We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place That Takes Care Of You”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Place That Takes Care Of You”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've stayed at Plaza Colon and at Gran Francia, several times each, but this time chose Casa San Francisco ... and I'm really, really glad that I did. The others are very good places, comfortable, great location, full of colonial charm. But to me, CSF tops them all with the personal attention that makes you feel like a true guest, a welcome friend. I was leading a small group and wanted a place that had the charm and comfort of the others, but I also had many questions and needed CSF's help in arranging things -- transportation to/from Managua, restaurant suggestions, directions, a late checkout, etc. Every question was answered, every bit of help was offered. They genuinely seemed to care about each one of us and wanted our visit to be a success -- which it was. Quiet, comfortable and very special. Thanks, CSF, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbchrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed 6 nights in late January and really enjoyed this boutique hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly front desk team of Claudia and Maria. We had early departure on our last day and a taxi was arranged by them for a 6:15 pickup. The ladies even arranged some yoghurt and granola to help us on our way! Breakfast each morning was well done with lots of fresh fruit,etc, and coffee/tea as requested. Good bar and afternoon tapas. Very good value and would definitely recommend for singles or couples. Great location only 2-3 blocks from many activities, including central park, restaurants and of course Calle Calzada where all the evening activities are - people watching, food and beverages, street musicians. Great job Terry and Nancy (owners)!

Room Tip: We had room#1, upstairs and enjoyed its ambience - semi open-air shower with total privacy. Rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCCanuck30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really loved our stay at Casa San Francisco. The hotel is centrally located, immaculate, and very welcoming. Terry (the owner), Maria, Claudia and staff are cheerful, and extremely helpful. The hotel also features Granada's number 1 rated restaurant Bocadillos open Thursday through Monday.
We left feeling like we were leaving old friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent four nights at Casa San Francisco, and the experience was everything we hoped for. From the warm welcome to the last goodbye, everyone at this gem of a place was kind and helpful. Our room was darling, and the place really is a restored colonial gem. The breakfast was solid, if simple, and in the evenings, the Bocadillos restaurant opens up and offers delicious cocktails and exquisite little plates of food. We highly recommend this place for style, comfort and value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the courtyard, pool, food, and room. I traveled with a party of 6 individuals, each having our own rooms, and we were delighted with everything. Our evening meal of Tapas prepared and served by a lovely couple who run the restaurant was served to us on the roof of the hotel, outdoors. The weather and atmosphere were delightful. The food was unique and delicious.

I slept on the most comfortable mattress ever and had a wonderful night's sleep. The employees are so friendly and helpful too. What a refreshing change from large US chain hotels! All in all, it made our stay in Granada a memorable one.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are close to pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Casa San Francisco was our first place to stay in Nicaragua. We arrived late but were efficiently and graciously welcomed. The hotel is peaceful place with comfortable rooms in a beautiful renovated old building. The staff are really excellent and fluent in English helping us with information about Granada, local tours and ongoing travel arrangements. We loved the rooftop area with its great views over Granada. Terry the co-owner was around a lot helping to enhance the warm and friendly vibe of the place. A wonderful way to start a trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were two couples traveling in Nicaragua and stayed here for our three nights in Granada. Sweet. There are a limited number of rooms making for an intimate atmosphere. The lobby and bar, the dining area, the small pool area and other public places are tastefully done - folk art and antiques mostly and not a bit of glitz. The rooms are modest and comfortable with good beds and pillows and decent showers. The tapas restaurant, operated by others as Bocadillos, is perfect in this setting. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAShaening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing