We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the eaten track with Jessica”

Buen Viaje Day Tours
Ranked #15 of 45 Tours in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our custom and small group tours are perfect for travelers seeking natural beauty, a cultural experience, and adventure. You’ll meet people who live, work, and play in the places we visit. We'll visit their homes and communities. You'll learn about Nicaragua from the inside out, through the voices of its people, its complex history, and rich culture. In addition to our organic style of travel, we contribute to community-based, locally-run organizations working towards a better future for all Nicaraguans. This commitment allows us to develop long-term relationships in Nicaragua and engage our travelers in socially responsible travel.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Off the eaten track with Jessica”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

`Believe me, fermented pineapple juice is just the job for flushing out the kidneys first thing in the morning' the pineapple farmer appeared to be saying in the local Spanish as he offered us a glass. Lips puckered and eyes rolling we sipped suspiciously at the blessed liquid while the pineapple grandchildren hanging from the farmer's arms and legs squirmed with delight.

We were in the hands that day of two considerable experts - the Nicaraguan farmer who led us proudly through fields near Granada bursting with pineapples, and Jessica of Buen Viaje Tours. We had asked if we could meet local people not engaged in tourism, and earlier Jessica had taken us, together with a like-minded Canadian couple, to a heart-warming `teach-and-feed' project for the city's less fortunate children. At the other end of the scale she arranged for us and our new friends to have lunch at a large private finca and ride horses from their own stables. We were also introduced to craftsmen who made three-piece suites out of banana leaves, and one of the best makers of ceramics.

Jessica's experience lies in opening doors for clients, offering an occasional word of translation, and then standing back without saying a great deal (torrents of indigestible information being a besetting sin of other tour guides} so that they can see, learn and enjoy for themselves. We liked it that way; so might you. Good value, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 576davidjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An extra special experience!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I made several private day tours with Jessica from Buen Viaje during my Thanks Giving trip last year! Jessica was most helpful from the get go and helped me curate my solo trip perfectly! Jessica always went the extra mile to accommodate my schedule's every need and truly gave me the off the beaten track experiences that I love to seek out! Volcano trekking, a local city tour and boat trip to the small islands (Las Isletas) that are clustered on the giant lake all made up some amazing days out!! I highly recommend a private day trip or for Jessica to even to create a trip schedule for you as with her wealth of knowledge and wonderfully helpful and friendly way you won't be disappointed and will certainly have an extra special experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinescales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Guide”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We meant to write this review earlier because we had such a great time with Jessica but just got caught up in the busyness of life after a vacation, so, here is our belated but heartfelt review.

We did some research beforehand looking at a few different companies. We were looking for a company that would give us some advice in what was reasonable to see and do in 15 days while still getting a feel for the country. It was also important to us that the company we chose had a sense of environmental and social responsibility, but we also didn't have an unlimited budget. We chose Buen Viaje and were so glad we did.

Jessica met us at the airport and arranged everything from there. By going with Jessica we were able to see and experience Nicaragua in a way we would not have been able to do if we'd just gone on our own. In addition to customizing a trip that worked for us, Jessica is also the ideal travel companion.

If you're looking for a way to maximize your time and experience in Nicaragua, Buen Viaje Tours with Jessica is the way to go!

Peggy and Ray

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PMI73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See the natural, cultural and just plain fun!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent 9 days in Nicaragua with another couple and Jessica, of Buen Viaje Tours. It was by far the best tour we ever experienced anywhere. Jessica arranged every detail including meals, travel, hotel and shopping. Some may think that one misses out by having someone else do the planning, but it works. This wasn’t our first time in Nicaragua, but it had been almost forty years, so having an exceptionally talented guide really helped us to find the unusual and avoid the problems that sometimes arise. We saw many sites that we had not seen before…natural, cultural and just plain fun. Jon and Lynette Harrison

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very memorable reacquaintenance with Nicaragua”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our trip exceeded any expectations I could have had and will be hard to top. Jessica provided us with adventure, beautiful sites and scenery, great restaurants and hotels, engaging tour guides, and the opportunity to meet many wonderful people. Her inate ability to know what we want combined with her passion, knowledge of the country, and her endearing personality, makes for a very memorable vacation. We will be back and hope to bring family and friends to travel with Jessica!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KCTravelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buen Viaje Day Tours also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Buen Viaje Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing