We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
westby
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We felt very safe in this hotel. The people working here were very helpful and eager to help. Lidia and Ramon, the owners, were very nice. I really liked a drink called "Cacao" and asked him where I could get it. He told me that he was going to get it at the market! I couldn't believe it! Now I have "cacao" at home and can't wait to make some. Isaura, the receptionist was very nice, and a lot of her recommendations were great. Maribel, our young waitress had a beautiful smile, which it was a nice way to start our day, plus the wonderful breakfast and great coffee. Alvaro, was also a nice kid working together with Maribel at times. And Claudia, the excellent cook and maker of the incredible fruit salads! Next time I visit Granada with my family or a friend, I will stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorroroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    100
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
109
303
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was very happy staying at this hotel. The hotel is lovely and there is a pool on the premises. There is a (small) HD TV in the room, air conditioning and hot water, which is really necessary in July. The only thing the room didn't have, which I would have benefited from, is a telephone because I received a phone call from the U.S. every night and had to go down to the reception area to take the call. I also liked the fact that breakfast was served until 10 a.m., not just until 9 a.m. The breakfast choices were great. And would you believe, I walked the sole off of one of my sneakers and Ramon offered to get it fixed for me. I didn't have to spend time looking for someone to repair my shoe. Now how is that for service???!!! The location is also great! Just around the corner from the Calle Calzada, the happening street in Granada!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maringfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I used TA to guide me in my decision where to stay when I had to do a visa run recently, and the choice of Hotel Patio del Malinche was perfect for me. To start with, the reservation was friendly and easy to do through their website, and upon a late arrival, a smiling receptionist welcomed me and showed me to a very comfortable Room #4 just outside the pool area. Aircon and fan worked well, hot water shower was great, and the cleaning staff did and excellent job. I enjoyed a great desayuno tipica or American style breakfast, all included with fresh juice and coffee. The location was convenient to all points in Granada, and the famous la calzada was just a block away. The Owners and staff could not have made my trip more pleasant, and I will certainly return.

Room Tip: The second storey rooms have a better view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CajonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was a wonderful place for our family. It is small and intimate place. We had two rooms and they were clean. Staff was friendly and attentive. The location is in the heart of the city. We will now use this as our Granada go to hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor and toward the rear of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warriorwomanFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here off season for 3 nights with my 4year old. As my son was young they only charged me the single rate. He loved the pool. The place was clean, the beds comfortable, the breakfast good, the staff friendly and the prices quite reasonable. The hotel is located only a couple of blocks away from the central square but not anywhere where noise is a factor. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

On our second trip to Granada within 6 months, we selected Hotel Patio not only to have more common space for our group of 6 but because the reviews were fantastic and it certainly lived up to its reputation. From the time we arrived until our departure the staff went above and beyond their duties to assist us with our every move. Sunday is relatively a quiet day in Granada and instead of going out ot lunch, Ramon offered to call and have pizza delivered for us and while waiting for lunch the girl who was still on duty after breakfast was preparing to leave and instead she returned to the kitchen and set the table for us. In most situations a word did not have to be spoken the staff just seem to know what you needed whether it was a towel by the pool or a cool drink. The owners have put together a wonderful oasis' and staff which makes you want to either stay longer or return SOON!!!! (Which we plan to do as soon as possible). Thanks to Lidia, Ramon and the Entire Staff for their superb service. The Berns, Huffers and Roberts (Feb 2012)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed at the patio del malinche for 4 days. They organised a transfer from Managua airport, the guy spoke English and gave us a quick history of Nicaragua and places we should see in Grenada.

Once at the hotel (at 9am) we were told our room was going to be a little while - 15 minutes - which considering some places at home dont allow check in before 2pm, we were quick to tell them this was fine. They offered us breakfast and WOW, would you like eggs or the fruit salad either way they are both amazing.

After a quick sleep we were walking through Grenada. The hotel is only a street over from the main gringo district so away from all the sellers on the street. They gave us a guide of the town and where some of the more reputable travel places are.

I won't go through every day we had there but for the price and location it was the best hotel I've stayed at in our 4 months away from home. Isaura, alvaro and Jessica were more than helpful throughout the whole stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Property: Hotel Patio del Malinche
Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing