We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in Nicaragua !!!”

Espressonista Specialty Coffeebar and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 165 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Modern environment in a neoclassical property constructed in 1886. We've forged a relationship with Nicaragua's best coffee producers to provide you with an excellent cup. High altitude, shade grown boutique crops yield coffees with a crisp and balanced acidity, roundness, sweetness and rich chocolate-like brews. These farmers know what they do. The poetry is ever intended at Espressonista. On your table we serve local, slightly smoked ham. The brie, the camembert and manchego are also from Masatepe and Matagalpa. Organic lettuce, baby asparagus and other greens from Ticuantepe. Chez nous, we know where everything comes from. We bake our own pastries and breads, make our own ice creams, brew our own beer. We love food, drink and good company. Join us!
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Nicaragua !!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great coffee, great people ! La Marzocco coffee machines ! Nice pastries too. Really lovely experience ! I hope I can visit you again soon. Hi from switzerland !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank fdecroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    49
    21
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hmm, I don´t really know where to start, but what a relief to find a good cafe. I mean one of those nice places that have the goods and looks all together?

Coffee is very good, but not a lot of people actually know that it´s close to impossible to get that kind of quality in the country, so I´m not going to blab about that. But trust me - there are no other places in Nicaragua where you can get it.

I like the cake counter..mm.that stuff there was delicious!

The design of the place is great, with interesting pieces and a good eye, but you don´t feel awkward, even when you´re not in your "city gear". There´s an interesting little shop in the back, with good linien clothes and accessories.

The service is attentive and patient, even if your companion (in your mind) is giving them a headache, and it´s friendly.

Why do people say it´s off the beaten path or far? ...It´s some blocks from the central park, but it´s on the Xalteva Real street that has one of the most beautiful and representative architecture that you´d like to see anyway in Granada, right?

Well, for the sake of balance, I should pop something negative here too - openining times fluctuate a bit, or a bit more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paragon_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent brownies and coffee - off the beaten track”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

While strolling on Xalteva Street, take the time to go as far as Iglesia Xalteva which is worth seeing. Just across the street from the Church, you will find Espressonista an excellent stop if you want a fresh juice, a glass of wine, an espresso or a light meal. You have a sweet tooth ? they have a good choice of desserts. Go for the banana brownies... simply delicious ! All their homemade fresh breads are scrumptious. The decor is.chic and the service is attentive. There a few inviting chairs outside the Café.
Take the opportunity to admire the very nice murales hidden a minute's walk away.
At the time I was there, Espressonista was closed on Monday and Tuesday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres L, Owner at Espressonista Specialty Coffeebar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Diane,

We miss having you over Sunday afternoons.
By far the best part of our joy is looking after savvy travellers like yourself.
We hope to see you and your lovely friend again when you are back in Nicaragua.
We certainly enjoyed having you here with us.

Andres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, food and atmosphere. Don't miss it.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is not too be missed. It's off the beaten tourist path, but not far from the city center. There is wonderful food and service and you don't have anyone trying to sell you pottery or cigarettes every few minutes. The atmosphere is relaxing and the coffee and service from Andres is wonderful. I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must stop if you are in Granada.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Walking down the street needing water, we popped in to get a bottle to go. We ended up staying for several hours sampling some fantastic coffee and amazing food. The gazpacho was freshly made on order and some of the best I have ever had. The service by Andres was exceptional. He went out of his way to make sure everything was the best it could be. The atmosphere is very inviting and comfortable away from the main tourism area which made the experience even more relaxing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espressonista Specialty Coffeebar and Restaurant also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Espressonista Specialty Coffeebar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing