We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colonial
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Agua(Granada)
$65
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Condo Hotel Xalteva(Granada)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion de Chocolate(Granada)(Great Value!)
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dario(Granada)(Great Value!)
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$301
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
498
156
30
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
156
30
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargreat locationthe main squarecentral parkhot waterair conditioningthe hotel is cleanhighly recommend this hotelrooms are spaciousvisiting granadathree nightsbreakfast was includedcommon areasla calzadaan oasissmall poolpools
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 694 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel very close to the central square. There are two small pools, both quiet and refreshing after a day of touring. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. We had a 4 poster king bed - almost unheard of in Nica!! As with much of the architecture in Nicaragua, our room faced the courtyard, and a public access walkway was right outside the door - we were worried at first about possible noise issues and privacy - but it turned out to be totally fine. We didn't eat at the hotel, but directly next door is a great coffee shop for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading the reviews, we looked forward to our stay here. The pool was great for an afternoon respite from the heat, but the area was cramped, the room dark, and the staff though friendly did not follow through with the help they promised. In fairness, since all of the hotels follow the Roman courtyard/cubicles plan perhaps all hotel rooms in Granada are dark, but the Chocomuseo layout seemed more open and interesting, charged less, had spa options, and was only 2 short blocks from the square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Solo California

We could so far not find out when you checked in and why you where so disappointed while staying at the Hotel Colonial.

Yes, you might be right that Colonial Style Hotels in the oldest Colonial City of the Americas are not the whole day full with sunshine. The rooms look inside the gardens ... and the pools.

Anyway, we take your comments for very serious and try hard to be every day a part of a wonderful stay people visiting Granada.

I have as well to say, that it is not very correct to compare a chocolate course with a hotel.

We would appreciate getting concrete suggestions of you that we can continue trying our best to make our guests stay a special one. (info@hotelcolonialgranada.com)

Thank you very much soloCalifornia

Remo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am not usually one to complain, but our room needed help. We stayed in a suit for two nights. Our huge suit was very dark, with only one tiny window that let in minimal light from our "balcony". I would classify a balcony as something that one could walk out onto and have some privacy, not a main hallway that everyone walks through. The next issue I had is the shower, at 7am we have NO water. When I asked the front desk about it they instructed me to wait 3 minutes and try again. Apparently you cannot take a shower when they are filling the pool at 7am. Who wants a shower in the morning anyway? When we did finally have water I was surprised to find the shower drain had a sharp metal piece that sticks straight up into your foot (room 13- how lucky was I). These issues could be easily fixed and I hope after my suggestion before we left they are. I expect better bathing for $120/ night- I got better bathing for $25/ night in Peru.
Finally that front desk staff was less than helpful on multiple occasions. We asked about booking tours but the clerk seemed to have forgot- so we almost missed a tour we really wanted to do. When we were told "they are not answering the phone" after several requests my husband called directly and took care of it in minutes (he doesn't even speak very good Spanish).

Long story short- staff was not helpful and bathroom was dangerous. (Hopefully they fix these hazards)

Bonus- AC worked really well and the rooms are dark enough that you could sleep for days.

Room Tip: Avoid number 13!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yva_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This will be a very simple review: hotel is in a beautiful building at central location in Granada, right on the main square. They have ACd rooms, nice pool and bar. Good service; hotel is very clean. Nothing extraordinary, but everything that you need to enjoy your stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Hotel Colonial, and have only praise for the property and the staff. The hotel is clean, comfortable and attractive; its breakfasts and bar are a good value, and all the staff are very helpful. An excellent spot to hang your hat while visiting the fascinating city of Granada.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of their suites or apartments. Good value.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews