We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Patio del Malinche was a highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patio del Malinche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Patio del Malinche was a highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My friend and I spent three days at the Hotel Patio del Malinche, and I wish we could have stayed longer. Edwin and Jessica were charming and helpful, and the whole staff was friendly and efficient. What set this hotel apart from the others I stayed at on my trip were the little details. Not only did they serve breakfast, but you had a choice of what breakfast you wanted. They provided free purified water (they filled up my waterbottle every morning), which was a nice touch. They also provided laundry service for a small fee. I put my dirty clothes in a bag, and got them hand delivered the next day. In addition to free wifi, they also had one or two computers you could hop onto if you wanted to.
Overall, I just felt like a special guest at the Hotel Patio del Malinche. I wasn't treated as if I was just passing through in a few days. They took the time to take care of you. If I return to Granada, I would stay at the Hotel Patio del Malinche.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    98
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
297
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful staff, from Edwin, Louise, Claudio, Jessica and so on.. We so enjoyed each and every person we met. We stayed 5 days. Breakfast second to none. Location close to everything. Granada is very safe and we felt so at peace everywhere we went in the city. The Nicaraguans are amazing people. Our room was kept very clean and our stay most refreshing. (1 complaint, WiFi not IN room) - Amazing Value!!!! This, in my opinion is the place you need to stay.

Room Tip: Room 10 has extra window. We stayed in 11 as well, which may have had more 'roominess' but 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandMiranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I visit Granada 3 to 4 times a year and always stay at the Patio del Malinche. There is always a great welcome from the staff. The service is excellent . The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good. The hotel has a great ambiente and is in a good location not far from the centre of the city and also just around the corner from La Calzada where the main action is. Great value .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I really loved Hotel Patio del Malinche. I loved the old Spanish Colonial Hacienda feel of the hotel with hamacas around the courtyard and the pool. Our rooms were outside the pool and it was perfect when unwinding from a long day of running around in the sun. The staff was super nice and helpful. We had the perfect mix of being near everything but a little away from everything. It felt like our own haven.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanaLola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My trip to Granada was made even more pleasant by the folks at Patio del Malinche. The facility was clean and beautiful, the staff was efficient and courteous, the pool was refreshing, and the delicious breakfast was a great way to start a day of travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were very excited to go to Patio del Malinche after all the positive reviews but it was even better then even expected. The lobby and gardens were exquisite and very clean. The pool was absolutely wonderful (!) and is the perfect size and so refreshing after a hot day exploring Granada.

It has one of the best locations in town. Quiet street but very short walk to the central park and ped-mall (where a lot of bars and restaurants are). It is also a fairly short walk to the beach – don't want to walk around there at night though. We had absolutely no noise disruptions during our stay – we slept very well.

The front desk people (Edwin and Jessica) were very helpful and so kind. The owners were there for the first few days of our stay and helped us plan what to do and organized it for us. They gave us amazing dinner options too (Café de los Suenos was our favorite, followed by Garden Café and Mona Lisa Pizza). They helped us save valuable time and money by telling us how to combine a number of things we wanted to do. They also organized our transportation to and from the airport. They have been working with a very reliable family for a long time that provides transportation.

The cleaning crew and bar/restaurant people were wonderful and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious! They also provide filtered water for all guests, which is really nice. The only issue was that we refilled a lot and had to ask them to do it for us all the time – it'd be easier if guests could refill themselves.

Our room was just what we wanted. Very clean and simple. It was really nice to have AC in our room – it was very hot in Granada in May. There was a safe in the room too. The shower was nice and there were no issues with the toilet (which I believe is common in Nicaragua). I suggest getting a room on the second floor. All the rooms open up into the pool area. We were in room 15 – second floor in the corner and it was perfectly quiet and a good size. You can see Mombacho volcano from the second floor balcony. Room 17 has a very good view of it. Room #10 has a big window looking right at it, but it looked like a room for more than 2 people.

Overall, this would be the first place I would want to stay if I get to go back. I really can't say enough good things about it. Much better then the more expensive, bigger places in town.

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room on the second floor. All the rooms open up into the pool area. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reblou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Same, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights there, because we had to relax from travelling!! We loved the rooms, the pool and the delicious breakfast! Staff was very friendly, the Hotel is very close to the main square and is very quiet! I would love to come again and recommend staying here! We had booked this Hotel through ORO-Travel in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Property: Hotel Patio del Malinche
Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing