We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our family stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013 and had a great great time. The rooms were excellent, clean and roomy, the inner courtyard beautiful, the breakfasts fantastic and the staff first rate. I would highly recommend this hotel and we very much appreciated Julian who was our very helpful and knowledgeable tour guide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
with kind regards to Canada, and we hope to see you one day again at Hotel Colonial in beatiful Granada/Nicaragua

Remo
Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    134
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
195
49
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

On a friend's recommendation we chose this hotel for two nights for our Costa Rican 'out-of-country' requirement.

We asked to change our second-floor room to the first floor and were fortunate to receive the last room available in the hotel. No problem. We were in Room #2. No window, but a skylight over the door and another in the bathroom. The room appeared to be dark, but we had adequate lighting, unless the power was off, which is a frequent happening in Nicaragua these days. We either left the door open when we were in the room or moved on to one of the many common areas in the hotel.

The ambiance in the hotel is lovely. There are two pools with sitting areas. A breakfast area and bar are available in-house. The breakfasts were delicious and the service was great. The hotel is situated just off the city square and close to many restaurants and local attractions. There is an excellent tour office off the lobby and Julien took us to two of the local mercados and waited patiently while we enjoyed our outing. The staff is very friendly, English-speaking and very accommodating.

We also experienced a time during the days when water was not available. However, we were told when the water would be turned on, and the information was correct. Just be sure and check the taps everywhere before you soap up!

This is a lovely Colonial town and this hotel is a clean, reasonably-priced hotel with lovely art work and landscaping in a great location. I have no qualms about recommending this very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sheila

Thank you for your report.

We hope to see you one day again in this beatiful country with the oldest colonial city in the America's.

Regards and best wishes to Canada from down south

Remo
Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay here while in Granada. Cool, shady ambiance away from the busy street out front. Great coffee and service for the included breakfast. Very kind and attentive, helpful front desk people. Easy access to the central plaza and the sights of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites in the back area are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtownchampagnelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The only thing stopping me from an excellent review was the water pressure. The location was very good. We liked being just off the square and not right on it. The room was not huge but fit a king sized bed comfortably. It was very quiet at night. Our room was number 7 and only had a window over the door and another one up high over the sink in the bathroom. It really didn't bother us but there are rooms with windows. There were two small pools that looked very clean. Over all the hotel was very clean. The people very helpful and it was quite colorful with colorful tiles paint and artwork throughout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Started our first Nica vacation here and felt very lucky. Booked 4 nights, added another. Loved the pool, the quiet, and chatting other guests. Good breakfast. Big room with two queen beds, AC (though we used mostly the ceiling fan only). Water supply fine except one afternoon while city re-pressurized the system. $80 pre-tax rate included breakfast. Close to everything we wanted to walk to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dottravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Lousy service, no water in room or available for guests, boring artwork, unimpressive lobby, so so AC. IT IS 11am and pool Cushions missing. Waited till 4 for room cleaner yesterday. Hotel is nearly empty. They charge 50 for ride from airport, ten dollar markup. Many better choices in town for better price

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Regarding each point we answer the following: It may be true there was no water pressure but in each room we have a cordial note that says to call front desk to put the water pump. (It’s a city problem, not a hotel problem) With the a/c we have newly installed Trane a/c`s. This is a good brand here. The corridors and courtyard are all decorated in a beautiful colonial style, but we respect alls opinion. We recall that that morning it had rained so we put the cushions back later when they dried, normally they are out 24/7. December is high season, so the hotel WAS very full that day (37 / 37 rooms) and this is why we took a while to do the cleaning. For the airport it takes 1 hour to get there, and 1 hour to return. The U$50 dollars we charge is for a private transportation in our Minivan, total (not per person) , it is impossible that anyone will charge you 10 dollars total to take you to the airport unless it is COLECTIVE ride or in the public buses that take 2 hours to just get there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

After staying at the Hotel Spa Granada two blocks away, we missed the big windows and plenty of daylight in the rooms. We booked the suite with the upper alcove (that has two single beds) and it only has one small window, which made the room dark. Luckily, we spent most of the daytime outdoors either exploring the town or in the pool. The property is well-kept, clean, with hot showers and AC. Our biggest surprise was the breakfast - by far the best we ever had in Nicaragua! A funny side note: the hotel's address in Spanish translates to "25 sticks from Central Park" which is totally apt because it is that close to the main square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IolaniHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#7 of 42 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 42 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 3 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Parque Central 25 varas al Oeste, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing