We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Granada”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Plaza Colon for our honeymoon in June, and we could not have been happier with our choice.

First, the location. You can't ask for a better location. Right on Plaza Colon, with some rooms overlooking the plaza and beautiful views of the Cathedral (despite some reviewers complaints, we never had any issues with noise from the plaza). Also, it is centrally located--just a short walk to the bars and restaurants on calzada, but far enough away for some peace and quiet.

Second, the quality of the rooms/hotel. The rooms were extremely large and very clean, with beautiful wood floors and doors. Great hot water, water pressure and air conditioning, luxuries in Nicaragua. Some of the rooms overlook the plaza, and others overlook the two central courtyards in the hotel, with one of the courtyards having a nice pool. Although they don't have a fitness center, they offer free passes to a small, local gym. And the breakfast was simply amazing. We traveled all over Nicaragua for our honeymoon (Corn Islands, Managua, Ometepe, Pacific Coast), and one of our favorite times was having a nice, relaxing breakfast at the hotel as we planned our day.

Finally, and I really can't say enough about this, but the service was simply outstanding--from the bellboy, to the reception, to the servers, to the concierge. They were all not only extremely helpful, but also friendly and went out of their way to help and always with a smile on their faces. They helped us with ALL our transportation over Nicaragua, including arranging for transportation from our hotel on the Pacific coast back to the airport. They helped with our tours/siteseeing around Granada and with arranging a hotel on Ometepe.

We would highly recommend Hotel Plaza Colon to any and all travelers, with a couple looking for a romantic getaway, a family, or a solo traveler. It will not disappoint!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the plaza are easily the best and worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebmanjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I loved this hotel. The location couldn't have been better. I was able to walk almost everywhere. I had a rental car so a gated, secured parking lot was a must for me, and this hotel had it. The room was spotless, with a fridge and new flat-screen TV. The a/c pointed right at the bed, so I was in heaven. The breakfast was typical Nicaraguan fare - eggs, gallo pinto, queso frito. All delicious. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Granada. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It would be almost impossible to have a better hotel experience. My husband, daughter and I stayed here for one week, and were so sad to leave. It felt like home.The service was out of this world, and everyone was so friendly. Great pool, A/C, breakfast, perfect location on the parque Central, and by far, the best bartender in Granada. Our room was huge, beds so comfortable, excellent bathroom, and all so immaculate. Everyone at the front desk went out of their way to help in every way. For us, the best hotel in Granada by far. Thank you, Hotel Plaza Colon for everything!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool (room 212) and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyandleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding, we stayed for two nights, and the service was outstanding, very friendly, and extremely helpful. High quality food, rooms were very clean and nice, hot water and air conditioning were perfect, and you are located at the heart of the city with an amazing view to the main cathedral, you can just enjoy looking at the park. Totally recommended, i will definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank carlosjc20022222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed 5 nights here. In every way, the hotel exceeded my expectations. My room was most comfortable: air-conditioned and a ceiling fan with a little patio with chairs in back. I slept very well. The breakfast was perfect (I love papaya and gallo pinto); there was a buffet and a made-to-order eggs option. The bar had a variety of mixed drinks, beers, and surprisingly good wines. There's a nice pool in the central atrium decorated with tropical plants. The BEST characteristic of the hotel is the service of the staff. Without fail, they were pleasant, friendly, and helpful. Stuffy, Parisian concierges could learn a few things from the PC's staff. In particular, Virginia, the concierge helped me with finding a tour to Mombacho and Masaya, a Spanish school, and restaurants. Her recommendations were spot on. The other great thing about PC is its location on the plaza across from the beautiful cathedral. It is the very center of this interesting and vibrant city-similar to Antigua, Guatemala but even more friendly and less touristed. An example of the service at Plaza Colon: I mentioned that the wi-fi wasn't working. That night, the management bought me 2 glasses of Palo Alto, a great Chilean sauvignon blanc. Overall, this is one of my favorite hotels ever.

Room Tip: I was concerned that the balcony rooms might be noisy since they overlook the plaza. The room I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved this hotel - super beautiful and the best service. Great pool area and breakfast. The concierge helped us book anything we wanted to do and had great advice. Worth every penny and ideal location!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank CdninLondon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we were treated with the highest level of service. What a gorgeous property in a perfect location right at parque central. We splurged on a balcony room to enjoy the sights and sounds below. We were delighted to find out the 2 drinks and breakfast were included in our stay. Everyone was so helpful and the room was HUGE! I would definately stay here again when I return to Granada!

Room Tip: get a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $114 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing