We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and amazing location”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a beautiful boutique hotel adjacent to the square in the middle of Granada. It's almost like a snapshot in time, but restored with all of the modern luxuries. Food is very good, bar is beautiful, and the service is amazing. It's like an oasis hidden in the middle of a hectic area. The pool and interior grounds are beautiful and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Stay in a balcony suite if you can, the view over the park and to the cathedral are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in Granada one night and could not have picked a better hotel. Our room was substantial, clean and had all the necessary amenities. The pool was cool and inviting, and the breakfast was all one could ask for. The very best part of the experience, however, is the people of the Hotel Plaza Colon. Everyone smiled and seemed to enjoy being there. They were gracious and helpful. Some properties do a fine job with the room or the amenities or the people. The Hotel Plaza Colon has found a formula for doing it all "right". Don't miss staying here if you are in Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is an old building adjoining the main square of Granada & a lot has been spent on its restoration. A beautiful building with a courtyard containing a pool. Large bedrooms, shower only bathroom. Good breakfast, butno other meals available, apart from cafe on street terrace (closes 7pm) & bar snacks. The big downside is noise from the street. Because it is an old building the windows are not double glazed and so the noise begins at c5am & continues until c11pm.
Otherwise I couldn't recommend it any higher, but you do check into expensive hotels to be able to sleep at night too!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Global Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review! We understand where you’re coming from and I would like to take the opportunity and elaborate a bit more about some of the aspects you mention.

Hotel Plaza Colón was built in an old colonial house that was completely refurbished to its original architectural style; the owners were very meticulous in preserving all these characteristics as they are very proud of -and are committed to protecting- the architectural heritage of our city.

Given this, and taking into account our location -right in front of the main square, across the Cathedral- there are some rooms that are noisy throughout the year due to the birds singing in the park (5AM & 6PM) and might present a problem to light sleepers; these rooms are also the ones that have the big balconies.

There are also times of the year like the Poetry Festival Week in February (when you stayed with us), the month of August, the first week of December (the Purísima), Christmas Eve and New Years; when there are many cultural and religious activities and celebrations; these times the noise might end later, as you mentioned, around 11PM.

For all our guests who would like to have the view but also a good night's sleep, we always have ear plugs available as a courtesy, if you need them just let Virginia or any other staff member know and we will provide you with them.

For those of you who would rather have a good night's sleep above anything else, I recommend the rooms on the inside of the Hotel, around the pool. These rooms have the same amenities as the balcony rooms minus the view and remain quiet regardless of what is going on the Plaza.

We believe the more information you have while making your decision, the better the outcome of your experience. So when booking with us, let us know all your questions and requests, we are always happy to provide information and accommodate you!

Warm regards,

Maria Isabel Canton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow! Staying at the Plaza Colon Hotel in Granada, Nicaragua was terrific. The location is excellent on the main square and the hotel is a beautiful example of local architecture. It is clean.The air conditioning and fan in the room work well, as does the hot water in the shower. It is lovely to stay in a room fronting the plaza with a large balcony overlooking the slice of life in the park. The birds are rather noisy early in the morning and at dusk, but the interest in the square far outweighs the inconvenience. Quieter rooms front on the inside patio.The staff is friendly, accommodating, and informative. In particular, Virginia Alvarado, the manager of guest relations recommends tours, restaurants and anything else you want to know always with a bright smile. Carlos, the bellhop, was helpful in assisting us to find a misplaced item.
There is a nicely appointed pool in the inner courtyard to cool off whenever you need; the breakfast presents a variety of foods from freshly cooked eggs and toasts to fruit and yogurt served by the staff , or buffet style when the hotel is full. A cafe next door provides food all day until about 7 p.m.You can walk to quite a number of restaurants and bars.The hotel can arrange for airport transfers and day trips to the many interesting sights and activities in the area including the volcanoes, Las Isletas, Masaya market, Laguna de Apoyo and even further afield to the coastal beaches. We used Favio Castillo's transport service with the driver/guide Carlos, whom we recommend highly. The hotel uses them and recommends them.
Run, don't walk to stay at this hotel for all your needs in Nicaragua. It can be your base for all your activities. We stayed for a week and loved every moment, always feeling safe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for our last 4 nights in Nicaragua and loved it! The location is ideal as it is situated on the central plaza. We requested a room on the ground floor immediately adjacent to the pool, which is where we liked to spend the hot afternoons. I'm also sure that our room was more quiet than the rooms with balconies overlooking the square. if you want to people watch you can sit on the large deck at the entrance to the hotel or a number of restaurants with outdoor seating in the area.

Our room was accessed through 2 tall, large double doors which felt very grand. On the opposite side of the room were 2 more double doors that opened up onto a small patio. The other rooms beside us also had their own small patios but we never saw anyone else us them. The room was clean with comfortable beds and nice linens. There was also a spacious shower with very good water pressure. We also appreciated the small minbar in the room as we used it to keep cool some other items that we had purchased. The staff were also very helpful and friendly and organized a private air-conditioned ride for us to the airport in Managua at a better price than was offered at by other transport services nearby. For anyone who enjoys a cocktail, Hotel Plaza Colon made the best Macau's of all the ones we tried in Nicaragua. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rain-Proof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here twice in our 10 day vacation. this place was fantastic - beautiful, clean, gorgeous decorations and rooms, lots of room and the best location in town - right centrally with a view of the central park. The service and staff and breakfast included was impeccable and impressive. The pool was nice and the bigger rooms with balcony are so worth it but slightly noisier as they face the central park. I asked my husband to guess how much we were paying a night for this fantastic place and he thought that we would pay 350 or more a night in the USA - but for the incredible friendliness, wonderful rooms, great service, amazing food, included water, fantastic breakfast selection...awesome location centrally...we were surprised that we paid so little....in nicaragua. would not stay anywhere else and would definitely come back here if we are ever in nicaragua. Was difficult to get a room but worth booking for sure and waiting for availability or booking early. The concierge service for tours was excellent. Highly recommend kayaking iselets, the bat caves and volcan massaya, and hiking the cloud forest volcan mombacho- the puma was easy and done in 2hours....just a fantastic trip - welcome drinks and free water, air con, great hot water with good shower pressure. can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms have great balconies which are so worth it but a bit noisier, the non-balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousqueries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent location, beautiful hotel, very large comportable rooms with high ceilings and lots of wood. Small pool. Staff were very helpful and accomodating. Bartender joined in singing some Spanish song one of my fellow travelers learned in grade school.A breakfast buffet was served around the pool and was quite pleasant.
And next door to the hotel is a marvelous coffee shop, called Lily's. I had the largest cappachino I have ever had in my life. It came in a soup bowl and was beautiful.
The hotel is situated on the main plaza and within walking distance from everything. There are horse and buggies in front if you want to take a ride. Inside the hotel is quiet and elegant.
Staff in the business center was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise but some rooms face the plaza and I think could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsilver4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing