We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful jewel in the center of town”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Buochs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful jewel in the center of town”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

beautiful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, huge very nice room on 2 levels, a big shower, two nice pools with a bar, great breakfast and the best location in town, just by the main piazza. just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Google Translation
Liebi Denise

Ganz härzlige Dang für Di Kommentar uf dr Tripadvisor Plattform.

Es sich schön gsi Di, di Ma und dini Töchter bi uns als Gascht gha z'ha.

Mit eme härzlige Gruess us dr älteschte Kolonialstadt in Zentralamerike

Remo
GM
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    147
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
221
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed with Hotel Colonial. Laura one of the receptionist really went out of her way to help us after we changed our reservation for a second time. The rooms are clean and colorful.You can tell that everyone that works there likes what they do. The owners make themselves available to everyone. They set up our ziplining tour and arranged for private parking. That comes with your stay. There is also a gym that also comes with your stay. You can not beat the location. Its right in the middle of town and you can pretty much walk anywhere. This is a great place to stay for anyone! It is one of the best in Granada!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnkeys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear John

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada and be always welcome again.

Remo
GM
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time with our 2 little kids in this hotel. The hotel is gorgeous, great place, great people. The manager and the owner helped with all of our needs and arrangements, they are the nicest people!
The rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is fully dedicated to customers. We will go back in a heartbeat!
Totally loved it !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pierre

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. As well for us it was a big pleasure having you and your nice family "on board" We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you one day again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada to the Big Apple and have a wonderful 2014

Remo, Jacqueline & Etienne
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days in December and could not have had a better time. The staff were extremely helpful, from restaurant recommendations to tours to taxis to breakfast service. The hotel is well located just off the main park/square so that you are close to the city sites and restaurants. However, once you step into hotel you are immediately removed from the hustle and bustle and can relax by either of their two pools. Our room was not luxurious, but was clean, comfortable with more than enough space to accommodate my wife and I. This is not your hotel if you want to hang out in your room, but if, like most travelers, your goal is to visit the city and surrounding attractions, the Hotel Colonial is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMac11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear „C’Mac“

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada to Columbia/Texas

Remo
General Manager
And the whole Crew of Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I were at Hotel Colonial over New Years 2014 and couldn't have had a better experience. This hotel is fantastic! Upon check in the hotel staff did everything in their power to ensure our needs were met (including detailed directions of local attractions and events). The rooms were very well kept, spacious, and a great get away after a long day of exploring Granada. The pool area is a fantastically relaxing area with crystal clear water, amazing tile work, and a great little bar (including a very professional, friendly bar tender who makes a great Macau!). Breakfast is very well done in a restaurant style setting around the pool or inside the dining area. You can't beat gallo pinto, eggs, and fried plantains. The front desk also arranged a kayak tour for my wife and I of the isletas in Lake Granada. They took care of everything where all we had to do was show up at the designated time. The location was also great, putting everything in Granada at walking distance. Great staff, great rooms, great getaway, great location. We hope to go back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Luke

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards towards Texas

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Colonial for 2 nights at the end of December. We had to change our travel plans, and I think we found the last room left in Granada. We were not disappointed. The hotel was fantastic, and so welcoming. The managers introduced themselves as we were checking in, and we saw them several other times, in the evenings and at breakfast. The interior of the hotel is beautifully landscaped, with two crystal clear pools. Our room was enormous, with two rooms and plenty of space for us and our son. The front desk staff was unfailingly friendly, helping us to arrange tours and with parking our rental car. Remo, the manager, even made restaurant reservations for us! The location is very central, right off of the main square. We also love the small hotel bar, the bartender made wonderful frozen pineapple smoothies and watermelon juice for our son. We can't recommend this hotel enough, we would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Deana

Wishing you first a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year!

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It makes us happy getting so positive responses from our guests. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada towards Texas

Remo & Crew
GM Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days after Christmas. This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel provides a number of tours to volcanos, islands,canopy and many others so it will keep you busy for as long as you stay in Granada. I took a few tours and enjoyed each one of them and was surprised how organized and well planned each tour was. Location of this hotel is great it is half a block from Central Park area and close to everything you need to enjoy Granada. Breakfast was awesome as well. Hotel personnel was very helpful and gave me a number of recommendations about different attractions and areas in Nicaragua. Great place and I would love to come back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Alexei

Happy New Year to all of you!

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards towards up north beautiful Brooklyn/New York

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing