We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good sushi!”

Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI
Ranked #20 of 165 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Authentic Japanese food. Fresh sushi, tempura, sake and more. Japanese chef. International standards. Beautiful surroundings with ambiance and modern decor. A safe, well lit, 5-minute walk from the main tourist area (Calzada Street). Great for couples, groups and business meetings or just one. Lots of local information and advice on traveling around.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good sushi!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We were very positively surprised by the quality of the sushi this restaurant has to offer, since we really didn't know what to expect in Nicaragua.

Helpful?
Thank MCastlesriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    21
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
406 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“The food is good, the chef is H-O-T”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't eat sushi but all my friends do and they love Kanpai. I go for the tempura, pork and other non-sushi items. It is clean, the staff are fun and the food safe and tasty. For 6 the bill was under $100, what 2 people can pay in LA. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you've got a hankering for sushi in Nicaragua, have no fear, KANPAI is here. Great sushi for a good value. If you're traveling through Granada, make sure to stop here at least once. And if you're headed there tonight, you'll see me ordering some dragon rolls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super good”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Just wandered across the road from our hostel, lost track of time so we didn't want to go far. So we thought we would give this place a try.

Turned out great!

Staff were super nice. Read the little story on the table special menu, it's cool and u can defiantly feel those vibes running through the place.

The food was fresh and had great flavour. If you are in the market for something a little different don't miss this place

Helpful?
1 Thank Fatwreckfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Great People”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about Kanpai. Stepping into the restaurant is like stepping into a place many miles away from Granada. It is a great place to have a meal with a date, a family, or friends. The food is outstanding and authentic. The best part about restaurant, however, is the love and warmth the owners/managers, Rick and Masaya, have for the restaurant, the food, their patrons, Granada, travels, and everyone/everything in between. They're great people that are dedicated to serving a great experience. They have a wonderful story (written on cards placed at every table) and are two of the greatest people I met on my trip to Nicaragua.

I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in or near Granada. Even just stopping in for a cocktail or an ice, ice cold Toña (after a 95+ degree day) will be something you'll never regret.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Japanese Dining Bar KANPAI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing