456471

Hotel Plaza Colon is a beautiful hotel. The employees are lovely and helpful. They have deluxe rooms overlooking the plaza with huge balconies to sit out on and watch the flow of life in the plaza. The rate for the deluxe room is $106.00/night including taxes and breakfast.
Breakfast is fine but not fancy....eggs with pinto gallo (traditional rice w/ red beans) toast, fresh fruit and fresh juice. The deluxe rooms are huge and have beautiful wood. There is also a sparkling clean swimming pool. It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patagonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Hotel Plaza Colon was amazing. The staff was very attentive and helpful in suggesting restaurants, giving directions and providing coordination of tours in Granada. My husband and I loved our room; it was very spacious, well decorated and clean. The courtyard was beautiful in the evenings with the lights and the pool. The only thing that did not blow me away was the breakfast. Some days they did buffet style, with limited choices, and others days you could order what you wanted. It was not that the food was bad, but rather the lack of choices during breakfast buffet. Other than that, I can’t wait to come back with friends!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon for three at the end of May 2010. What a wonderful place......Location, location,location.The day staff was very helpful and friendly, the free breakfast was ok, but it's free. the coffee was excellent.What a lovely room I had a room
with a veranda. This is a place i'll stay in again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZGIRL1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Really nice hotel right in the center of the city, staff extremely friendly and a lovely pool: we loved our stay in Granada!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireKieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing