We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel! It is beautiful, the room was very spacious, very comfortable bed, soundproof room, the staff is excellent and so helpful and friendly. Perfect location across the street from the plaza and close walking distance to restaurants. The breakfast buffet is delicious. We loved sitting on the patio in the evening for cocktails and watching all of the plaza activity. We will be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    158
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
253
426
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Plaza Colon is the perfect place to stay in Granada. Right on the main square facing the cathedral. Lovely big rooms, smiling and attentive staff. Great breakfasts by the poolside. A nice coffee shop and pre-dinner drinks on the balcony overlooking all of the action in the main square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPhillips241717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our favorite hotel on the Nicaraguan mainland! Why?

Location: The attached coffee shop porch is across the street from the horse carriage line-up and the bustling “town square” and provides lots to watch day or night. Plus, the hotel is walking distance to Grenada’s main attractions -- both colonial and contemporary.

Staff: All are astonishingly friendly and helpful, most speak some English, and everybody up front speaks excellent English.

Rooms: They are spotless, have high ceilings, atmospheric design, and an ambience of colonial “grand”. Beds are comfortable. There are no coffee pots in the rooms at check-in, but that wonderful staff will bring one if you ask.

Pool: It anchors the courtyard and is surrounded by lush landscaping and tall palms. There are plenty of chairs and towels. However, it is of medium size and many guests during our January visit found it cold.

Breakfast: It is a lush buffet complete with omelet chef and excellent table service.

All rooms, but no outdoor areas, are non-smoking.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is spectacular and there isn't much I can add above the 470+ reviews that have come before me. Yes, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are large, and the location can't be beat. However, above and beyond the hotel itself was the staff. Every single one was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The concierge was the best and her arrangement for day tours with Flavio of Servico de Viajes Expreso was the best. The bar downstairs made wonderful drinks...of which we had many and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: I highly recommend spending the extra US$20 and getting a room with a balcony. Some claim the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IxChel3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I, along with our thirteen year old nephew, stayed at the Hotel Plaza Colon for three nights from 1/23-1/26. We stayed in the suite, which I don't think has had much written about it. This was our first trip with our nephew, so the suite was perfect for us. It consists of three rooms and two bathrooms: two very similar bedrooms, both with a queen sized bed and each with its own bathroom, as well as a large living room with wet bar and refrigerator. There is also a large balcony overlooking the town plaza. The suite was spacious and extremely comfortable.

The employees of this hotel are wonderful: helpful, friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Our nephew had a stomach bug for 24 hours and they could not have been more helpful and kind to us. They are also great about arranging tours, making restaurant recommendations, etc. One comment: we were very disappointed in the one restaurant we tried that was NOT on the list recommended by our hotel, and we feel we learned the hard way to stick to their recommendations, all of which were perfect.

Breakfast was amazing: made to order eggs plus a beautiful variety of hot dishes: oatmeal, bacon, sausage, potatoes, gallo pinto, tamales, guava french toast, etc. etc. Fresh fruit, juices, breads - it was really really nice.

There is a bar and a cafe on the main level. We visited both and enjoyed both. The pool and courtyard are beautiful and we swam every day.

We have stayed at other hotels in Grenada in the past and we found the Plaza Colon to have the best location and the nicest breakfast.

Comments about noise were surprising to me because the pool and courtyard side seemed very quiet and I did not find the plaza side to be loud at all - and I am a light sleeper. Honestly, no one should travel without earplugs or a white noise machine (we take both everywhere) but we didn't need them here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattya557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went there on our anniversary trip. Loved everything about it. Room was very nice. Loved the balcony overlooking Parque Central. All of the staff was very professional and helpful. Virginia and Carlos in particular made our trip so very easy. Breakfast was always very good good. Would be our first choice of hotels when we go back.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony overlooking Parque Central are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madman597782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I were with a group so I can't comment on the price. I can comment on the service which was very good. The reception staff spoke English and the breakfast staff spoke enough English so that guests could communicate effectively. The hotel is situated directly across from the central plaza and you can walk to anything. The rooms surround a nice outdoor courtyard with a large swimming pool in the middle. The rooms were comfortable and specious and included an outdoor area, some better than others depending on the location. The buffet breakfast, which included omelettes prepared by a chef, was good and eating breakfast around the pool in late January was especially nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the park have great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing