We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location in Granada”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Granada is the most beautiful and interesting city to visit in Nicaragua.
Colonial architecture , friendly people, nightlife, music.
Don't miss a boat ride to discover Lale Nicaragua and some of its 356 "isletas" {islands}

Hotel" La Gran Francia" was an old colonial house, well preserved, located in city center.
I have stayed in better similar hotels in Merida and San Cristobal de las Casas in Mexico, Antigua in Guatemala, even in Merida Venezuela.
I was given a room, close to a noisy electric machine so I had a very bad night.
The poor breakfast next morning didn't help me at all.
But after the boat ride around Lake Nicaragua and the city tour on horse carriages
I forgot everything

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    126
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
113
150
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We have just returned from a 4-night stay. Gran Francia is lovely and charming, and extremely well-located. It can easily move up from 4 stars to 5 stars with a few service-related improvements: hot water available in the early evening, more towels in the bathroom, wifi that covers all the rooms, breakfast that doesn't take well over an hour, and a more interested and engaged front desk staff.

We had been warned that the service at Gran Francia was not the best so we were not disappointed. And the beauty of the hotel and our room made up for the inconveniences above. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

My husband, 22 yr old daughter and her boyfriend stayed for two nights, one of which was my 50th birthday. This is a beautiful colonial building with large style, comfortable, clean rooms. We had an issue the first day with the a/c not working and it was extremely hot. We reported it a second time and still was not fixed. The next day we reported the issue again and they moved us to another room. The a/c was also not working in this room. We were moved to two more rooms after that. A little frustrating as we were trying to get ready to go out for a birthday dinner. The manager came to our room at the last room and tried to offer us a gift for all the trouble. We settled on drinks at the bar. However, they surprised us at the bar with another gift (for the birthday girl) and asked me to please accept. The next day the general manager had arrived from Spain and came directly over to our breakfast table to apologize for such an inconvenience. She was extremely professional and wanted to be sure that we did not leave their hotel unhappy. We would go back again and highly recommend their hotel and dining room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Griswolds3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

A/C didn't bring the room below 80 degrees-They said they were fixing it. Later, they said that it was working despite our complaints. Torn and stained towels, broken lamp. Lots of the staff speaks English. They say yes and do nothing to deal with the problem. We know that this hotel has a good reputation but we don't know why.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forevertraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I've stayed at La Gran Francia for two years in a row with our Board of Directors for our Annual Meeting. The hotel is lovely and quaint, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. A big plus is their conference facilities. Traveling with a group for a meeting to a developing country can be stressful, particularly when you need to rely on microphones, a screen, computer hookups for presentations, etc. The services at La Gran Francia have been excellent. They haven't missed a thing and they were willing to set everything up so we could test things the night before. And it's a great space with character as well – not just your average austere hotel facility. The whole group has been very happy with their stays there. This time we had some trouble with hot water for showers, which they were able to fix. You may want to emphasize that hot water is important to you when you sign in (-; The place provides a really nice regional breakfast in a courtyard space. But our 1 experience in the restaurant for dinner was very poor. Eat at El Zaguan or the Garden Cafe instead. Oh – and I always suggest bringing earplugs when traveling! If there's roadwork, church or it's a weekend night ... you will hear it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I visited Granada after the bar exam and stayed at the hotel (a Nicaraguan friend's recommendation) for few days. The rooms are beautiful, rustic with incredible attention to detail, spacious and air-conditioned. The staff was so friendly and accomodating, which was great because we arrived fairly late. The breakfast was typical of the area, not anything fancy, but definitely yummy. Our room also had a cute little patio overlooking the plaza, which was really nice in the morning. We had dinner at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel once, and it was great! We would have come back for another dinner, but we wanted to check out other places. I highly recommend it for an authentic and a little more upscale and elegant meal. An added bonus is the history of the hotel. I think it was a former French duke's home and even has an old prison now used as a bar. The upstairs has a wrap-around balcony that overlooks the plaza and you can have cocktails up there and do some people watching. Not sure about internet--i dont bring computers when i travel for fun....but i remember seeing people with them in the lobby. The restaurant is located right next to the hotel and both are owned by the same people. We loved it so much we will be visiting again next January. I also hightly recommend having vigoron (yuca, chicharron, and vinegary salad) and cacao in the plaza at La gata's (just a little hut). we loved it and no one got sick. ask about it at the hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gata1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2011

What can I say this place is 100% Amazing!!! I give it 5 Stars and thats only because I can't give it 10 stars. Not only is the hotel very beautiful with very spacious clean rooms and located in the perfect place in the center of town. Not only is the hotel way under priced, with a complete feeling of being totally safe but the staff is amazing, they remember your name and all your preferences. They anticipate your needs and exceed all of your expectations, they know every place in town to go for food or play.(It was about 2 hours before my best friends wedding, I pulled my all white lien suit of of my suit bag for the all white wedding theme, only to find it was very crushed from traveling, I franticly ran to the front desk then realized, I had no idea how to say "can you please press my suit?" in Spanish, as I gave my best impression of pressing a suit the front desk guy smile and said in perfect English "don't worry Mr. Collins,we can press your suit as he motion for a young lady in hotel uniform to come over, she took my suit and assure me it would be back in time for the all white wedding. Completely relieved, I walked across the park to a near by hotel where some of the other wedding party were staying.When I returned about 30 min later as I entered the hotel the front desk gentleman said Mr. Collins, your suit is in your room. Unbelievable I thought that's what you call service.) We also had a dinner party next door at their restaurant for over 40 ppl the food was delicious service was immaculate and all drinks poured over filtered ice. I couldn't imagine staying at a different hotel the next time I am there...Make sure you ask for the hotel manager she is great and runs a hotel where to say that they aim to please and exceed your expectations would be an understatement.THEY GO WAY ABOVE AND BEYOND!!!! I love this place so as the titled stated "THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE"

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#19 of 43 in Granada
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing