We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Granada!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in Granada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for about 5 nights during Semana Santa. We changed rooms a couple of times because we left town once or twice, and each room was absolutely gorgeous and comfortable. It seemed like no matter where we were within the hotel itself, our rooms had private outdoor sitting areas either overlooking one of the two pools or some local artwork, very comfy beds, hot water, quiet air conditioning. One of the most impressive aspects of this cosmopolitan hotel was the hospitality of the entire staff -- including the gracious owners, the staff at the front desk, Claudia at the pool bar, the breakfast servers, the housekeepers. Each one was so friendly and helpful -- we felt warmly welcomed and right at home. Conveniently located about a half-block from the main square, noisiness was never an issue. There were several choices for breakfast, but I always chose the fruit -- fresh and delicious -- with yogurt. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful place to stay in Granada. Colonial Hotel is definitely a place to return to again and again and again. Oh -- be sure to have dinner at Las Colinas -- the absolute best fish, and a favorite of the owners'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Neila

It was a big pleasure reading your comments about our hotel. A perfect start into a new day reading your lines! Thank you for that. I am very happy that you did like your stay with us. Happy that you felt like home, and of course thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards to Massachusetts
Remo and the whole Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
135
218
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great end to our holiday staying at this hotel. The welcome by the owners was warming and personal.the hotel is beautifully decorated.
We stayed in a family room on the first night which was fantastic. Room was huge, split level, four poster bed downstairs and 2 queen beds upstairs . We stayed in a junior suite for a further 2 nights which has a balcony overlooking the pool. Again great room and facilities, quiet air con and hot water.
The hotel staff were helpful and the bar staff had great sense of humour. The 2 small swimming pools were well placed with both sun and shade a great to have a swim after a day of sight seeing.
The owner assisted in making dinner reservations for us and recommended places to eat. There is a plethora of good places to eat in Granada and the city has a good vibe. We stayed over Easter weekend and observed a few processions and lively celebrations.
The hotel is in a great location and Granada has a lot of charm.
Would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Family room 13 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tegandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear "Tegandoo"

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada

Remo
General Manager
and the Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our room (#13) for our family with two teenagers was absolutely gorgeous - giant poster bed downstairs for the adults, two beds upstairs for the kids. It overlooked a beautiful pool that was wonderful to come back to after a day in 90-plus degree weather. The owner was so kind and helpful and friendly...over breakfast he made sure to check in with every family. And I felt spoiled to not only have all this beauty but also luxuries like AC, wifi and delicious fruit every morning for breakfast. If I ever am lucky enough to return to Grenada, we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the front pool and it was plenty quiet and very comfortable. Plus it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear "Melarcy"

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you. It was a big pleasure having you and your nice family as our guests.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

A little gem of a hotel. Friendly, unpretentious, beautifully decorated. After travelling through hot and sweaty Nicaragua it was a real pleasure to be greeted by the owners on our arrival. I'd booked a single room and was pleasantly pleased to find a queen sized bed, not the usual single. The room was bright and even though it was on the street, very quiet. And joy of joys, aircon, and a quiet aircon too + ceiling fan. 1 small issue was water temperature. I had no hot water whilst there although I did not complain as cold showers are the order of the day in this hot country.
The staff were very friendly, especially on reception and in the bar where Claudia ;) serves up great piña colada's and gin n tonic and does not skimp on the alcohol like some places I've been.
Location could not be better, just off the main square. All trips are available to be booked from reception with just a small premium to pay on top of what you can haggle down the street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baroncustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear "Baroncustard"

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a hotel with wonderful old world charm. It is in the perfect location just off the main park in Granada (a great city to visit!!), and has a wonderful staff.

We enjoyed staying in a small family suite - just the right size for us (2 adults, 2 kids).
The room was perfect and located right next to one of the two pools they have in the old style courtyards of the hotel.

As is often the case, the hotel restaurant costs a little more than local restaurants, of which there are many. We would encourage people to enjoy some of the excellent food in the area (management was glad to refer us to good restaurants!).

We could have stayed in another hotel for less money, but during a 2 week long trip in Nicaragua we decided to splurge a little for 2 nights. I think the quality of the hotel offered us an assurance that we'd have a comfortable stay. They did not disappoint us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrboro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear "Carrboro64"

I hope you had a uneventful and safe trip back home.

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great Breakfast every morning. A safe clean beautiful hotel right in the center of Granada, theclassic colonial city. The staff is Very eager to please. Pool and ambiance is really good.

Takeadvantage of the volcano tour

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkInFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mark

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you liked your stay with us.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada towards Florida

Remo
General Manager
and the Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

clean and homy feel of the room. comfortable bed. relaxing interiors in the hotel (particularly the pool and the decorative plants). great breakfast. accomodating and helpful staff. location is superb; very near the plaza and the cathedral and the major sights of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Dan

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada towards the southern San José/Costa Rica

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing