We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Granada”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After 3 other hotels in Managua and Granada, I can say with certainty this hotel tries harder and far exceeds every other place. The service is with a smile, at once helpful and relevant. I have been here 2 weeks and have one more to go. On such an extended stay you want a/c that works as it should every day, hot water every day, breakfast made to order every day and wi-fi in your room that works every day. When you go to sleep in a bed that is not comfortable or pillows right out of the boarding houses of the last century you wake up and see the smaller then some pools in our own homes, the breakfast that may be a bit limited, etc. But when it is as comfortable as it is at Plaza Colon, you see fresh omelettes being made to order, Carlos the bellman asking if you need anything and meaning it, Victor or Roberto at the front desk ready and able to to assist you, Virginia in guest services happy to recommend a restaurant, a place to visit or more. Finally, the great lady of the hotel, obviously the back-bone of the service to the guest first feeling you have is Maria, the general manager -- forever smiling, helpful and very informative about all things good and that is still a stretch in Granada. She is involved in the community, with kids, improving lives to raise the pride and success of the city's youth. Though she never offered, when asked Maria was full of resources on where I could help out. A local school that needed backpacks, helping me wrangle up 100 Happy meals from McD's when I couldn't articulate it well enough in my own Spanglish. Whether it is for a night, a week or a month -- you are throwing away money and missing an opportunity to meet authentic locals and place to call home while in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: I recommend you stay on the side with rooms 109 to 106 -- no outside street noise and a quaint outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The location is very good you can walk to the restaurants etc. Service good. Breakfast was good but not great. The pool is nice but rather small so it was a bit crowded. Highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we spent one night in Granada and the hotel was a perfect location. the staff was friendly and helpful. the room was clean, cool and comfortable. there was a festival in town and our room was on side street which was fine because it was a little quieter. breakfast was delicious and the pool refreshing after a hot day!

Room Tip: try to get a room in front overlooking plaza.r
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glicks200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 5 days in Granada in February. This is a beautiful hotel. The service is the best - the wait staff are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast every morning in the courtyard around the pool - great buffet. Try the pineapple - it is the sweetest I've ever had. Rooms are spacious, nice walk-in shower. Location in front of the square is great. While we were there, Granada was hosting an international poetry event. Every night the square was filled with entertainment. Loved sitting on the front "porch" of the pool watching all the activity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to Granada several times and have tried a variety of hotels. This is the best so far.
The service is excellent..staff professional and efficient..Mureil at the front desk was terrific and very resourceful..Carlos, the nice bartender..everyone was great!
The breakfast is delicious and the location is ideal. It can get a little noisy on the square but
I highly recommend the Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times and each time has been perfect! Great service, food and lodging! Make sure to get a balcony room overlooking the square.

the pool area is lovely and breakfast by the pool (included) is made to order and delicious!

Room Tip: must get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harstrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Granada with 3 friends end of Feb. This was our first stop (Ometepe and San Juna del Sur were the next two). It was a perfect start to an amazing vacation. The hotel is beautiful and it is well worth it to get a room with a balcony facing the park. Like most places on our trip, we had an amazing breakfast each morning (it is a full meal) which you eat in the adorable courtyard by the pool. We didn't mind swimming while people ate breakfast but keep this in mind if you think this is an issue. The staff was extremely accommodating (especially Carlos!) They arranged transport, Mombacho volcano hike (Puma trail for the adventerous), and recommended restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindso369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $114 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing