We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed July 26, 2012

You will enjoy this hotel with the balcony over the street, the huge rooms with big closets and large elegant bathroom, the art along the walls, and the restaurant right across the street that conveniently serves you breakfast. Ok, the breakfast needed help. But it came with the room, so it got us started. It wasn't great. But the space was! In a courtyard garden, colonial and artistic. It has a great outdoor seating area upstairs where you can overlook the street intersection, loads of fun. But you can go there regardless of whether you are staying in the hotel. The hotel had nice, firm mattresses and great sheets, excellent towels and was generally just lovely. The fancy hotels on the square just didn't have the same appeal at all.

Room Tip: Take a colonial room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aikidomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 486 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just came home from a trip to Nicaragua. Unfortunately we only got to stay here for one night. The rooms are adorable and very comfortable. The food was the best that I ate on my entire trip. Everything that was put in front of me I ate (and I didn't do that the entire trip). The staff was also extremely quick, efficient and nice. They also make great drinks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strkd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

3 points people should know about Granada Nicaragua:

Good for busman's holiday (under 1000---miles to travel, dollars needed)

3rd World expectations, with great Spanish Colonial architecture

Country has little prejudices, particularly of race. They have greater worries, such as famine, earthquakes, hurricanes, volcanoes, and filthy politics.



3 favorite sights/moments of trip

Friendly, smiles along with eagerness to help, chatter

Spanish 17th c. Colonial architecture

The smell of El Zaguan restaurant's sizzling steaks ( and we are not a big carnivores)



3 unfavorable sights/moments

Alone at night in the central park---mugging could take place, and I was warned!

Latino sloppiness--plastic bag throw a-ways

Temperature--hot in noontime sun



Cost:

Airfare for Rita and I as airline employees. Miami to Managua roundtrip coach via Houston $60.00 each in coach, $230 each in First

class

Hotel: 3 star ( for info, none are higher here) $100 double per night at Hotel La Gran Francia. Other comparable were same.

Food: anything we wanted--under $100 a day. Breakfast included in above hotel
Beverages: wine and beer and bottled water about $50 a day

Entertainment: Sightseeing buggy ride $15:00 per hour's ride ($5.00 for tip to driver to and horses)

Boat ride on Lake Nicaragua (a must) $50.00 for two hours including transfers from hotel. ($10.00 tips)

Souvenirs: One crocodile leather belt ($20) for Larry

One marble? sculpture of "Fat Nude Nicaraguan Chic" on stomach 11"long x 5"wide x 7" tall ($45:00)

Transportation: $120, including tips. Long Haul taxi to and from airport (30 kilometers) $60.00 each way

Tips/gratuities: Clerks, Bellmen, breakfast waiter staff, front desk-concierge (which we used a lot): $30.00



Many locals travel here to go to the lake. Also a lot of other central Americans from Costa Rica, San Salvador and Honduras
Best to reserve hotel and restaurant El Zaguan



A real pleasant holiday close to home, but with mucho foreign flavor. Am looking at Belize in a couple of weeks. Also would like to take a bus from Managua to Tegucigalpa on to Belize or San Salvador!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same. Street balcony rooms are even quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hospitality was amazing. The staff went above and beyond - not only telling us the best places to go, but hailing our taxi and being specific with the driver ! The food was amazing, the service beyond friendly, the accommodations relaxing, and the ambience authentic. Loved the open atrium ! We recommend this to ALL !!

Room Tip: The suites are roomy and restful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Loved stayed at La Gran Francia. It is a beautifully decorated hotel and their staff was attentive and friendly. Our room had a wonderful balcony overlooking a quiet street in Granada. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelFrontera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is a perfectly restored villa with all the modern amenities and friendly, helpful service a busy traveler requires.The concierge/attendants went out of their way to make arrangements for transportaiton, reservations, tours, etc.. It has a soothing, restful environment with an inviting pool in the centre of the hotel atrium. The rooms are well appointed, clean, spacious and cool . Our room was quiet and had a balcony with a side view of the central square. The restaurant included an excellent free breakfast. Dining was available either indoors or in a beautiful garden/patio. We also ate several lunches and dinners that were delicious, reasonably priced, and exquisitely presented with a touch of elegance that included local flower arrangements. The servers were attentive and very courteous. We have no reservations in highly recommending this hotel and restaurant.
Dr. Stephen (and Jeannie) Menaldino, M.D.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing stay. The food was fantastic and the location was perfect. The friendly staff went out of their way to help with anything. The beers at the bar were always ice cold. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $69 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing