We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

After just returning from travelling Central and South America and staying in many great boutique hotels, we have to say that Patio del Malinche is still at the top of our list.
We are fortunate to have stayed there 3 times now: 2010, 2011 and this past November 2013 and we look forward to our next trip there.
We love the relaxed ambiance at Patio del Malinche. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet, scrumptious breakfasts and they have the most helpful and friendly staff.
Sipping one of the special house cocktails and a dip in the pool is a delight after a day of site-seeing in the heat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkw_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 746 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This well maintained, nicely appointed facility, with great breakfasts and friendly, helpful staff made this our oasis in Granada. Looked forward each day during our stay returning to and lounging in the nicely landscaped courtyard with pool. Staff was most helpful answering questions and arranging transportation. The taxi drivers they used were great. Within walking distance of almost everything. Good place, great people.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank gdeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights over Christmas, 2013

The hotel is about 3 blocks from central park and one street over from the pedestrian only street so it is very convenient.

I met the owner Lydia. Lydia personally hand made the interior decorations, such as the lamp shades. Every piece of furniture has a unique history. She really spent a lot of time decorating the hotel so nicely. It's like staying in a very expensive colonial style home. She was so helpful in everything.

Lydia's staff, particularly Edwin speaks English very well , and extremely patience answering all my questions. He told me where to go and where not to go for my own safety. He even booked my hotel in Leon when I changed my travel plan. I remember one time I have to take a taxi to the lake and 3 of Lydia staff helped me stopped every taxi that passed by , spoke to them in Spanish and tried to get the lowest rate for me. Great job.

The breakfast was great. I think there are 4 choices to choose from plus fresh juice and bread. The breakfast was delicious. I like the bottomless, all you can drink hot cocoa.

I have a corner room. I like a bright room and this room has many lights , including one above the sink in the bath room. The room has a safe, a ceiling, a TV and ceiling fan. There is a shower curtain. Although the hot water is not inconsistently hot and the flow is somewhat slow and low which means that it takes longer to take a shower, but it is ok.

Stay in this hotel. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip_T0_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is one of the most charming hotels we've ever stayed at. The attention to detail and care with which the hotel was put together, and has been maintained, are obvious the minute one steps through the door. The owners are lovely and gracious hosts, and are beyond helpful. They went out of their way to help us make the most of our time in Granada. This hotel is a wonderful sanctuary in the midst of the town.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Patio del Malinche is a charming boutique hotel close to most main attractions in town. The atmosphere is quite intimate and quiet. If you're one that likes something a bit more social and interactive you may reconsider staying here. We found we whispered out and around the pool and the eating area most of the time. We enjoyed the peace but at the same time felt a bit funny keeping our voices down. Breakfast is good with selection. Rooms are on the small side but comfortable. We stayed at another hotel in Granada as well, for much less in comparison yet felt we got more value for our money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank floresysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family (with three teenage sons) spent 4 nights in Granada at Patio del Malinche. The hotel is located just off the main square, a nice break from the noise but close enough to the action.
A beautiful hotel and lovely pool. Breakfasts are very good. The staff is helpful and friendly.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Well located, an easy walk to sights and restaurants. Extremely friendly staff, with great advice about the surrounding area. Delicious breakfasts. Comfortable room. Beautiful patio. A pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AneelOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $90 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing