We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The better choice in Granada”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Many choices in the same price catagory. We choose Colonial after Dario had a mix up with our reservation. We were satisfied with our pick. Close to restaurants and pedestrian area. Staff were great. Rooms very large. Bathrooms with built in Tubs were amazing. The interior of hotel has two pools ans many courtyards and patios to relax with privacy from the street

Room Tip: Choose a suite to appreciate the built in tub
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 658 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

On a busy Granada weekend, we settled in at the Hotel Colonial. Right on the square. We were worried it would be a little loud being on the street, but, our room was nearer the back of the hotel and it was quiet as could be. Nice room, a little small, a little dark. But, served the purpose.
Staff was very nice and helpful. Free internet is a plus. Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back for quiet
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunchiesTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel has great location next to Granada cathedral, the staff is nice and I liked the full colors of the room and settings. It also has 2 swimming pools, which is great after climbing the volcanos and exploring around, and the breakfast was really really nice. Staff was also really helpful and warm. My only critic, it is not so charming as many other Granada's hotel set in old renovated colonial houses.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabienen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Beautiful, affordable, great location, clean, pleasant staff, .....very quiet even though is in the heart of the city...looking forward to my next stay here... Granada and Hotel Colonial are both amazing!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josue_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Every time we go to Granada, we stay here and the hotel seems to get better and better. The customer service is fabulous, rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfy, pool is pristine and the breakfast is great. We booked a room the same day and the staff was quick to accommodate us, we had a room overlooking their beautiful pool. We had breakfast at the restaurant and they were so polite and the food was delicious. I love this hotel and will stay here every time I visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We pulled into Granada without any reservations and had an easy booking. The rooms are amazing. Pools are perfect to hide from the sun, and the swim up bar can't be beat. Very affordable as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicehines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Colonial in Granada, Nicaragua. We couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay at the Colonial. Stepping in out of the rush of the center, we could feel the tranquility of the place. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. There are 2 pools, one with a bar, where it was easy to relax. The city on the first weekend of Holy Week was very busy with tourists, and along with that, many vendors competing for our business. The hotel was a haven of quiet, even though it was within a block from the center. The location was excellent, easy to walk through the historic section or to the lake. I would also recommend Erick's tours. We had an excellent bilingual guide for the tour of the islets, and an extremely personal taxi driver named Antonio who took us to Catarina and Masaya. If you speak Spanish, he is a great story teller!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing