We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fine hotel!”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you travels take you to Granada, you must stay at the Hotel Colonial. It is an outstanding hotel in many different ways. The hotel is very attractive and the rooms quite spacious. The service is exceptional -- from the front desk to the restaurant to the bar to the manager himself. Everyone took the time to make our stay pleasant -- suggesting places to go, wonderful tour guides, fine restaurants. They really go the extra mile!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Kathy

Thank you so much for your ver kind comment. We do really appreciate! It was very nice hosting you and your group at Hotel Colonial. With so nice guests as you are, it was just a big pleasure for all of us trying our best to make your stay a nice one.

Hope to see you one day again. Be always welcome

Best wishes and regards

Jacqueline, Remo and the whole Hotel Colonial Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place was amazing. Our room had a little balcony with a view of the plaza where we could see the action of the city. The room was very luxurious, clean, and quiet. This place had 2 pools that were beautifully landscaped. Its has a location that can't be beat. It is very close to the best restaurants of the city. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedrosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Pedro

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We hope you will come back soon to beautiful Granada and look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards down south to Costa Rica

Remo and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Dedication to details. Excellent comfort and service. an environment and feeling totally of colonial Nicaragua. An experience that relaxes and disconnects. Perfect for balance between rest and party at night. Silence and privacy are characteristics of their rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerFernandezH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Roger

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you, your family and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is a gem -- genteel, sophisticated, nicely appointed. The staff were the right combination of being friendly and helpful on one hand, while also being professional and respectful on the other. The physical setting is tasteful, with lovely architectural and gardening accents. The two pools are charming and the breakfasts are excellent. It is perfectly located, with easy access to all of the city sights. We stayed for three nights and would highly recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckjaffurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards to the other side of the world (please say as well Hello to Frodo, Gandalf and Co.)

Remo and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fabulous location right in the heart of Granada. I thought this may pose a problem with noise. When you leave the hotel you walk through their grand archway doors and you are hit with the hustle and bustle of beautiful Granada! You are within walking distance of everything and you can enjoy roaming the streets,restaurants, shops street venders and art! Take in the color and grandeur of the Colonial city or the hotel can set you up on one of the many tours in the area. Then go back to Hotel Colonial Granada to a cool, quiet calm oasis! 2 beautiful pools with swim up bars, seating in little areas all over the hotel where you can steal away with a book or quiet conversation with friends. Breakfast was great, fresh and in an open air restaurant. A/C and hot water showers in a large bathroom. They have room types to work for any type of situation from couples, groups or families. Now the staff. They made this so special from the hotel managers to front desk, bartenders, wait and service staff. Always we were greeted with warm smiles and everything we asked for was to us in minutes. They set up our transfers back to Managua with nice comfortable drivers. To wrap it up! Go to Granada it is amazing and while there stay at Hotel Colonial Granada!

Room Tip: I walked all over the hotel and all the rooms looked nice and all areas of the hotel are amazingly q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmeinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Family down south in Costa Rica

It was a big pleasure hosting you all at Hotel Colonial. Thank you so much for commenting us on Tripadvisor. Getting such a nice review is a big part of our motivation continuing trying to make the stay of our guests a very nice one.

We look forward seeing you one day again in beautiful Granada and would love to welcome you at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards
Remo, Jacqueline and all the staff of Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and clean with thoughtful decor, the courtyard pools are a nice touch. A great location for exploring Granada. My experience at this hotel was pleasant & enjoyable. A great destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear "ECC7"

Thank you very much for commenting us on Tripadvisor.

We would look very much forward seeing you one day again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua.

Be always welcome at Hotel Colonial !

Kind regards from down south

Remo & Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay seven nights at Hotel Colonial in Granada, Nicaragua while on mission serving the people of the area. My team made up of 14 members were treated to very clean rooms, hot water, a/c, and a staff that went out of their way to make us all feel welcome and at home. This hotel is in a perfect location, close to the center of town. We all felt secure and were treated with the utmost care while there. The front desk staff helped out greatly with restaurant recommendations and additional help in giving us directions within the area. We will definitely stay there again and would recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone for one night or many. You will be blessed to stay in this fabulous property in a beautiful city. Thanks to the owners and the staff. You make the hotel what it is!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard and pool are a little quieter than the street view rooms with balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Joey

It was a big pleasure having you, your friends and your wonderful young people at our hotel. We did say it every day again: if these youngsters mainly represent our future, future will be a good one.

Hope to see you all one day again.

In the meantime I send you kind regards and lots of good wishes

Remo and Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing