We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with great service!”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with great service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and loved it the room and hotel and one of a kind, charming authentic spanish villa. The service was excellent. Definitely get the massage one of the best I ever had they come right to your room and were extremely professional and knowledgeable the massage therapist even realigned my back. I desperately needed to make a phone call from work and they allowed me to make a free call, nothing was a problem there I loved it and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed a week, then returned for 2 more days. My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet with lovely, fresh flowers. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable, willing to search when they didn't know the answer, good recommendations of where to eat and visit. Very friendly and gracious. Delicious breakfasts. I was sad to leave. I highly recommend this charming hotel located within walking distance to everyplace I went in Granada.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed two nights here at Casa San Francisco and was very satisfied. I had arranged for transportation from Managua to the hotel on my arrival into the country, and when my plane came in 3 hours late at 3am in the morning, our driver was there to greet us with a tired smile. The hotel was clean, and full of charm. The staff was especially kind, and really made an effort to make sure we were taken care of. I would stay here again in a second.
The only problem I had was the hot water wasn't working in my room. But after telling the front desk, someone had come to fix it within an hour. Unfortunately the water went from cool to luke warm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noturavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The attention to detail at this hotel was stunning. The rooms were beautifully decorated, as were the courtyards and common spaces. The view of Granada on the hotel's rooftop is almost unparalleled. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food served at the in-house restaurant was consistently delicious. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The place and the people were just so SWEET! I cannot recall receiving such warm service in any place at any time. We felt shy to ask for help at first, but after realizing how eager to help the staff were we really relaxed! They helped us find the best place to change money, called all around to make us our onward reservations, warmed the milk for our coffee, even watched our bags after we checked out so we could go check out the convent museum across the street before leaving Grenada (a must do small museum with native artifacts!).

Further travels around Nicaragua showed us what comparative luxury we had at Casa San Francisco as well. All though our room wasn't as spacious as some of the other places we stayed and my husband noticed that the TV was small, the charming details were by far superior - the bed was made up with lovely sheets and covers, we had hot water and Air, even the ceiling in our room was beautiful! And despite it all I felt like I could relax with my kids, it was a place where the staff smiled at them and did not just guard against them and the potential mess. The staff did a ton of our laundry and went to the trouble of soaking our socks overnight after we hiked Mombacho!

In fact, despite being so attentive, the staff were very relaxed and happy, they really seemed to like to work there. That made my stay seem all that much better! One afternoon we saw them attending what turned out to be English classes that the B&B offers the staff. Nice touch, in a country where so many are enemployed and so many employers seem to take advantage of that fact. They also seem to offer discounts to volunteers and others who are helping in the community. Special place.
All in all my whole family loved Casa San Francisco.

I recommend it to all who want a relaxed visit to Nicaragua, especially with family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Casa San Fracisco was a great place to stay in Granada. The staff was very pleasant and helpful and the on-site restaraunt food was delicios.

I also took 2 tours with their recomended guide, Giovanni that completely exceeded my expectations! He was knowledge and spoke great English, but also offered to provide me the tours in very well enunciated and slow Spanish once I shared with him that I was trying to practice my Spanish. All in all the stay was great and if you are looking for an opportunity to meet a local and learn about the history- political and cultural as well as the ecological I completely recomend Giovanni.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnikishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Casa San Francisco was an adorable Inn with a lovely courtyard, small pool, breezy terrace and lots of pets-squirrel, parrots, and turtles. The breakfast included was delicious. The owner was very helpful when I was planning my trip and gave advice about other places in Nicaragua. It was on a quiet street away from the crowded city square. It was a nice find. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing