We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at the Hotel Patio del Malinche”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second stay at the Hotel Patio del Malinche”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ramon and Lidia and staff continue to be excellent hosts of this Inn, the front rooms and open patio, graced with royal palms, were once a private residence of a prosperous family. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. This sounds neurotic, but I checked for bed bugs and there were NONE.
Luis tends bar and makes drinks to order. Sit back by the pool, or enjoy the view of volcano from the second floor balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    100
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
301
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 11 nights at this lovely and peaceful hotel in July 2012. The breakfast was great with lots of fruits and good coffee. The rooms are clean, the swimming pool is small but together with the patio, the nice staff and the lovely owners it sum up to be a really nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StavangerKalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family of 5 spent 2 nights at this hotel in July (2 adults in one room and 3 kids in the one next to us). We had been traveling around Nicaragua for 3 weeks and this was our first "nicer" place. We were pleased with our room, shower (not hot but ok), and pool. The breakfast was terrific and the computer convenient. The staff was so helpful in planning what to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this lovely spot-wonderful hospitality, great breakfasts, comfortable and clean (if a bit small) rooms, super for lounging on a hammock with a Cuba libre after a busy day around Grenada. Perfect location just off the posada for a great night life without the noise. The owners and staff go out of there way to make you feel at home. I had two teenagers with me who routinely slept past breakfast- even after the staff had cleaned up and out it all away they were warmly greeted and offered the whole menu once again. They connected us with Grenada Mia-a tour company that also took great care of us and made the stay even better than I could have imagined.

Room Tip: No restaurants or fitness center but there's a pool-we preferred the first floor b/c of the hamm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

A lovely place to stay. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and accomplished, the patio and the swimming pool are so nice and relaxing. The breakfast is huge and the food high quality. The staff and the owners are very kind and helpful. The hotel is very close to calle Calzada and Parque Central, but in a quiet street. Perfect to chill out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisca_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It think if we had only stayed here, we would have thought it was great. But we were sent here by Hotel Con Corazon after staying there for a while (they said it was their 'sister hotel') since a large party had completely booked the place up for our last night in town. Anyway, compared to HCC, this place is more expensive and has a lot less character. It's hard to say anything bad about it since they seemed nice and even gave us breakfast to go when we had to leave early the next day. But since it's impossible not to compare: it's not in as good of a part of town, it's not nearly as aesthetically interesting (there's literally no art, color, or decor in the whole place as you can see from the pics--it's not bad it's just all beige and plain), bathrooms are smaller, the common areas aren't as nice, and there is no smiling welcome party to greet you. To top it off, your money is not going to support a nonprofit organization, as with HCC. Again, these places are ranked #1 and #2 so I'd say they're both doing a LOT of things right. But for my tastes, I think I would always choose the other one over this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We felt very safe in this hotel. The people working here were very helpful and eager to help. Lidia and Ramon, the owners, were very nice. I really liked a drink called "Cacao" and asked him where I could get it. He told me that he was going to get it at the market! I couldn't believe it! Now I have "cacao" at home and can't wait to make some. Isaura, the receptionist was very nice, and a lot of her recommendations were great. Maribel, our young waitress had a beautiful smile, which it was a nice way to start our day, plus the wonderful breakfast and great coffee. Alvaro, was also a nice kid working together with Maribel at times. And Claudia, the excellent cook and maker of the incredible fruit salads! Next time I visit Granada with my family or a friend, I will stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorroroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Property: Hotel Patio del Malinche
Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing