We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We had three nights here at the beginning of our trip and found it charming. We were in a deluxe room which was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast delicious and freshly cooked to order. Nice little pool in flowery courtyard. Granada is a very attractive colonial town, and the lake trip delightful - go early when not too hot.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maisiemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear "Maisiemax"

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada towards the UK

Remo
General Manager
and Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    147
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
221
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and right off the main plaza. It is a little expensive by Nica standards, but the service is on point and the rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. They have two medium sized pools to choose from, both with swim up bars. I highly recommend staying here if you are not on a tight budget and looking for a relaxing hotel with every ammenity in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Rebecca

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My son and I recently spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautiful interior with two large courtyards, each with it's own refreshing pool. The design keeps the courtyards shady, breezy and comfortable. The hotel has a nice bar, a breakfast room, and a friendly and helpful staff. Though the hotel was quiet and relaxing, the hustle and bustle of the main plaza was mere steps away. While we were there they were hosting a poetry festival with lots of activity and music.

The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. The two canopy beds were too large for the room and creaked whenever you rolled over. Housekeeping was a bit slow, as our room was not made up when we arrived at 4pm, nor was it ready the next day when we returned to our room at 1pm. But when I asked the friendly housekeeper to have our room made by noon, it was the next couple days.

The big demerit for us was that the WiFi did not work in our room, we had to sit in the courtyard. Minus one star. Overall though, a happy stay.

.

Room Tip: Our room in the back courtyard was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Rob

Thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure having you and your son as our guests and we are happy that you liked your stay with us.

We did check the bed you where in and have to give you right that the bed is creaking when moving strong. We did fix that problem already.
The days you where here, we had a very large group checking out and all rooms got occupied again the same day. That's why our room maids where a bit delayed this day. Sorry about that.

WiFi: Our hotel is constructed new in 2000 one part and in 2006 the other. Our walls are very massiv. That has the advantage of a great safety in cad of a earthquake. The disadvantage is, that some rooms, if they are not just very close to any of our various routers, have not a good or no internet access. But as soon as you are in the patio just in front of the rooms, you receive a very strong signal.

Anyway, glad that you had a happy stay with us and we are looking forward seeing you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards and best wishes

Remo Aere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel Colonial was the perfect hotel for our family. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pools. The staff was attentive and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone spending time in Granada. The location couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth

Thank you for your comments. It seems that you liked your stay very much with us.

Just one question: You did rate Value, Rooms and Cleanliness with only 3 points. It would be very kind to let me know what was not OK with these three factors, Thank you very much!

You can write me your comments to: remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com

We all hope to see you and your family once again. Be always welcome.

Kind regards

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Because we changed plans we had to change rooms the last night. It costs about $100 per night, a reasonable price for a hotel of this quality in a great location. It delivers what is expected for the price, a beautiful hotel, nice rooms, and good service. It is one half a block off Parque Central and one half block the main commercial street, but the rooms are well sheltered from the noise of the street. It is aptly named the Colonial because the rooms and grounds are decorated in Colonial style with some of the better tile work in Nicaragua and colonial wood work. The staff were always smiling, friendly and helpful. When I had a problem getting on the hotel computer, the friendly and efficient manager who speaks flawless English with a trace of an unidentifiable accent, offered me the use of his computer. Over the course of 3 days he asked just the right number of times if we needed anything. Go somewhere else for breakfast if you do not want to pay for the convenience of breakfasting at your hotel. The only shortfall was that when we moved to a room facing the street the wifi didn't work in that room, but since we were only there for one night we didn't bother to say anything.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear "RD_169"

Thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you did like your stay with us.

You are right, if some stays several days at Hotel Colonial, why not having breakfast once outside. Just close are some very cozy breakfast places. And concerning the internet I have to say that Hotel Colonial was new constructed in 2000. Good walls mean as well that that wlan has more difficulties to access. Anyway, access in all public areas is very good.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you in future again

Kind regards

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel after our self driving tour of the Emerald Coast of Nicargua. The staff are bilingual, helpful and very accommodating. After our city horse and buggy tour, which the reception organized with an English speaking tour guide, we returned to refresh at the pool bar.
The hotel has two pools, many quiet lounge/reading areas with an excellent restaurant. The decor and artwork are splendid, with impeccable cleanliness.
We experienced the best American breakfast with fresh papaya juice included for $7.00, fabulous, thank you.

Room Tip: We preferred the back corner rooms over the second pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear "Golfersrule"

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland, British Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of Costa Rica Monkey Tours in February 2014. The hotel is well cared for in a very old building. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, air-conditioned, with a refrigerator for a few cold drinks. Be aware the the stairs in the main building are narrow and a long way to climb if you are carrying a heavy bag. Nice pool and good breakfast, on the pool deck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either with a balcony over the pool or in the rear of the hotel overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear RustyQ

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you liked your stay with us.
Concerning the stairs in the main building: Our baggage porter are happy to carry your luggage to your room. If we have several check in's at the same time, this can take some minutes.

We hope to see you one day again in beautiful Granada. Be always welcome at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards towards BC

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing