We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Granada”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“An excellent place to stay in Granada”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a lovely, beautiful, well-run little boutique hotel with the warmest, friendliest hosts you could wish for. The location is perfect (a few blocks from the center of town), the rooms are very sweet and clean, It's quiet,with good air conditioners, a lovely outdoor garden/patio area, and a very good recently opened tapas restaurant. The people running the front desk, Elena and Claudia, are the friendliest, nicest, most helpful staff you would every want. Sit on the roof patio and gaze at Volcan Masaya - you'll be glad you chose this place. It's a gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location 1 block from the center of the action. Close enough to go at will yet far enough to be away from the crazyness. Super cozy place, rustic, clean. Excellent value for this price point. Great drinks at the bar, and food served is worth staying in for. Will be my goto place anytime in Grenada.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planet_aple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our stay at Casa San Francisco really started our trip off right. The staff was wonderful, the location was perfect and the hotel was beautiful and very clean! Claudia helped us arrange several tours and was extremely helpful! Thank you for a wonderful stay Casa SF!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godzucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Casa San Francisco for 8 nights in November, 2013. We shared a room with 2 twin beds on the second level. The hotel was absolutely the best! The room was lovely, extremely clean, modern and comfortable, and quiet. Air conditioner worked perfectly. The grounds were great - a series of small courtyards and a cute little pool with towels and chairs to relax. There's also a nice courtyard on the roof where you can sit and read, and stare at Volcan Masaya. The breakfasts (included in the rate) were delicious - eggs, fresh fruit (all safe to eat because they were melons, pineapple, bananas, etc.), oatmeal, toast, coffee. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (special thanks to Claudia for all her help). They spoke English very well and helped us with directions, taxis, etc. The location was perfect - two blocks to the central park where there are restaurants, stores, horse and carriage rides, etc. The hotel recently opened a tapas-type restaurant on its premises. We ate there one night and the food was some of the best we had in Granada! It was even delivered to our room! We felt very safe walking around the area at all times. We really loved our stay at Casa San Francisco and enthusiastically recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and overlooking the pool. It was very quite. But the entire hotel se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very comfortable room (#4) with a small balcony overlooking a quiet, lush courtyard with a pool the perfect size for a cool off after a day of sightseeing. Location couldn't be better.
They just started doing bar snacks in the evening and, to my surprise and delight, she made the dishes vegan for me! How's that for service!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything was great from the pool side room to the breakfast to the wonderful staff. Meeting both owners, sisters, was a great treat. Claudia was absolutely fantastic. Great stay!!!!! We will be back. Thanks San Francisco!!!!!!!
Excellent location too. Two blocks from the main square on a quiet street.
Rooftop Terrace as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my second visit to Casa de San Francisco. Since my last visit, the restaurant has closed (sadly). However breakfast is still served by a friendly staff. Coffee and warm milk is brought to your table (I do this at home, so this is a very nice touch).

Thanks to Maria, Claudia, and Helena for all the helpful suggestions and phone calls made when we needed it. I speak a little Spanish, and they were very kind and helpful - in putting up with my Spanish, and helping in English!

The good news is that La Bocadilla will be opening in early December, and I was fortunate to be present during the Day of the Dead celebration that Nancy Bergman (one of the owners) always puts on. The owners of the Bocadilla were there to provide the food and drinks that will be part of their menu at the Casa de San Francisco. The Watermelon drink is HIGHLY recommended as are the bocadillas (like tapas).

I highly recommend this hotel and give it all the stars available. Love this place and the staff! Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Granada.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikakevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing