We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I were at Hotel Colonial over New Years 2014 and couldn't have had a better experience. This hotel is fantastic! Upon check in the hotel staff did everything in their power to ensure our needs were met (including detailed directions of local attractions and events). The rooms were very well kept, spacious, and a great get away after a long day of exploring Granada. The pool area is a fantastically relaxing area with crystal clear water, amazing tile work, and a great little bar (including a very professional, friendly bar tender who makes a great Macau!). Breakfast is very well done in a restaurant style setting around the pool or inside the dining area. You can't beat gallo pinto, eggs, and fried plantains. The front desk also arranged a kayak tour for my wife and I of the isletas in Lake Granada. They took care of everything where all we had to do was show up at the designated time. The location was also great, putting everything in Granada at walking distance. Great staff, great rooms, great getaway, great location. We hope to go back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Luke

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards towards Texas

Remo and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 675 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Colonial for 2 nights at the end of December. We had to change our travel plans, and I think we found the last room left in Granada. We were not disappointed. The hotel was fantastic, and so welcoming. The managers introduced themselves as we were checking in, and we saw them several other times, in the evenings and at breakfast. The interior of the hotel is beautifully landscaped, with two crystal clear pools. Our room was enormous, with two rooms and plenty of space for us and our son. The front desk staff was unfailingly friendly, helping us to arrange tours and with parking our rental car. Remo, the manager, even made restaurant reservations for us! The location is very central, right off of the main square. We also love the small hotel bar, the bartender made wonderful frozen pineapple smoothies and watermelon juice for our son. We can't recommend this hotel enough, we would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Deana

Wishing you first a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year!

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It makes us happy getting so positive responses from our guests. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada towards Texas

Remo & Crew
GM Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days after Christmas. This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel provides a number of tours to volcanos, islands,canopy and many others so it will keep you busy for as long as you stay in Granada. I took a few tours and enjoyed each one of them and was surprised how organized and well planned each tour was. Location of this hotel is great it is half a block from Central Park area and close to everything you need to enjoy Granada. Breakfast was awesome as well. Hotel personnel was very helpful and gave me a number of recommendations about different attractions and areas in Nicaragua. Great place and I would love to come back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Alexei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Alexei

Happy New Year to all of you!

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards towards up north beautiful Brooklyn/New York

Remo and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Granada and the surrounding area. Hotel Colonial arranged transport for us from the Managua Airport late at night and checked us in at midnight, which was great. We stayed in a room on the lower floor, which was a bit dark but also very cool, a nice respite from the heat and sun of the midday Granada. Our room was in the back of the hotel so it was very quiet. I really liked the open air courtyard concept, but unfortunately we did not have a chance to swim in the pools or enjoy the poolside bar. It felt very safe and secure and the staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was delicious. Perfect location as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear David

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial. And we hope that next time you have enough time to enjoy our two pools.

Kind regards towards Ottawa from Granada

Remo
General Manager
an the Crew of Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This amazing Hotel is right in the middle of the city and a great place to return to after a long day. I am very pleased that a friend of mine recommended this wonderful place and it was just great to meet Romeo and Jaqueline who run the place. I felt like home because i could speak some swissgerman with them and because they are so welcoming and warm people. My whole family had a great time and we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southswell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Aurelia

Ganz herzlichen Dank für deinen netten Kommentar auf Tripadvisor. Es war eine Freude Euch als unsere Gäste zu haben - und wenn man denn nicht nur Schweizerdeutsch sondern Baseldeutsch sprechen kann, dann macht es noch mehr Freude :-)

Dir und deinen Lieben wünschen wir nun noch einen guten Ausklang des alten Jahrs und ein zufriedenes und gesundes 2014.

Sonnige Grüsse aus Granada

Jacqueline & Remo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amazing location, spectacular service, best all inclusive breakfast, and excellent management willing to assist with every aspect of our stay! We were offered a room upgrade, the pools were a great end to the day for all of us, the piña coladas were a yummy bonus for Mom and Dad after the kids went to bed!

Remo and Jacqueline were excellent hosts and assisted us with the best guides for great day trips to Masaya, Peublos Blancos, and the Laguna de Apoyo!

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 4 yr old and 20 month old and would recommend it to anyone....they even offered to bring dinner in for us! Loved this place and will return some day!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Brenda

Thank you so much for your kind comment in Tripadvisor. It was a big pleasure having you, your husband and your children as our guests. A great family!

We look very much forward to see you one day again.

Please receive our kind regards and best wishes for the soon coming New Year.

Saludos desde Granada

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a very well located, beautiful hotel with very attentive service. We stayed in a Jacuzzi equipped room with a small swimming room right outside which made for a very comfortable stay. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the deconstructed pricing with ended up adding about 10% to the bill. Not a lot but just felt nickel and diming. Would have preferred an all inclusive pricing. Otherwise, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear "D F"

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you did like your stay with us.

Concerning the pricing I have to say that hotel rates in Granada never include taxes. I would love to comunicate and include them from beginning on, but as all Hotels in Granada have the policy to add taxes on their room rates, we are obliged to make the same. Anyway, we always communicate the taxes or while reservations by mail, or for walk in guests while informing them about our room rates. Our reservation office and receptionist have these directions and actually always do so as far as I know. Sorry in case if you did not get this information.

Please send me a copy of this email to: remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com and I will forward you a voucher and offer you a 10% discount for your next stay with us. Please mention this voucher while making the reservation directly with: reservations@hotelcolonialgranada.com.

We are looking forward welcoming you next time at Hotel Colonial

Me and the whole crew wishes you a merry christmas and a happy, healthy New Year

Remo Aere
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $91 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing