We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful peaceful spot in a fascinating city”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Hotel Colonial, and have only praise for the property and the staff. The hotel is clean, comfortable and attractive; its breakfasts and bar are a good value, and all the staff are very helpful. An excellent spot to hang your hat while visiting the fascinating city of Granada.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of their suites or apartments. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 658 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel offers a really lovely interior courtyard surrounding a small swimming pool. This is a delightful and relaxing place to wind down after a day of touring. The restaurant serves a very nice breakfast, though there are just three choices: fruit with bread, fruit with bread and eggs, or fruit with bread and eggs and pancakes. The rooms,however, leave a lot to be desired. Not terribly clean, kind of musty, and pretty small. Nonetheless,the location and fabulous interior courtyard/bar/pool make this a great place to stay for a couple of nights. A few other downsides: no elevator, noisy street (but this is necessary to be in such a great spot), wifi only in common areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great little hotel but I had to mention the bar. Sometimes you just want to relax without the touts on the main clazada street. This place is comfortable and quiet. Set near the pool, and also with a outside area...... very nice. I great place to escape.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at a number of places in Granada and think this is definitely the best place to stay if you enjoy comfortable beds, great breakfasts, a clean and gorgeous pool, and air conditioning! It has all the comforts of home and is in the heart of Granada - it sits right on the main square. Don't miss out on having a rum drink on the patio looking over Granada's lively town square/park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmmmdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. We stayed upstairs and had a little room (maybe a bit too small) but overall comfortable. The only downside was this room had no mini fridge and this would have come in handy for the baby bottles and cold drinks. I definetly think that if all rooms cant be furnished with them in the future, they should at least have some available to the guests who need one. Overall, very nice hotel, close to all markets, restaurants and attractions. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlymama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights in August. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly, the room (no2) on the ground floor was large and comfortable, although a little on the dark side. The pool and bar area was clean and the staff very friendly, and the breakfasts were very good, if a little on the large side.

The calm, quiet and serene nature of this hotel is such a welcome contrast from the noise and dust of Granada's main square just outside the front door. I had a fabulous time in this city and at this hotel and I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending it to any of my friends.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff was great, very clean rooms, nice showers, bed was comfortable (King size). Two swimming pools. everyone working there always had a smile. I lived in Nicaragua for 5 years off and on and never been inside. i was very impressed and my children loved it as well.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven34112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $87 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing