We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Stay in Granada.”
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spectacularly sited, this is nearly a "must-stay" in Nicaragua. The Hotel is located right on the main square overlooking the Cathedral; ideally suited to sight-seeing and dining. Not the cheapest, but given the ambiance, service, and convenience it is clearly one of, (if not THE), best hotels in the country!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was excellent in practically every way. It was beautiful with an interesting history. It was very clean, comfortable, and roomy. I did not see any bugs in the hotel. The A/C worked great and was not noisy. It was perfectly located in the city. Everything was within a reasonable walking distance. I was very impressed with the staff. They were always available, extremely courteous, and genuinely friendly and helpful. I can not praise the staff adequately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_2_Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a guest of this hotel, I posted a review on 6/2, citing a time consuming problem with the in-room safe. Two days later upon checkout -- without additional prompting from me -- the manager again apologized again for the problem and presented us a superior bottle of wine as compensation. I was unable to change my already posted review. Problems happen in all places, it's how the management handles them that counts. This was handled well in my opinion. Enjoy you stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank John P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

WE stayed at the Plaza Colon first week of Sep '12. the staff was absolutely amazing and welcoming. They were willing to help with anything at all. Carlos one of the bellman greeted me and my girlfriend each day with a great smile and made us real comfortable. Virginia at the guest services desk made last second changes for any tours or transportaton we needed and was always extremely professional and friendly. Yes the rooms are expensive for Nicaragua, but it is definitley worth it with. thank you again for a wonderful experience

Jeff

Room Tip: 1st floor has an outdoor sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrose812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The best ever.......good friendly staff, the breakfast was really excellent, first class, clean rooms and a very enjoyable stay. We liked the hotel so much that we returned for a second stay shortly after the first. The concierge actually took us on a tour on his day off and we had a great time.
I look forward to going again soon.
Mike Johnstone

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place was fantastic. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and the location can't be beat. We weren't able to get a balcony because of renovations, but our room was great nonetheless. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was spotless. But what sets it apart is the staff - the concierge was incredibly helpful getting things set up so we could enjoy Granada and it's surrounding places to the fullest. Stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyS1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

good hotel and the best in granada. get the rooms upstairs as cleaner newer air co with good ceiling fans, newer good quality beds high ceilings and spacious room. cross ventilation with balcony door and fron door. big wooden doors. tiled floors.. slept well . the bigger rooms with big balcony at the front are not as comfortable due to poorly located air conditioners and older slower one speed fan and lumpy beds.

Room Tip: get the rooms upstairs as cleaner newer air co with good ceiling fans, newer good quality beds high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#8 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing