We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Colonial”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Colonial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel. More than helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, terrific breakfast and service. A flawless pick-up was arranged for us from the airport in Managua. The front desk personell and managers went out of there way to suggest restaurants and activities. So, inviting, we stayed additional 2 nights after a trip to Ometepe. If you are looking for a 4 star US hotel in Nicaragua you won't find one. After 2 weeks in Nicaragua, Hotel Colonial was the closest to luxury you will find and we highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear nan241

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
219
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Upon our arrival we had a problem with the reservations. Not the fault of the hotel, but Expedia. The managers went above and beyond to make it up to us. I don't think my family would have received even half of the service from another hotel. The hotel is very pretty and clean. It is in a great location and everyone who works here is thoughtful and professional. The managers lead by example which is a trait that is not found often anymore. We are sold on Nicaragua and we will return to this hotel. Please keep up the wonderful work it is rare to see.

Room Tip: Room 11 could have been an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Alicia

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We drove in to the hotel at 5 pm and since there were 3 of us, we got a suite with 3 beds. It was lovely. It overlooked a courtyard where everything was in bloom. The hotel has 2 swimming pools, one of which is very secluded. We had breakfast in the courtyard that was beautifully presented. The hotel is right around the corner from the main square where the cathedral is located. There was live music in the square at night. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Nikki

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada

Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed there last night. Location and parking were good. Really has an authentic colonial look. The reception was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the price was good value for the area. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was really good.
We were greeted by the friendly manager and his wife (I assume) this morning at breakfast and they were both charming. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Granada.
The only thing that I might recommend is better bed linens. I would pay extra for those, but for $70.00 per night that is really not a complaint.
Richard Ashley
Playa Langosta CR & Galveston, Texas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Richard
Thank you for your lines in Tripadvisor, and thank you as well for your comment concerning the bed linens. We will take care of it and include this comment for our next plans/adjustments.
We look forward seeing you again and having you as our guests again.

Kind regards to beautiful Playa Langosta from beautiful Granada.

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I live in Costa Rica and travel to Nicaragua frequently, but this last trip was the first time I stayed at the Colonial...I will now ONLY stay here. It may be a little pricier than some other options, but it is worth every penny. After stepping off the street adjacent to the main square, you are transported to a gorgeous oasis, with a lush courtyard, beautiful pools, and friendly, english speaking staff. We had breakfast at the hotel as well, and it was enough to keep us "fueled" up as we trekked around to all of the churches and landmarks. The rooms are clean, plush and warming. My next trip to Granda will be longer, just because I want to spend more time at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToroChingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear TC

Thank you very much for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and look forward to welcome you and your friends again at Hotel Colonial. Have a great time in Costa Rica.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just spent 3 weeks at the Hotel Colonial in Granada, Nicaragua. We were there for some time, since we were doing voluntary teaching. When we returned tired, late afternoon it was like coming home. Our room was very comfortable, we were lucky enough to have a swímming pool and a wonderful patio in front of our door. This hotel is so tastefully decorated.The staff were charming and could not do enough for us. In addition we met some charming and highly interesting fellow travellers there. Recommendation: that small snacks be served either in the restaurant or bar, from 12-14 and from 16-22 hours!
Our warm regards to Etien, Remo and the wonderful staff, Polly and Tomi, Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Polly, dear Tommi

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial. We work on your suggestion concerning little Snacks served at Lunch and Aperitif time.

Kind regards

Jacqueline, Remo & Etienne
managers and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a delight! One of those "best kept secrets" you need to share! A charming little hotel tucked into the heart of Granada, elegant and comfortable only a step away from the central park and yet an oasis of peace in full bloom with the cascade of bouginvilia overflowing over the pool and paintings everywhere. The owner, Étienne Vanoye, his wife and children were welcoming and discreet, attentive to our needs and very kind in offering us an afternoon on their island where we feasted, swam and rested in full view of breathtaking landscapes crowned by none other than a volcano, majestic - what a gift! The managers, experienced, multilingual, were equally welcoming to guests and managed the hotel with ease and grace. When an event or stay seems as if it is unfolding smoothly without a hitch, you just know it is because a lot of planning and behind the scenes work took place. The staff were friendly and quick to respond whether it be catering or cleaning or front desk and doormen. Rooms were lovely, spacious, comfortable beds, clean and decorated with taste. The breakfast was copious, delicious and very reasonably priced. The moment you set foot into the hotel, you felt safe, an important consideration for travelers anywhere in the world. From the top floor overlooking the pool and garden, we could see Granada, beautifully restored, Nicaraguan-tiled rooftops and church bells and Lake Nicaragua in the backdrop, reminding one of Havana. Bravo to Monsieur Vanoye for living his dream, for his art and science of the hotel business, his good humor, resourcefulness and stories about the beauty of Granada and Nicaragua. We enjoyed our stay and will make this home-away-from home ours when we return to Granada yearly.
Monique et Pierre from Costa Rica/Canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Monique
Dear Pierre

Thank you very much for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards down south to Costa Rica, Playa Samara from up north Nicaragua, Granada

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing