We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent four nights at Casa San Francisco, and the experience was everything we hoped for. From the warm welcome to the last goodbye, everyone at this gem of a place was kind and helpful. Our room was darling, and the place really is a restored colonial gem. The breakfast was solid, if simple, and in the evenings, the Bocadillos restaurant opens up and offers delicious cocktails and exquisite little plates of food. We highly recommend this place for style, comfort and value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 708 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the courtyard, pool, food, and room. I traveled with a party of 6 individuals, each having our own rooms, and we were delighted with everything. Our evening meal of Tapas prepared and served by a lovely couple who run the restaurant was served to us on the roof of the hotel, outdoors. The weather and atmosphere were delightful. The food was unique and delicious.

I slept on the most comfortable mattress ever and had a wonderful night's sleep. The employees are so friendly and helpful too. What a refreshing change from large US chain hotels! All in all, it made our stay in Granada a memorable one.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are close to pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Casa San Francisco was our first place to stay in Nicaragua. We arrived late but were efficiently and graciously welcomed. The hotel is peaceful place with comfortable rooms in a beautiful renovated old building. The staff are really excellent and fluent in English helping us with information about Granada, local tours and ongoing travel arrangements. We loved the rooftop area with its great views over Granada. Terry the co-owner was around a lot helping to enhance the warm and friendly vibe of the place. A wonderful way to start a trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were two couples traveling in Nicaragua and stayed here for our three nights in Granada. Sweet. There are a limited number of rooms making for an intimate atmosphere. The lobby and bar, the dining area, the small pool area and other public places are tastefully done - folk art and antiques mostly and not a bit of glitz. The rooms are modest and comfortable with good beds and pillows and decent showers. The tapas restaurant, operated by others as Bocadillos, is perfect in this setting. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAShaening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I just returned from an 8-night stay at Casa San Francisco. The entire staff were wonderful to us -- answering all questions, arranging excursions, providing extra services, giving good advice, etc. Lovely people and conveniently located. We felt safe and welcome at all times. The staff and food of Bocadillos in the evening were also great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeSpeyrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel San Fran for a week while visiting the area and going to a wedding in the city center that was two blocks away. It was an enjoyable experience as the room was large with a bathroom with a walk- in shower, balcony, and air conditioning. Breakfast downstairs at 7 to 10am that is part of the arrangements or you can pay for a larger selection that is not necessary. They have about 10 rooms that were all full and we met other travelers at breakfast to share ideas as where to visit. The staff was always gracious and the owners were there each day for info. They had a clerk at the front 24/7 for your convince. A small bar with tapas was available from about 3pm to when the last customer leaves. We always felt safe. Our visit was January 2014.Good People.
Gary and Lorraine Benke

Room Tip: We were upstairs with a balcony and heard no noises during the night. $85 which included breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDB82845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is better than any of the pictures can show. It is what Granada is all about. The hotel is so beautiful. It is a quaint hotel with so many sides to it. First, the reception area with the bar to the left makes you feel very welcomed, Next the dining area with such nice atmosphere. The hall way going into the poll area. Upstairs is patio with a secluded wall for privacy. You cant tell it by the pictures but there is room for a least 16 people. The owners could not of done a better job with this place. It is absolutely perfect! First time I've ever felt that way. The restaurant inside is called Bocdllos and is just as good as the hotel. Way to go. Also, One block always from main square. Can not beat this location.

Room Tip: If you want to be right in front of pool stay done stairs. Want to be above pool and more private go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $50 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing