We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading the reviews, we looked forward to our stay here. The pool was great for an afternoon respite from the heat, but the area was cramped, the room dark, and the staff though friendly did not follow through with the help they promised. In fairness, since all of the hotels follow the Roman courtyard/cubicles plan perhaps all hotel rooms in Granada are dark, but the Chocomuseo layout seemed more open and interesting, charged less, had spa options, and was only 2 short blocks from the square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Solo California

We could so far not find out when you checked in and why you where so disappointed while staying at the Hotel Colonial.

Yes, you might be right that Colonial Style Hotels in the oldest Colonial City of the Americas are not the whole day full with sunshine. The rooms look inside the gardens ... and the pools.

Anyway, we take your comments for very serious and try hard to be every day a part of a wonderful stay people visiting Granada.

I have as well to say, that it is not very correct to compare a chocolate course with a hotel.

We would appreciate getting concrete suggestions of you that we can continue trying our best to make our guests stay a special one. (info@hotelcolonialgranada.com)

Thank you very much soloCalifornia

Remo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    132
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
127
191
47
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am not usually one to complain, but our room needed help. We stayed in a suit for two nights. Our huge suit was very dark, with only one tiny window that let in minimal light from our "balcony". I would classify a balcony as something that one could walk out onto and have some privacy, not a main hallway that everyone walks through. The next issue I had is the shower, at 7am we have NO water. When I asked the front desk about it they instructed me to wait 3 minutes and try again. Apparently you cannot take a shower when they are filling the pool at 7am. Who wants a shower in the morning anyway? When we did finally have water I was surprised to find the shower drain had a sharp metal piece that sticks straight up into your foot (room 13- how lucky was I). These issues could be easily fixed and I hope after my suggestion before we left they are. I expect better bathing for $120/ night- I got better bathing for $25/ night in Peru.
Finally that front desk staff was less than helpful on multiple occasions. We asked about booking tours but the clerk seemed to have forgot- so we almost missed a tour we really wanted to do. When we were told "they are not answering the phone" after several requests my husband called directly and took care of it in minutes (he doesn't even speak very good Spanish).

Long story short- staff was not helpful and bathroom was dangerous. (Hopefully they fix these hazards)

Bonus- AC worked really well and the rooms are dark enough that you could sleep for days.

Room Tip: Avoid number 13!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yva_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This will be a very simple review: hotel is in a beautiful building at central location in Granada, right on the main square. They have ACd rooms, nice pool and bar. Good service; hotel is very clean. Nothing extraordinary, but everything that you need to enjoy your stay in Granada.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimmom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Hotel Colonial, and have only praise for the property and the staff. The hotel is clean, comfortable and attractive; its breakfasts and bar are a good value, and all the staff are very helpful. An excellent spot to hang your hat while visiting the fascinating city of Granada.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of their suites or apartments. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel offers a really lovely interior courtyard surrounding a small swimming pool. This is a delightful and relaxing place to wind down after a day of touring. The restaurant serves a very nice breakfast, though there are just three choices: fruit with bread, fruit with bread and eggs, or fruit with bread and eggs and pancakes. The rooms,however, leave a lot to be desired. Not terribly clean, kind of musty, and pretty small. Nonetheless,the location and fabulous interior courtyard/bar/pool make this a great place to stay for a couple of nights. A few other downsides: no elevator, noisy street (but this is necessary to be in such a great spot), wifi only in common areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great little hotel but I had to mention the bar. Sometimes you just want to relax without the touts on the main clazada street. This place is comfortable and quiet. Set near the pool, and also with a outside area...... very nice. I great place to escape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at a number of places in Granada and think this is definitely the best place to stay if you enjoy comfortable beds, great breakfasts, a clean and gorgeous pool, and air conditioning! It has all the comforts of home and is in the heart of Granada - it sits right on the main square. Don't miss out on having a rum drink on the patio looking over Granada's lively town square/park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmmmdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#17 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#9 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Parque Central 25 varas al Oeste, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing