We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, sophisticated”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay here while in Granada. Cool, shady ambiance away from the busy street out front. Great coffee and service for the included breakfast. Very kind and attentive, helpful front desk people. Easy access to the central plaza and the sights of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites in the back area are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtownchampagnelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 667 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The only thing stopping me from an excellent review was the water pressure. The location was very good. We liked being just off the square and not right on it. The room was not huge but fit a king sized bed comfortably. It was very quiet at night. Our room was number 7 and only had a window over the door and another one up high over the sink in the bathroom. It really didn't bother us but there are rooms with windows. There were two small pools that looked very clean. Over all the hotel was very clean. The people very helpful and it was quite colorful with colorful tiles paint and artwork throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Started our first Nica vacation here and felt very lucky. Booked 4 nights, added another. Loved the pool, the quiet, and chatting other guests. Good breakfast. Big room with two queen beds, AC (though we used mostly the ceiling fan only). Water supply fine except one afternoon while city re-pressurized the system. $80 pre-tax rate included breakfast. Close to everything we wanted to walk to.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Lousy service, no water in room or available for guests, boring artwork, unimpressive lobby, so so AC. IT IS 11am and pool Cushions missing. Waited till 4 for room cleaner yesterday. Hotel is nearly empty. They charge 50 for ride from airport, ten dollar markup. Many better choices in town for better price

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Regarding each point we answer the following: It may be true there was no water pressure but in each room we have a cordial note that says to call front desk to put the water pump. (It’s a city problem, not a hotel problem) With the a/c we have newly installed Trane a/c`s. This is a good brand here. The corridors and courtyard are all decorated in a beautiful colonial style, but we respect alls opinion. We recall that that morning it had rained so we put the cushions back later when they dried, normally they are out 24/7. December is high season, so the hotel WAS very full that day (37 / 37 rooms) and this is why we took a while to do the cleaning. For the airport it takes 1 hour to get there, and 1 hour to return. The U$50 dollars we charge is for a private transportation in our Minivan, total (not per person) , it is impossible that anyone will charge you 10 dollars total to take you to the airport unless it is COLECTIVE ride or in the public buses that take 2 hours to just get there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After staying at the Hotel Spa Granada two blocks away, we missed the big windows and plenty of daylight in the rooms. We booked the suite with the upper alcove (that has two single beds) and it only has one small window, which made the room dark. Luckily, we spent most of the daytime outdoors either exploring the town or in the pool. The property is well-kept, clean, with hot showers and AC. Our biggest surprise was the breakfast - by far the best we ever had in Nicaragua! A funny side note: the hotel's address in Spanish translates to "25 sticks from Central Park" which is totally apt because it is that close to the main square.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IolaniHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel very close to the central square. There are two small pools, both quiet and refreshing after a day of touring. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. We had a 4 poster king bed - almost unheard of in Nica!! As with much of the architecture in Nicaragua, our room faced the courtyard, and a public access walkway was right outside the door - we were worried at first about possible noise issues and privacy - but it turned out to be totally fine. We didn't eat at the hotel, but directly next door is a great coffee shop for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading the reviews, we looked forward to our stay here. The pool was great for an afternoon respite from the heat, but the area was cramped, the room dark, and the staff though friendly did not follow through with the help they promised. In fairness, since all of the hotels follow the Roman courtyard/cubicles plan perhaps all hotel rooms in Granada are dark, but the Chocomuseo layout seemed more open and interesting, charged less, had spa options, and was only 2 short blocks from the square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Solo California

We could so far not find out when you checked in and why you where so disappointed while staying at the Hotel Colonial.

Yes, you might be right that Colonial Style Hotels in the oldest Colonial City of the Americas are not the whole day full with sunshine. The rooms look inside the gardens ... and the pools.

Anyway, we take your comments for very serious and try hard to be every day a part of a wonderful stay people visiting Granada.

I have as well to say, that it is not very correct to compare a chocolate course with a hotel.

We would appreciate getting concrete suggestions of you that we can continue trying our best to make our guests stay a special one. (info@hotelcolonialgranada.com)

Thank you very much soloCalifornia

Remo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing