We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprize”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Being in Nicaraqua I did expect to find a decent place due to the local politics, but i was wrong. . Delightful, pretty, good staff, etc. It simply had the right 'feel'. We would have liked to have stayed longer but...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 708 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not only did I find a great city to visit in Granada, but I found the perfect place to stay. I loved my three day stay at Casa San Francisco. I will definitely be back. The hospitality was excellent, the staff was wonderful, the rooms very comfortable, and the food was top notch. I highly recommend their vegetarian sandwich. I think I had 6 within 2 days. And great conversation with the resident parrots, Charlie and Baby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazydogdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and very much enjoyed the small hotel, nice grounds and pool. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms and it was smaller and darker than some others we peeked into, but it still had a nice little balcony and AC. The staff was great and so helpful with whatever we asked for. The walk to the main plaza was only 2 blocks and we always felt safe, no matter the time of day or night. Each day included a free breakfast of either fruit, or eggs and toast and a beverage.
My only negative comment is regarding the cleanliness of the shower. Although overall it appeared clean, there was a LARGE glob of long hair blocking the water from draining. It looked as if it had not been removed for quite a while. I easily removed it, so either the maid didn't notice it in the dim light, or didn't clean the shower appropriately. Oh yes and loud parrots at 6am, but that was OK, I can't get that at home.
The on-site restaurant for lunch and dinner is a bit overpriced for the amount of food received, but meals are presented beautifully. We also found many great places to eat within a couple blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_monster_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After a Medical trip to Nicaragua with Project Cure we were able to relax for the week-end in Granada. The Casa was so inviting. I Botique hotel with only nine rooms, was quaint and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and with lovely amenities, air conditioning, fans,cable TV, and very comfortable bedding. The included breakfast was a a full breakfast, not just juice and cereal. I would give the staff very high marks in their service, and the pool was so refreshing on a hot day.This is a wonderful respite. Tara Leary was very friendly and around to answer any questions. we had a great time staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

LOVE this place! Besides the quite (very important in Granada) and convenient location, the comfortable beds, roomy bedrooms and delicious food the customer service quality from everyone of the staff members and Terry, the owner, was spectacular! This is our third time staying at Casa San Francisco, can't imagine staying anywhere else in Granada. Thanks for everything Terry and the entire staff at CSF, look forward to seeing you again soon. BTW..please give say, 'hello' to Charlie and Baby.
Hugs,
The Nunez Family

Room Tip: We did not have reservations but were lucky to be quickly accommodated in one of the smaller rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legna568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the annex one night, and two other rooms in the main hotel. They kept bumping us around for whatever reason, but it wasn't that much of a hassle. Overall, I think this hotel made a great option for a lower price than some of the more popular places along the parque central.

The hotel itself was nice. The breakfast was a tad small, but we found the location of the hotel to be great. There's a nice parking garage on the same block (staffed by an old man and his grandkids) that only costs 2$ a night.

The rooms are simple, all with suicide showers. I would actually recommend the annex as long as you don't have the room with the separate bathroom (we did). It is nice back there, even if slightly less convenient.

The staff were helpful and called ahead for us when we wanted to kayak las isletas. It's only a short walk to the parque central and some other attractions, as well as a great cafe (the garden cafe) that is just a few blocks southeast.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel even though we got bounced around from room to room. It also makes for an easy dinner one night, b/c it's one of the better restaurants in town

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Walker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here the end of August. We found it on Trip Advisor and it exceeded all expectations. They arranged transportation for us from the airport. Our flight was over an hour late, but our driver (Doskar) was there waiting for us. He spoke good english and was kind, considerate and a good driver! When we got to the hotel, it was late, but we were greeted with food and drink. Our room was wonderful! Doskar took us for a day trip and then also took us to San Juan del Sur - I can't say enough about him. Terry, one of the hotel owners, welcomed us as if we were old friends. Claudia and Franklin were amazing. My heart is full. We will be back. Thank you to all at Casa San Francisco!

Room Tip: The food is delicious! There is a breakfast included, but it's not the "full" breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klorince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#6 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $50 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing