We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC charming hotel, staff, location!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC charming hotel, staff, location!”
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The Hotel Plaza Colon is in a location like no other, opposite the town square, (park), perfect to relax after a hard day of play, a drive to the volcano, a walk to the local market, strolling the museums, watching the sunset after climbing to the top of the church tower, an evening at one of the many fine restaurants.

BREAKFAST.... Waking in the morning to the songs of the birds, relaxing as well as refreshing, for this suggested another fine day. Breakfast served buffet style, compiled of not only the local food, scrambled eggs, plenty of fresh fruits, and coffee as well as tea. All this could be taken near the pool, in your room, on the balcony...and very pleasantly served to you.

ROOM....large, all with baloneys, a/c and important feature...ceiling fans, hot water in the shower, nice large sink. Our room was facing the side street, second floor...delightful and beautiful, yet when we returned we were in a balcony room overlooking the town square, church, onward to the lake and the breeze. The television had many channels also. Each morning to awake to the quiet, with a song from the birds, open the doors to have coffee on the balcony in one of the wonderful rocking chairs.

SERVICE.... All this EXCELLANT service was coordinated by the general manager of the hotel, MARIA Isabel Canton, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful, tireless, a lady that truly enjoyed giving of her self, to be in an industry that can be demanding nary a feather could be ruffled on her.

FRONT DESK....Freddie..... a gentleman with a smile and wonderful English spoken, Daniel....always happily ready to assist in any matter needed, Joan....the man with a greeting to look forward to., Carlos...there to please and he did. The front desk staff, I know I left some of you out....sorry, let I must conclude that all were so very thoughtful, yet the ones I speak of went beyond the call of service.

RESTURANTS... within walking distance, Garden Cafe... breakfast and lunch, Roadhouse Grill....the BEST guapote lake fish ever, Pizza Luca and next door Coyote Grill same owner....good pizza and great chicken, Mediterraneo...a paiea a seafood and rice very tasty dish, and rounding out the suggestions, Nectars for a cocktails and bite to eat in an place filled with atmosphere.

SERVICES available... business area w/computers for your use, car rental agency, among others.

BUS STOP... the bus from Managua stops in front of the hotel and all that for a cost of less than two us dollars.

Complaint....to have a chair inside the room with a small table.

  • Liked — FANTASTIC charming hotel, staff, location!
  • Disliked — would have enjoyed a chair and table inside room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    158
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
251
426
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2009

The balcony rooms over central park are killer. Beautiful woodwork and spacious, although the bathrooms are small. Nothing like a glass of wine after hiking or zip lining thru the forests and watching the horse-drawn carts que below. The staff was helpful and accommodating. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — attitude of staff
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

After spending months reading reviews of Granada hotels, we decided on the Plaza Colon because of its location across from the park and its rooms with balconies that overlook it. We also wanted a hotel with the colonial charm for which Granada is known. The Plaza Colon exceeded our expectations in every respect. The staff is great – very helpful and friendly (everyone who stays there has to love Freddie at the front desk – what a warm welcome.)

The common area décor is gorgeous. Our balcony room was large, clean and very nicely decorated. We were in Granada during the Festival of the Immaculate Conception and that balcony provided the best seat in town for the festivities. We loved coming back from a day of excursions and sitting on the balcony and watching life in the park The Nica breakfast each morning was good – fruit, juice, eggs and gallo pinto. But, if you get tired of that, skip the eggs and gallo pinto and order pancakes from the café downstairs that provides the breakfast – they would do an American diner proud and are worth the extra few bucks a person.

  • Liked — balcony, staff, decor
  • Disliked — picky, picky - showerhead in shower, water temperature a bit lukewarm
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GrossePointeBlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

After reading many reviews of hotels in Granada we decided to stay in this one... and we are so happy we did. The hotel is right on the main square and is absolutely beautiful. Our room was in the courtyard right by the pool and we loved it!!! We would go out and explore the city, take a hiking tour of Mombacho, kayak on the lake or just go to the market... and we would always return in between and jump in the pool. We pretty much had the whole place to ourselves.
The facilities have been recently remodeled and were just beautiful and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was pretty decent. It is nice that you can eat it by the pool, in the courtyard or in your room... wherever you choose. I would stay there again - one of my favorite hotels - period!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonikaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon on our first trip to Granada based on recommendations on this site. Based on our observations, it seemed to be, hands down, the best hotel in Granada.

The hotel is located on Parque Central, which is the center of town and activiity. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the AC works well. I would recommend staying in a room on the park side (front) as those all have balconies overlooking the park.

We left to tour other parts of Nicaragua, but came back here twice -- it became our home away from home. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful, any minor problems we had were taken care of expeditiously. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CrookedTooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2008

To begin with, My familly and I travelled there on vacation with one of us who had left his home city at the age of 10. We were looking for just time of from our hectic schedule and looking forward to just relaxing. From the first moment we arrived we were met by Freddy at the Front Desk. What can I say about him except that he is the epitomy of friendlyness and kindness. He took care of our needs from the first day to the last. The crew that I am about to speak of, is in my opinion the crew that most 5 star hotels look for and few find. Carlos the orderly never lost site of my mothers needs or my partners. He was always at the ready to do what ever it took to provide for us with a smile and the greatest disposition to his duties. Then comes my dear Donald. What I could say about Donald could fill ten reviews and still would not put in words the care that this Front Deskman gave to us. He was foremost in the planning of my mothers going away birthday party. From traditional gifts wrapped like Nacatamales a national dish, to a cake for her celebration, as well as a guitarrist to sing for her. Donal won us over with his beautifull way of being who he is and his sincere approach to everything and everyone. Joan, a quiet young man who we came to know maybe to late but none the less made an incredible impact on us. Striking and well spoken, he would not be out of place if he was the cover model for Prada or Dolce Gabanna. MariaIsabel the General Manager is one of those rare people that not only does her job above and beyond her capacity but loves doing it. Nothing we asked for was beyond the means or abilities of these fine people. I met many others as well whom I have not mentioned. Please my friends forgive me, but know in your hearts that I came to love you all in a very short amount of time. Granada is beautifull, its people are beautifull, but Hotel Plaza Colon is the jewel in La Sultana's(as Granada is Called) crown. I left in tears thinking of how quickly can I come home to Granada and my new friends and familly. Many blessings to all of you and remember you have a friend and a familly member in Dunkan R. Echevarria, Nolhida Echevarria, and Javier Cermeno native of Granada, Nicaragua.

  • Liked — The Hotel stay was a trip back in time to a more amazing era.
  • Disliked — Nothing I am in love with the place
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gigantus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Stayed two nights. First night, until approximately 3am, we could hear loud disco music. Through a miscommunication, I thought the music was for only that night. Had I known, I would have requested a room in the front of the property. Why not just put guests in the front? Otherwise, the hotel is very clean, well maintained and staffed professionally. Breakfast was ample, and for a buffet, was well presented. Coffee was, well, you're in a coffee producing country. Wine bar next door is great for people tripping.

  • Liked — Well appointed and maintained property.
  • Disliked — Disco music at night when in rear of property.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing