We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Rooms and Super Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel Colonial is really well run. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are super clean, and the breakfast was very good (and reasonably priced). At my request, the hotel staff arranged for a car to pick us up from Managua. The ride was flawless. The hotel staff also arranged a tour of Las Isletas, which was a perfect way to enjoy an afternoon. The pool is small, but very clean and an enjoyable place to relax. The hotel is ideally located just steps off the main square.

My only comment is that based on the pictures of the rooms on their website, you might think the beds might be really old and dusty because of the old school decor (four post beds and hanging fringe). It was the opposite. The mattress felt brand new and everything was immaculate. I slept like a baby for my entire stay.

I highly recommend staying at Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Alex

I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments about Hotel Colonial. I am happy that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Yes, you are right, if some looks at the pics of the rooms (Colonial Style) some could think that it is a kind of older Hotel. Thats what we have to accept. It's quiet difficult to get this impression away just seeing the pics. I will talk to a Photographer if this impression can get pictured away ... Maybe he has a solution. Anyway, better this way than the other way around and you had a positive and surprising experience.

We all are looking forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial

Kind regards

Remo Aere
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 661 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in Granada. The hotel is very central, and the service is attentive and helpful.

The room we stayed in however was dark and dank, with only a very small window onto the courtyard. In addition, we felt overcharged for our taxi to the airport. That said the room price was competitive.

This is a fine hotel to stay in, in Granada. It is just not outstanding.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rooms 14 or 15. The rooms are right behind reception, and are very dark. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jphimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear James

Thank you for commenting us on Tripadvisor.

Your room: Room 14 is a quiet big room with 2 queen beds and lots of space to move. It is facing the main pool and has a small window to the courtyard. As Granada is a Colonial City and all houses and hotels are mainly constructed towards the courtyards, you very hardly get a very bright room, except you have one in the second or third floor or a room towards the street. Anyway I am sorry that you would have preferred staying in another room. As we where fully booked while your stay, a room change would note have been possible.

Transfer to the airport: Regular rate is US$ 50.-. (New car, A/C, and in safe conditions) This is what you paid. If you catch a taxi on the street (mostly old and not very safe cars without A/C) it is possible that you get a rate in between US$ 35.- and US$ 40.- for the 1 hour ride to the airport. Please let us know if the quality of the transfer was not OK. (remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com) We would act in this case right away.

However, it seems that you liked your short night stay with us. We try hard to get better and better and are never just satisfied when guests are happy. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you one day again in Granada.

Kind regards
Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We took a one-night tour from Costa Rica to Granada, and the tour company booked the Hotel Colonial because their first choice (The Best Western Al Mirante) was booked. We really lucked out! Everything about the Colonial is charming. It's a relatively new hotel designed in the hacienda style. New means everything works! The managers, a delightful Swiss couple, were cheerful and greeted guests. The front desk staff was gracious and efficient, and very helpful when we needed directions, maps, etc. There are two swimming pools (both deliciously warm). Breakfast in the courtyard offered several options, including waffles and a fruit plate, but we had the tipico breakfast with eggs, rice and beans. Convenient location a few steps from the central park meant lots of people watching, photography, and strolling. We'd happy stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoupchickRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our hotel. I do appreciate that and it shows me that we are doing most things correctly. Comments like yours make us happy, but not sleeping. We try all to get better in little and big things.

I hope to see you one day again in beautiful Nicaragua and would be happy if your choice would be again Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo and Jacqueline
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a review, so I'll be brief. Everything about this place is exceptional: the staff, the decor, the accomodations, the bar, the pool. All well maintained, beautiful, helpful. Just great. Only one teeny tiny downside and I'm not sure it's attributed to the hotel... we arranged to be picked up at the airport with the hotel and waited over 90 minutes for our driver who never showed up...UNTIL we were about to hop in another taxi. Probably a misunderstanding. So just get yourself there and relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: I had room 30 which was at the way end of the hotel, but there is a somewhat private pool there, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erinzgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi

Thank you for your very nice comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you liked your stay with us and we hope that one day you will come again.
Sorry for the confusion at the airport. This was a mix up with your friends who arrived 1 ½ hours before you did.

Kind regards towards San Francisco (one of my favored places of the world - great city!)

Remo
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little jewel with all the things needed for a relaxing and peaceful retreat. Sitting at the pool in one of the patios, listening to the sounds of water and feeling the soft breeze, creates a perfect atmosphere to read a book, write your diary or just let your thoughts wander.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cassandra1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014
Google Translation

Liebe Simone, lieber Thorsten

Ganz herzlichen Dank für Euren netten Kommentar auf Tripadvisor. Es war eine Freude Euch bei uns zu haben. Wir hoffen, dass es das nächste mal ein paar Tage sein werden damit Ihr Granada noch ein wenig besser kennenlernen könnt.

Ganz herzliche Grüsse an Euch und an unsere Heimatstadt Basel

Jacqueline und Remo
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

From the moment I walked in the hotel, I was greeted with a warm welcome and smile by Maria Jose, who was at the front desk. After having a horrible experience at Hotel Mar Dulce where I stayed for 7 hours, Maria Jose went to get the Managers, Jacqueline and Remo Aere and also the owner of the hotel. They went out of their way to get me a room, as the hotel was completely packed. There is no doubt that this hotel is one of a kind. Hotel Colonial is truly a FIRST CLASS HOTEL. It is difficult to express how incredibly wonderful this visit was. The room was so beautiful, the king size bed was so comfortable, as I have had 3 back surgeries this is a MUST. This hotel has exceeded my expectations and the restaurant where they serve delicious breakfast and the bar are equally as impressive, but it was the people at the hotel and restaurant completed the visit. Without exception, I was treated as if I was family and I felt as if each and every member of the hotel and restaurant cared about me and making my visit a warm and positive experience. I am sorry I can not give this hotel what they deserve: 7 STARS!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and the location of the hotel is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Ivania

Thank you for your detailled comment about Hotel Colonial. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are happy that we could work it out having a room for your stay in Granada.

All the best wishes and hope to see you one day again at Hotel Colonial. Nuestra casa es su casa

Kind regards
Remo
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Great boutique place. Right in the center. Fantastic breakfast. Huge rooms. Helpfull and friendly staff. Hot water ( rare in Nicaragua) suisse spanisch english and french speaking.Friendly! Good and experienced travel service Vivi p

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikitiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014
Google Translation

Sali Vivi
Härzlige Dang für dr Kommentar uf Tripadvisor. Wieso Du em Value numme 4 Pünggt ge hesch, mach mir denne no erkläre ;-)
Schön Di, resp. jetzte Euch do z'haa
e liebe Gruess ins 6 us em Büro
Remo
GM, Htl Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $106 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing