We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town.”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Nothing in Granada exceeds the charm, beauty and peace of the hotel Casa San Francisco. The staff form one warm family, dedicated to making their guests feel very much at home.The food is of the highest standard in Nicaragua, and compares most favourably internationally

The hotel San Francisco is a haven for interesting people from all over the world. It provides a unique combination of privacy when required, and fascinating sociability.

As a senior member of the United Nations, I have travelled all over the world, and always sought a hotel like the San Francisco. Often disappointed, but never so in Grenada.

The San Francisco is one of the most special small hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RALPH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 713 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2008

I agree with almost everything in the previous reviews, so I'll try to keep it short.

I stayed for a week, the first two nights in one of the $45 rooms (which are an incredible value), followed by five more in a $65 room. I had to change rooms because I'd foolishly said "two nights" when I arrived, and somebody else had booked the inexpensive room in the meantime. My fault, but it didn't matter; both rooms were great; the more expensive one was just a bit more so (bigger, etc.).

I loved the parrots (one large, two small) which had the run of the place; they were quite entertaining. I never saw them caged (as mentioned in a previous review), and I never heard any noise from them at night (per another review). This is probably because Terry, the owner, reads these reviews (Hi Terry!) and fine-tunes things as needed. Charlie, the big parrot, goes home on her shoulder at night and she brings him back in the morning, so he wakes *her* up with his early-morning racket instead of waking the guests. Now that's considerate.

One reviewer mentioned having only two breakfast choices. That wasn't the case for me; I had run of the menu, and I loved the huevos rancheros. Perhaps that was another bit of fine-tuning.

Speaking of food, the restaurant must be one of the best in Granada. Try it on your first night and see what I mean; you might end up having most of your meals there, as I did. World-class gourmet food.

There's one other thing worth mentioning that I couldn't find out about in advance - the hotel does have Wi-Fi. It's in the common areas, and also in the annex around the corner. I was so glad to have this, especially when I wasn't expecting it.

Excellent all around!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Casa San Francisco in late October / early November. It really set the standard for the rest of our trip. Terry, the owner, and all of her staff were great. All extremely friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and completely helpful with anything that came up.

We stayed in the 'Annex' portion of the hotel which was like an oasis in the middle of the city. The pool in the central courtyard is a godsend after a day of checking out the local sights. I really can't imagine staying anywhere more comfortable or inviting. The hotel and annex are only a couple of blocks off of the central square, so you really can't ask for a better location.

A great breakfast at the hotel is included with the room, so every day starts out on a good note. The restaurant serves excellent food all day.

I can't recommend Casa San Francisco highly enough. You feel like family as soon as you walk in the door and the sincere hospitality and personal attention never cease.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gpg_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We just returned from our first trip to Granada, Nicaragua. We discovered the Casa San Francisco in the Lonely Planet book although it was listed as a top end price hotel when in fact it was the same price as the mid-range hotels. We originally booked 2 nights and loved our large room with a private balcony with a fantastic breakfast included for $65 a night. We especially enjoyed the small pool to help cool off after sight-seeing in and around Granada. The hotel offers a wonderful variety of tours around Granada for very reasonable prices. We took a boat ride around the isletas on Lake Nicaragua (we loved Monkey Island where one of the monkeys actually joined us on board so that we could feed her bananas and grapes). Taxi, Boat, tour guide for 1 1/2 hr. was only $15 @.!! We also took the wonderful Volucan Mombacho tour including a canopy zip-line tour - a MUST See and Do tour if you visit Granada !! We also recommended the hotel to some other Americans that we met on Corn Island and they booked 2 nights at Casa S. F which they raved about as well. We wound up booking our last night again at Casa San Francisco (in a smaller but very nice room for only $45) and had dinner at their newly re-opened restaurant - the meal was the best that we had while in Nicaragua !! We loved the very friendly and pretty much English speaking staff. They were all so warm and helpful. We also loved being enterained in the courtyard by the parrot, Charlie, the parakeet type love birds, the turtle, the iguana and the random dog that came in off the street for a drink of water.!! Next time we hope to book the Annex (with the large pool) and bring some friends from home. Thank you for a great base to enjoy Granada! Gaye and John, Indianapolis

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Nice staff and Clean hotel. Excellent value.

Thank halphillips2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We started our trip off in Granada and Casa San Francisco set the standard that we experienced every where we went. The staff were so helpful throughout our stay- providing not only great service but also acting as tour guides during their time off. The rooms were very comfortable with modern conveiniences and the hotel is laid out around a couple of picturesque courtyards. The hotel provides a great breakfast to get you started in the morning (the coffee is great!). The hotel is located in the central area of town and so you are within walking distance of much of the local sights. Granada is a beautiful town and the people are so friendly. It felt very safe to walk around at night time and there are some great restaurants near by. The hotel also serves great food and has a nice bar where you can relax after a day of sightseeing.. The owners are very friendly and will provide you with fantastic hospitality. Also the parrots in the court yard a highly entertaining, all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PML_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed three days in Granada at Casa San Francisco and loved it. At first we were disappointed to hear we would not be in the main hotel building, that our room was in the annex. There was no need to be disapointed. The annex could be its on little hotel. It is just around the corner on a side street. The rooms are situated around an inner courtyard with a large pool, tropical plants and flowers. There is a functional community kitchen, two sitting areas and a small library. We enjoyed the privacy. Breakfast is included and served in the main hotel. We shared ours with the wonderful pet birds (Charlie and Peeps) who hang around the courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mich8261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $63 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing