We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spicy food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Ranked #19 of 155 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Greatest hits menu from around the world. From falafels to sizzling beef teriyaki to Memphis dry rub ribs and everything in between. Everything is made fresh here from scratch. Great value!
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spicy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Food was really good, and (relatively) cheap. Best pita bread I've had in Nicaragua. We both got the red curry; one of the best I've ever had. Wide selection of enticing options, not all spicy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kovertkermudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    72
    22
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food and moderate price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

this place is a breath of fresh air in regards to finding variety in Nicaragua. with an assortment of Asian and Mediterranean dishes, this is definitely an unusually exotic find within the country. the prices are very moderate and the dishes extremely flavorful. i'm a big fan of spicy food and their Thai Red Curry was exactly what i was looking for. my partner ordered the baba ghanoush and we were also very happy with that. it all came with a very tasty salad as well. our grand total came out to less than $300 córdobas. also got a chance to meet the owner Leeroy and he was a super nice guy. this place stays open late, has great food and is highly recommended. keep in mind they do have plenty of non-spicy options, (the majority of the menu) but if you're a fan of spicy food, they have some really bold dishes to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Curry at the Camel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went twice while in Granada. I had the green curry the first time and loved it. Red curry the second time and it is a lot hotter than the green...but that is what the 1USD beer is for. Nice little place with tasty food served rather quickly and they do not try to rush you out when you are done.Price is right too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mailmanwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food - bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we finally had our food, it was quite good. That is the reason why the place don`t get only 1 star. We needed to wait 15 minutes to get attention from the waiter: Later we found out that it was the owner:-). On a day without no custommers it is simply to long. We waited to long for our food and it wasn`t always not possibly to pay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 455nemes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Maybe it was just a bad day for this restaurant or a lot of pumped up Trip Advisor reviews but we arrived for an early afternoon lunch. The restaurant was empty except for our table and the waiter greeted us promptly.
Drinks were severed and orders for lunch placed. Being on vacation we weren’t in a hurry but after a 45 minute wait one starts to get a little impatient. The meals did finally arrive a short time later but the chicken shawarma was cold and dried-out plated on a mountain of rice rice. My wife’s green curry although temperature warm was too spicy for her to eat after being reassured by the waiter that the curry was mildly spicy. Mentioning the cold and dry chicken shawarma to the waiter didn’t provoke a response but we did get a nice smile!
The topper to this afternoon was when a group of four young tourists arrived were seated or decide to sit at the table to the next of us. No sooner had they sat down but didn’t they (all four) start smoking. I understand Nicaragua doesn’t have any hardcore smoking regulations but as a business owner one should offer none smoking customers an area to dine smoke free. But why, why did they need to sit right beside our table, the restaurant was completely empty? Management did nothing to try to correct this issue.
Completely uncalled for!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing