We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice !”
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed here for two nights during a tour in Nicaragua and Costa Rica.
Cuba Libre welcome drink at arrival !
Very nice hotel with a marvelous location directly on the main square of Granada. Colonial style.
Friendly staff, large rooms, well equipped and clean.
Had one diner on the terrace, good food and wine !
Nicaragua was well worth the visit !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alhambra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

We just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Alhambra. The hotel is located right on the main square (Central Park) of the colonial town of Granada and has a beautiful veranda with areas for both eating and relaxing. We stayed in room 309, which was quiet and spacious. It didn't have a balcony, but it has oversized windows that overlook the pool. The room was air-conditioned, which is a must if you want to sleep comfortably. The bathroom was large and the shower had great water pressure and hot water. But the best thing about the Alhambra was the ambience and the friendly staff. We enjoyed watching the world go by from the rocking chairs on the veranda, and Gabriel was very helpful and made suggestions for local tours. Just one caution -- there is no elevator and our room was on the 3rd floor. This was fine for us, but for someone with any disability or challenges with walking, it could be a problem. Overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Alhambra. Tip: we used Paxeos https://www6.mylimobiz.com/paxeos/reservations/login.asp to get to and from Granda -- they were incredibly reliable. You can reserve online before arrival, and the trip cost $30USD from Managua airport to Granda and $27USD back for two people. Be advised that the trip to and from Granda from Managua is a bit grim and takes just under an hour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GATraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stay here every time we come to Granada, on our way to and from San Juan del Sur / Managua. They are great for our young children and large family, with a nice pool, friendly restaurant, and no charge room service. Many rooms can accomodate 4+ people, and they offer adjoining rooms as well. Location cannot be beat, and their prices and referrals are very reasonable.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
2  Thank CarrieV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Arrived late after flying over from London and bell boy went out to buy a bottle of water for us as the hotel bar was closed. Room was a decent size overlooking the park and the beds were very comfortable. the shower was a bit basic. hotel has a colonial feel and the reception area is very welcoming. Breakfast was ok - great fresh fruit plate. Loved the rocking chairs on the veranda. Great city to wander around

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We only stayed 1 night in granada and the hotel was really nice. Alan was at the front desk and was just wonderful! We had a roomy room and hot water in the shower (traveling around for the month made me appreciate a hot shower). The room was fairly priced and we were able to walk around everywhere within a few minutes. The area is full of artesian jewelry makers and food vendors. Only thing unfortunate was that we only had 1 night in this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chillinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This is one of the stranger places I've stayed anywhere in the world. Facing the town square, it presents an elegant face with tiered patios leading up from the street and into an elegant lobby. The rooms were clean and not a bad size either though a smaller table and comfortable chair would have made for more comfort. The air conditioning was good, yet there was no overhead fan. The small patio overlooking the park was nice, yet the glass was single pane allowing for noise, especially from church bells at 5:30 AM to blast into the room.
The hotel provided absolutely no printed information other than a hotel brochure at the front desk, making it difficult to judge if there were amenities such as room service or a business center. Oh, there was a travel office connected to the lobby, closed for two hour lunches and busy with clients when open and the fact that few at the front desk were bilingual added to the problem.
When there was a wide blackout in the city, the hotel's back up generator came on in 15 minutes, yet it took four hours to replace the batteries in a dead TV remote. The maid collected the towels at 9 in the morning yet did not replace them until cleaning the room in the middle of the afternoon.
Dining staff was equally questionable. From one waiter I received some of the best service I've ever had yet I found others to be surley and unresponsive.
And finally I add the fact that the "pool" is a small water amenity stuck in the corner of an alcove off the lobby and open to the ski with two overstuffed chaises parallel to it. My swim truks were the only pieces of clothing not used on this trip.
And to top it off, my room never should have been let out during the time I was there. There was roof work going on starting at 8 AM for the first two days of my stay. The first desk clerk was anaware of any work being done, then turned and walked away. The second desk clerk I called after the air conditioning went out -- scheduled maintenance -- was concerned and offered to move me to another room which at 4:30 in the afternoon was too little, too late.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

The location is great and the hotel is beautiful. Very helpful staff and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank palermogirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing