We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderul place!”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #6 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I initially booked 5 nites and ended up staying almost 2 weeks! Not only was it clean, comfortable, centrally located and friendly they went out of their way to make us welcome and feel like we were at home. The staff was the best! They knocked themselves out to help us with anything we needed and a wealth of information about anything we wanted to do or anywhere we wanted to go. I cannot praise the Hostel and it's staff enough! I was sad to leave! Keep doing what you're doing because you're the BEST!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 336 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Initially having planned 3 nights in Granada we kept extending our stay not only because of the city but because of the combined package of the flair in town and in the hostel/hotel. As the private rooms here get booked alot we had to go to a different room almost every night as we kept extending which made us move our stuff daily but also gave us a good overview of ALL the private rooms. with exception of the dark little room next to the kitchen (which the owner told us upfront would not be as nice as the others, but also the cheapest) we liked all the rooms for what they are. The atmosphere here is so mellow and relaxing, especially for couples I would say. The staff always has a smile on their face and helps you with everything. That includes the few but amazing dishes on the menu. At any given time any member of the staff (including the owner) can whip out a hummus plate or the amazing green curry to pleasure your taste buds. Do-it-yourself laundry for 80C or the full service at 90-120C is the cheapest in town. Only thing missing for perfection is a pool, which in the heat of Granada can be missed dearly (there is the mombacho beach club nearby though, which charges 5$ for pool access. Tip: Book a 30min massage for 12$ and get all-day pool access for free - thats what we did at least). Even without the pool, this place is a clear recommendation!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Beautiful, laidback hostel with an OUTSTANDING staff! They went the extra mile calling companies for the best mombacho rate. Very helpful! Good food at competitive prices. As a middle aged traveler I liked that it was also peaceful. I will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank lloukx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hostal El Momento is in a wonderful location, and is very beautiful in a sincere Nicaraguan way. Me and my travel partner, however, found it unwelcoming, in a way that discouraged social activities. The walls of El Momento are plastered with rules, and every time the manager walks by it feels like your being watched by the police. I am not saying it is a bad place, it may be perfect for the type of traveler who wants their privacy and independence, however if your the type that likes to walk into a common room, say hello, and make a few new friends, this might not be the hostel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent and relaxing days at El Momento Hostel. Granada is a lovely place, more beautiful this year than last year when I first arrived there. El Momento is a place to be and definitely to share next time in couple and/or with friends. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divain20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great hostel, close to major attraction in Granada. Customer service supper. We have a pleasant stay the staff were very nice .. We definitely come back. The food were very tasty.. We love the facility amenities back and relax. We love the prices of the rooms are stay we're short, We definitely will recommend to futures vacationeer friends.

Room Tip: Booking room ahead. Get room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasto122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hostel gets its good reviews for a reason. The facilities, the rooms, the whole place is just really nice. The dorm was spacious and the beds huge!

During the first night we had a bedbug incident. There bugs all over the bed of a friend of mine. We were 4 people and the rest of the beds were fine, but he was unlucky. In the middle of the night he could move into a single room and we explained the situation to the owner the next day. The reaction was amazing.

My friend could stay in the single room for the rate of a dorm room. The dorm was cleaned instantly and they even took off a wooden thing behind the bed because bedbugs could hide there. They were aware of the this highly delicate topic Bedbugs and they were thankful for our help searching for places. Not once they blamed us but asked were the bugs were and where we saw them etc.

We stayed another night and we experienced other really really terrible hostel staff. But this hostel definitely stands out on my 8 week trip through Central America.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

It is important for our future guests to understand a review written and we found this review to be very confusing as he has given us 5 stars but an awful review , the reviewer is either mixing us up with another hostel or is just upset with our policies.

He wrote 'Amazing staff ' as the headline but then goes on to say how bad their experience was with the terrible staff we have.
I cannot reply to this because I do not understand the comment.

He then continued to write that they also decided to stay another night after writing a 3rd party review for their friend who had a disastrous night with bugs on his first night.
Why would a guest stay a 2nd night if their first was so disastrous plus our dorm is always cleaned everyday.

The reviewer then goes onto write 'highly delicate topic Bedbugs'.
If he felt it was highly delicate then why write it here and why give us five stars, does not make sense.

We do have a strict policy guests must sign when checking in since the day we opened of no backpacks on bags or near beds as to prevent dirty linen and bedbugs.Some guests are upset with this policy when we ask them to move their bags as they think we are accusing them of not being clean or do not want anyone touching their property.
This is a prevention method only to protect both the business, future guests and other hostels/hotels from bugs and also not to leave marks on the linen.

In months past we have had guests who have found bedbugs in their backpacks and blamed us then found out the hostel they were at before had the problem. They apologised when realising it was not our fault or their fault after doing some research. Not sure if this was the case here.

Not all guests agree with this or our other policies and have no respect for other guests or our staff and so write a review so that the hostel loses business and customers then eventually has to close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#19 of 45 in Granada
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 45 in Granada
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $16 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing