We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is a gem; beautiful architecture, spacious rooms, great location. The entire staff was just wonderful, special mention goes to Mrs. Claudia Mora and the reception staff. We stayed at the hotel for a family wedding and I must say, everything was perfect! The hotel provided the perfect backdrop for that Old World, romantic feel the bride and groom were looking for. And the food was delicious!!! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    124
    26
    5
    16
See reviews for
107
148
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's no secret an longer - we all want to end up in Granada! I read the NY Times article (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/11/greathomesanddestinations/11nica.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0) and decided to see for myself. I found what I was looking for here at La Gran Francia.

What I want when I travel is to see the best of a culture, which turns out to be the things that have survived time itself. This hotel has been meticulously (obviously meticulously) restored and, is maintained, with an aura of respect for the past, the real.

If you don't know Nicaraguan cuisine, then you will discover it here - and it will make a lasting grand impression on you. You have to have the gallo pinto!

This is an escape from all that that stresses you. A real escape. Never felt more relaxed in my life,

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on the second floor - for the view. The junior suites are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kontrologer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I loved the spacious rooms and the fact that they were also very clea, to me that is a must no matter where i stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also made my experience a very pleasant one. It was nice to finally visit a place i have only read about. I will definitely be back .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank China F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at La Gran Francia for three nights last November. The hotel was very nice, beatiful architechture.
Great location in Granada
The staff was helpfull overall and the food was good
Wonderful experience in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adiela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The beautiful architecture only added to our wonderful experience at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and the beds quite comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. For breakfast we were able to order anything off the menu and it was quite tasty. Dinner at the restaurant was scrumptious and well priced for the area. I have stayed in numerous hotels in Granada and place this one high on my list of pleasant stays. For a very quiet room, I recommend the bottom floor on the inside. Instead of a balcony you will have a small outside terrace but no road noise.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

As fans of Shah know, with his increasing age he has come to love old things. That's why he really loved this hotel. The doorman claimed the building was 500 years old. Although that is not true, it is truly an old gem with a beautiful layout, antique furniture everywhere, and an old-world charm that fits in so nicely with the colonial atmosphere of Granada. The hotel is located just off the central square and so everything is right there at your footsteps.

As wonderful as the building is, what pulls this hotel down are some of the service-related factors. The breakfast, for example, is rather horrible. While true that Nicaraguan food (like that of the rest of Central America) is nothing to write home about, the hotel really does its guests a disservice by making a mess of the regular easy stuff. Shah's kids were unhappy.

Other things that were annoying were the Wi-fi (slow), hot water (intermittent) and the bathroom. Shah does need a good flush and it was unfortunate for his family that this was not the case. And finally, it would be good if more of the staff members spoke better English. Those working in the hospitality industry in Nica really do need to address this important issue. Major hotels like this in important tourist locations should lead the way.

Shah Rukh says: This hotel is a really good choice but be aware of some of its drawbacks as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah_Rukh_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Decided to have our last meal here. We were the only people and there were 3 waiters. The buffet, which initially they said was all that was available, was extremely limited. Not to mention that the gallo pinto and bacon were extremely dry. That said, the service was terrible. We waited 15 minutes for the check to arrive. It is no wonder that there were no hotel guests eating. The restaurant said they only had the buffet available on Sundays, so I would stay away on Sundays.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#18 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#17 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing