We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Place in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I can't really add much more to what's already been said, but this is a really nice hotel near the Parque in downtown Granada. They have very nice rooms, a swimming pool, good views from the upstairs rooms, a convenient bar and a very good breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 740 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Granada. It is located close to the parque central, but not so close that you're right in all the hubbub. The rooms are simple but clean and appealing and both the hot water and air-conditioning function beautifully. The breakfasts are great and the bar makes a mean mojito. But the absolute best thing about Patio del Malinche is the staff. The owners, Lidia and Ramon, are super-helpful. Lidia helped us find two local organizations that we could donate soccer balls to, recommended lovely places to stay in Ometepe and San Juan del Sur, and personally gave us a ride to the bus station the morning we departed. The front desk clerks, Jessica and Isaura, are friendly, efficient and speak good English. My husband and I ended up spending five nights at Patio del Malinche - we were sad to leave because it truly felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I recently returned home from a 5 day visits to Granada, and chose to stay at Hotel Patio del Malinche based on reviews from trip advisor. As with most of the hotels in this area, the beauty of these hotels are not from the street view, but once you cross into the hotel and into the courtyard. In general the rooms were simple but clean, the beds were comfortable, and the hotel itself was quiet and very nice. In my opinion, the selling point for this hotel was the management and staff. The owner's of the hotel were tremendous. The information they shared on everything from day trips, places to visit, areas to take the kids ( we had a 8 and 9 year old with us), and restaurants to try were perfect for what we were looking for. They even recommended we stay somewhere else one night so we wouldn't have to drive home too late at night with the kids, and booked another hotel for the night for us. The staff was very attentive and friendly and the service was excellent. The room came with breakfast which was very nice, and a computer was on premises for personal use, which was also very helpful in researching and planning day trips and being intouch with home. We checked out very early on the day we left and they had packed a breakfast for us to take with us, which was much appreciated. The location of the hotel is a short walk to the main plaza and restuarant row, so location was a plus. A big thank you to the owners of this hotel for their hospitality and a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatescold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In my two week trip to Nicaragua and Costa Rica, this was the best hotel I stayed at. The courtyard with pool was very peaceful and well landscaped. The service was great and all food/drinks of high quality, as were the rooms (clean and well appointed). The front desk was great about arranging a taxi or anything you could want. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_Global_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The location of the hotel is great. Can walk to most attractions. The room is simple but with good decor. The owners are very helpful and breakfast is amazing. I wish all small hotels can be as good and professional as Malinche.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Last december was our third stay at the Patio del Malinche (where else!) and the experience was again outstanding: so quiet and cozy ( but not snobbish!), personal so friendly as usual (super smiles and professional efficiency), super Nica breakfast while watching Hummingbirds in the Patio, lovely pool after a hot day around, super cocktails at the charming Bar (those Margaritas!)... The people there make you feel at home, as does the charming and quiet rooms. The location of this outstanding hotel, five minutes from the crowded Plaza Colón, assures you a quiet and deep sleep. As we plan to go back to Nicaragua in december 2012, we will stay a few days there again for the beauty of the place, the friendship of the owners, Lidia and Ramón, and the true smiles of the super staff! Hasta pronto, Patio del Malinche! Norma & Maxime

Room Tip: We guess all the rooms are great: open your door downstairs and you will face exotic plants in a cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

As soon as we got here, my friends and I were impressed with this colonial style hotel. There are two patios with several hammocks dispersed for relaxation, I enjoyed the area around the pool the most. The staff was very helpful and attentive, but I think their english was minimal. Knowing spanish is definitely helpful. They helped us with restaurant recommendations and cabs, they even let us print our itinearay out and had breakfast for us when we left before breakfast was served, they made us ham and egg sandwiches. They use one particular taxi company - which picked us up from the airport (for a fee - i think it was like $45) and pretty much drove us wherever we wanted :) Rene was so super nice!

Granada town centre is a couple of blocks away and its safe and easy to walk around during the day and at night, not too late I would assume though. the only thing was the rooms were a bit small, we were three and we felt a bit cramped, we each got our own twin bed though.

the sites we enjoyed was going to las isletas, masaya and we especially liked just hanging around the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio del Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio del Malinche

Address: Calle Caimito | de Alcaldia 2 1/2c. al lago, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Granada
#5 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patio del Malinche 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a place in the world, a house is a place in one's heart. El Patio del Malinche is more than just another hotel, it's a dream come true. Our interest to live in a different culture and to get to know new horizons took us to the ancient town of Granada. The sun-dried bricks of Granada's old walls and the hospitality of its people bewitched us. By restoring an old colonial house we relived a life of peace and serenity created by its inside patios full of history. We hope our guests will be able to revive and share with us the atmosphere of other times. We will be delighted to share our house, where life pours from every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Patio del Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Del Malinche Granada
Patio Del Malinche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing