We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of Hotel El Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Club
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is located close to the center of town and you can walk to most attractions in the town. The rooms are small with no windows, but this is common for Nicaragua . The bathrooms are very small and you may have to sit sideways on the toilet. The rooms are clean and everything worked including the A/C and tv. The staff did there job without being over friendly. For the money charged for the room this hotel is reasonable value for money. A good place to stay if you are after somewhere to sleep that is safe and clean but perhaps not so good for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    22
    11
    13
See reviews for
10
49
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Location is fine, very close to the centre of town, but quiet enough to sleep well. The staff are fine too, very helpful and friendly enough. The room I was in was very small indeed, with just a waist -high swing door separating the sleeping area from the bathroom.

Breakfast was very simple, a choice between either yogurt, muesli and fruit, or scrambled egg, processed cheese slices, some kind of spam and toast. Coffee was fine. I don't think they serve any other kind of food, I didn't see a menu or anyone else eating whilst I was there.

The other guests were a mixture of couples, of various ages. plus one or two older European men entertaining young female companions. The price was not bad, but I paid cash and was never given receipts, so this might have something to do with it. They also insist that you pay at the beginning, rather than at the end of your stay.

Overall, not bad at a pinch, but think you can do better in Granada for the same price.

Room Tip: Some of the single rooms are very small, check them out before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wallace165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The hotel is located in a charming, old, fully renovated Spanish mansion just a few blocks walk from the main square. It felt perfectly safe for us to walk around the centre of the town at night.
We stayed in this hotel for three nights in a loft suite just off the main courtyard. The suite had decent size space. It could sleep up to four people. The main floor had two beds with good quality, crisp and clean linen, regular hotel furniture (night stands, chair, shelving, and cabinet), TV and private bathroom. The loft had a queen size bed and a nightstand. There was an A/C unit and ceiling fan on the main floor and additional floor fan in the loft. All furniture was of good quality. The suite was nicely designed and with quality finishes. Our private bathroom was new, clean and it only had a shower (c/w hot water). Our room and the hotel were very quiet. The hotel premises and our suite were very clean and cleaned daily.
The center courtyard has a nice cool Jacuzzi (not heated) surrounded with just enough foliage. It was perfect for cooling down after a hot day. The common grounds had very nice landscaping and provided relaxing atmosphere. The night club is no longer located in this building. It has been moved to a new location a couple of blocks away.
The restaurant/bar was, again, nicely decorated and had quality finishes. It served decent quality food and drinks at a good price. Our rate included breakfast. There was a good Wi-Fi on the premises.
All members of the staff, from the co-owner, receptions, and cleaning to the bar/restaurant staff were hospitable and did a great job. The co-owner was very helpful in organizing our tour. Most of the staff spoke English.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. El Club is a nice hotel at an excellent value. I can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We liked the loft suite off the main courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Not many good options in the area.In general terms the offer is poor in quality and services.The city is a very turistic place. Reseve in advance.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajerosdelsur53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The hotel is located at 3 frames from the center. Availability and very good reception. The rooms are clean and nice. We were very happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANCESCA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Hotel is located just beyond the central park area and very easy walking to main area. We walked at night and felt very safe. Rooms were clean, reasonably priced, air conditioned, quiet and rate included breakfast. There was a TV but we never tried to use it -- we were on vacation! Having limited Spanish language skills, the staff was still able to assist us with bus schedules and dining recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The pictures of this hotel on the internet do not convey what this hotel is really all about. Not only are the rooms small, some do not have a window in them, so it feels like you are imprisoned. Our bathroom was not clean and most of the furniture was falling apart. The breakfast was okay but the waitress was curt and her posturing told us that she did not like her job. We were so disappointed that although we had paid for 2 nights, we forfeited our second night and found another very nice hotel for roughly the same price.

Room Tip: The down stair rooms looked a little better, but the hotel lacks warmth that is so abundant in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#26 of 43 in Granada
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#33 of 43 in Granada
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Club

Property: Hotel El Club
Address: Calle La Libertad and Avenida Barricada, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Club 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel el Club is a unique hotel with an original composition of a casual style, comfort and coziness in an authentic colonial building from 1869. Centrally located near the center of Granada and easily accessible by car, our hotel is a good operating base for many interesting places nearby to visit. The pleasant atmosphere of our hotel invites you to a wonderful and relaxing stay. Visit us for an experience and a stay like never before. The staff of Hotel el Club gives you and your guests a hearty welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing